We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect last minute getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sterling Inn & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sterling Inn & Spa to your Saves list
Sterling Inn & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5195 Magdalen Street, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3S6, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay Longer and Save!
Ranked #10 of 137 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Niagara, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect last minute getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

What a great last minute booking. Loved the oversized double tub in our room. The shower is also a real treat. In room breakfast is a great idea and was just what we needed! Noon checkout was included with our reservation. We will certainly recommend this hotel to family travelling into the area and to our friends looking for a great local getaway!

Room Tip: Room 115 is Awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,076 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    633
    263
    104
    41
    35
See reviews for
30
921
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed at the Sterling Inn & Spa as our first time ever coming to Niagara Falls; we are both from Ontario, Kingston area. Being a nurse who works in a high paced, often stressful area, it was very important that I requested a 'quiet' room since the whole point of this trip was to have a peaceful getaway and we got just that plus more!

Front staff was pleasant when spoken to on phone regarding special requests and upon check-in. Also, from the moment we opened the door to our room, it felt like a romantic paradise; as though you had entered 'heaven'. The red/black decor with true wooden beams and hardwood floors (the original) made this place exceptional! The bed was on the soft/firm side but for us sleep quality was amazing! The Jacuzzi tub was relaxing and big enough for two plus some! The traditional room also came with a shower with side jets. Made for a great night and great morning! The hotel is a block away from all the action so if you prefer somewhere quieter, this is the place to stay! Just ignore the unappealing surroundings of empty buildings. Wasn't an issue with us at all.

Breakfast was served at the time requested. Amazing that it's delivered to your room and you have a selection. The workers were wonderful from our experience.

I would recommend this to anyone considering a honeymoon stay or romantic getaway. You'll be amazed at the beauty inside. The pictures you see online are exactly what you get! No false advertisement. I would highly consider coming back to Niagara and making this my hotel of choice! Only discrepancy was the cost of the room. My receipt had said $174 (tax incl.) but upon looking at credit card statement, $201.25 came off. We never used anything extra so it may have been a cost we were unaware of or a simple mistake. Will probably follow-up with a phone call just to make sure. Despite this one thing, it was an amazing stay for a couple!

Room Tip: We were on the second floor and our room was amazing and no issue with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterborough, ontario
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

this was our second time at Sterling and we loved it all over again. we dont normally spend this much on a couples get away. the "retreat package" included breakfast in bed both mornings, 3 course dinner for 2 one night and a 25 min massage at the on site spa (we upgrade to 55 mins). total including upgrade was $550 CA taxes in, like i said, more than we normally spend for 2 nights but it was our 15th aniversary and decided we were worth it! At first glance the neighbourhood looks a little sketchy but the run down buildings are vacant. walking distance to many attractions and 5 mins to casino by cab/car. Besides the huge warm comfortable rooms, what really sets this property apart is the service. Everyone was so happy to help, from the front desk to the spa, the young man who delivered breakfast and the servers we had at dinner, everyone was excellent at there job and more than happy to make sure we enjoyed ourselves. the spa was very clean and inviting and the attendents were second to none. The restaurant was....i dont have the adjectives to discribe it.....they treated us like gold and the food was....well..like i said...you really do get what you pay for!!! Check in/out was courteous and quick. We have been recomending this place to friends family and anyone else who would listen for 5 years now and we will continue to do so. We had a wonderfull get away and anyone who leaves a bad review is the kind of person who would find fault staying at Buckingham Palace.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We paid a 4 star hotel rate and accordingly had an expectation of a quality of services. The building was unique, to say nicely, being a conversion of a factory with a preserved chimney. The showere stall had a steam. The morning breakfast dilivered to the room was of a good quality.

There were a few thousand of people in the Niagara Falls area that day for marathone, and so were we. It was a big entire community/charity event,and in our past experiences all area hotels make all possible accommodations for this important community event. We asked about the late check out, and the answer was no more than half an hour. We asked whether we could have shower after the marathone. The front desk staff said, " No! We do not have any facilities". I suggested that the room may be cleaned after our shower at around 1:00 to 1:30 pm. Again, the anwer was a flatly no. It does not make a sense that all checked out rooms would be cleaned within 3 hours.

