We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great "couples" hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sterling Inn & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sterling Inn & Spa to your Saves list
Sterling Inn & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5195 Magdalen Street, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3S6, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #8 of 137 Hotels in Niagara Falls
London, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great "couples" hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

For the price, you could not do better. Located ten minutes on foot to the Falls, with free parking, and complementary breakfast delivered to your room, it really was a great find. We had a traditional room with a jacuzzi - beautiful room although the steam from the jacuzzi clearly wears on the hardwood floors which were peeling up in a few places but which was not a problem. The room was large and spacious and the bed firm but very comfortable. The room was clean, the staff friendly and helpful, and the small "extras" were nice - bath salts for the jacuzzi, cookies in the room upon arrival, etc.

We did note though that this is not a family / friends / colleagues / etc hotel, at least not in a traditional room. There was no partition to the bathroom area and the shower doors were clear. There would be no way to have any privacy while having a shower and we noted that unless staying with a partner, this could be problematic. Suggest calling to inquire about this if you were booking a room for a family, etc.

With all the expensive options in the area, and all the chaos near Clifton Hill, this hotel is in a great location, with great amenities, and I would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Request a room on the second floor - the floors are hardwood and would not absorb sound below as wel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,028 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    611
    248
    97
    41
    31
See reviews for
29
878
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We loved the Sterling inn we stayed for the weekend visited the spa, very highly recommend the spa 85 min massage was incredible. The room was amazingly large with great amenities the steam shower was quite fun. The staff were very helpful and despite minor cosmetic renovations going on had a great time. Oh and by the was location wise really isn't bad its a 6 dollar cab ride to the falls view casino.

Room Tip: Deluxe room with steam shower A++++++
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This hotel was fantastic in every way. The location was better than most of the chain hotels. It's located right next to Clifton Hill and a short walk to the Maid of the Mist. Also, the parking was free which was a huge plus. Check in was flawless with no trouble at all. The first thing they did was give us a complementary upgrade to a suite. We were thrilled. Once we walked in, we couldn't believe it. The suite was huge with 2 rooms, beautifully furnished, and very modern. The bed was firm but not uncomfortable. The bathroom was amazing with a 2-person hot tub and an awesome rain shower with body jets. Within 15 minutes of getting into the room, we got a call from the front desk asking if everything was to our liking which was a nice touch. The other thing that was great was the complementary breakfast delivered to the room. It was a great way to start the day and delicious. The croissants were fantastic and the mini quiches were piping hot. I wish we stayed longer! We will definitely be back on our next trip to the falls.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The entire staff at the Sterling Inn and Spa are amazing!! They helped me book and fulfill a magnificent engagement weekend. They went out of their way to make sure everything was perfect. The room is beautiful and spacious, clean and luxurious.

I had kept the whole thing a surprise for weeks from everyone in our families and circle of friends but found I needed some help to pull off the surprise. I framed the weekend as a weekend spa retreat gift paid for by a friend to celebrate the 4th year of our first date. I chose The Experience package which includes: limo pick up at home, 2 room jacuzzi suite, with a dozen long stem roses, chocolate covered strawberries and chilled champagne, a couples massage, 5 course dinner with wine pairings, breakfast in bed every morning and a limo ride home while sipping mimosas. I added a full day wine tour (booked/arranged by the hotel) on the Sunday of the long weekend to fill out our trip.

All of this seemed way too suspicious as a free trip, so I had to downplay it by creating a fake website for a fake hotel so she could research the hotel at her leisure, and tell my fiance that we were getting a simple car service for the weekend.

On the morning of, I got the hotel manager to call us and "offer" us a "free upgrade" to the car service as the limo was in the area and there had been a cancellation. The hotel manager also "offered" us a "free upgrade" to our room to a 2 room suite. (Of course I had already booked and paid for both "upgrades" - but this was all part of the misdirection).

Instead of all the extras in the room when we arrived, I had them wait till we left the hotel for dinner, for them to set up the room. I had brought a card and extra gift and was able to get a message to the Hotel Manager to have those included in the set up as well.

When we left for dinner, the hotel staff set up our room and included extras at my request , and also the gift and card that I brought.

We arrived back at the room after dinner to a room aglow with the soft flicker of flickering led candles (with real candles ready for us to light). The table in the living room was set with chocolate covered strawberries, chilled champagne, a dozen long stem roses with "diamonds" in the center of each bud, rose petals across the table and surrounding the jacuzzi as well as a rose petals in a heart shape on the bed.

While we sipped champagne and ate strawberries, she opened the card and gift as I slipped away and retrieved the ring from it's hiding place. I was able to pull off the surprise right up until I got down on my knee and she was never suspicious and I couldn't have done it without the amazing staff at the Sterling Inn & Spa! The truly exceeded our expectations and everything was exquisite and luxurious!

Room Tip: Book Early to get a balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Small, but very neat and newly renovated hotel 1/2 block away from main shopping street and only about 7 minutes to the falls. The room was much bigger than expected with jet showers, fireplace and massive bed. The breakfast in bed is a nice touch with enough great food to last you until lunch. Would certainly stay there again. 4 stars because there were doing some touch up paint. Did not try the spa or the restaurant, although the restaurant seems very very nice with good menu.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laval
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for the second time while passing through the Niagara Falls area. Once again this hotel did not disappoint. Super spacious rooms with jet stream showers and free breakfast in bed...what's not to love...2 minute walk from all the restaurants and attractions . A little further from the falls but never a problem for us we love to walk..if we are ever back in the area this will be our first and only choice.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We were browsing through tons of overpriced, big box hotels for our recent trip to Niagara, ON when we somehow (and luckily!) came across Sterling. As a frequent traveler, I am hard pressed to say that I've ever enjoyed my stay as much as I did here. The staff is incredible, namely Stephanie, who goes out of her way to make your trip as enjoyable and comfortable as possible. She was completely accessible for questions or recommendations, and always with a smile on her face. The room itself is decorated beautifully in shades of dark wood and muted colors. It was very spacious for us and the accommodations were perfect. For less than half the cost of these other hotels where you can dare to dream to receive a falls view, I recommend staying here and taking the five minute walk to the falls. It was worth every cent and every step!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sterling Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sterling Inn & Spa

Address: 5195 Magdalen Street, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3S6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Niagara Falls
#3 Spa Hotel in Niagara Falls
#7 Romantic Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sterling Inn & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Niagara Falls' only Boutique Hotel the Sterling Inn & Spa is a fusion between a luxury hotel and a Fine Inn. From the tranquility of our full service spa, to our fine dining restaurant AG offering regional cuisine in a cool urban setting, the Sterling Inn & Spa is truly an experience in its self. With amenities and rooms that cater to couples, it is the perfect place for a honeymoon or romantic getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sterling Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sterling Inn And Spa
Sterling Hotel Niagara Falls
Sterling Niagara Falls
Sterling Inn Niagara Falls

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sterling Inn & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.