If we had known that this hotel could not make such a small accommodation, we would not have booked it.

In fact, later the staff at the spa, an indepent business on the premise, kindly allowed us to take shower. Flexibility is a test of a luxury, and a self-claimed luxury Stermling Inn failed the test.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Went in Feb '12 for reading week( yes I am a student). Girlfriend found a two-day package with couple massage, and upscale dinner for two, also comes with a nice simple breakfast in bed, delivered to your door in 15 minute intervals of opportunity( you select a 15 min slot). couples massage was an excellent ~30 min swedish massage. Dinner was 4-5 star quality, included with package is a three course meal; tips and drinks excluded. Meal was well worth the ~60 drink and tip charge on top. breakfast was simple, and elegant. Oh, and of course I must mention sterling inn used to be the location of a dairy factory, converted beautifully, rooms are beautifully decorated in a simple low-frill way the emphasizes the beauty of the wood floors/ building design.
Total cost(including the additional 60 dollar dinner bill?)
~$560 Canadian.

Would I go again? Absolutely, I diner just after christmas '12, experience was consistent.

VERY Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a jacuzzi, get a package deal with at the very least dinner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

LOVED it! When I saw the rooms on the website, I thought it was way too good to be true. We got there and it was just as beautiful as described. We stayed for two nights. The front desk staff was very friendly. The breakfast delivered to the room was very good and fresh. I suppose if you stayed there for many nights the same breakfast every day would get boring but we loved it. The jacuzzi tub was in fact big enough to sit comfortably and it was very deep. The bed and pillows were nice and the fireplace warmed up the room but didn't get TOO hot. The location is a little sketchy if you turn right, but if you go left, you can walk to restaurants and Clifton Hill. Free parking was a huge bonus too.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed 2 nights on New Years's Eve. From the moment we drove up the tiny dirty street it's located and walked in to this small facade of an upscale hotel and were greeted by the lackluster front desk people I immediately got sense of what quality our stay was going to be here. The rooms are a poor imitation at being modern trendy, the bed had cheap tasteless covers, a furnace room behind a locked door with vents pumping air out right beside the bed which made a lot of noise, a cheasy little fake electric fireplace and huge curtains covering an ugly view of the parking lot. When I went to hang my coat one of the hangers actually fell apart.

In the morning we were greeted at the door with a breakfast tray containing the "Chef's choice of egg" (which for 2 days and probably everyday, a cold quiche in an aluminum tray) served with mini sized yogurt, a tasteless dry cereal with no milk, a small croissant with a slice of ham and cheese, imitation orange juice and instant coffee.

The restaurant in the basement wasn't anything special and the food wasn't that great either. The wait staff were very attentive and tried to uphold the "upscale facade" image of the hotel.

We booked a couple's massage the following day at the Spa which is adjacent to the restaurant. We were told they are managed separately from the hotel and is probably the nicest place in the entire building. The massage was ok, but again overpriced compared to what we can get back home in Toronto.

All in all, I would not recommend this hotel for a couple looking for a romantic getaway with style and elegance. This is a cheap motel in disguise and more suited for a one night stay for someone looking for a budget alternative to the larger hotels in the area.

The entire city is one big tourist trap and everything is overpriced. There's not a whole lot to do other than see the Falls, gamble and grab a bite. Don't even waste your time going to "Niagara on the Lake" for shopping. There's nothing there of real interest. You'd be better off making a day trip out to Niagara and heading back home in the evening.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sterling Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sterling Inn & Spa

Address: 5195 Magdalen Street, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3S6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Niagara Falls
#4 Spa Hotel in Niagara Falls
#7 Romantic Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sterling Inn & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Niagara Falls' only Boutique Hotel the Sterling Inn & Spa is a fusion between a luxury hotel and a Fine Inn. From the tranquility of our full service spa, to our fine dining restaurant AG offering regional cuisine in a cool urban setting, the Sterling Inn & Spa is truly an experience in its self. With amenities and rooms that cater to couples, it is the perfect place for a honeymoon or romantic getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sterling Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sterling Inn And Spa
Sterling Hotel Niagara Falls
Sterling Niagara Falls
Sterling Inn Niagara Falls

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sterling Inn & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.