We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience at Sterling Inn and Spa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sterling Inn & Spa

Save Saved
You added Sterling Inn & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Sterling Inn & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5195 Magdalen Street, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3S6, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 138 hotels in Niagara Falls
Markham, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Experience at Sterling Inn and Spa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed on the higher floor of this boutique hotel. The room was huge with a sauna shower and gas fireplace.
However, the jets in the shower did not work properly.
The continental breakfast did not include a selection of eggs nor an indication of allergies.
Needless to say we were served mushroom quiches two days in a row which neither of us eat and one of us is allergic to mushrooms. Croissants were cold with no butter or jam. Rather unusual and not typical.
The Spa services run by Patricia were excellent. Her staff, rooms and expert help along with the treatment were one of the best I've been in anywhere. Congrats.
The restaurant experience was excellent. For those two services Sterling Inn is worth a revisit.
Karyn L.

Room Tip: We stayed on the higher floor and were astonished at the size of room. The bathroom was adequate but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

898 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    555
    204
    72
    39
    28
See reviews for
25
753
5
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This was our second visit to Sterling Inn & Spa (and may I add probably not our last). The service was exactly what you should expect from a place of this calibre, right from our arrival, clean rooms, fresh smelling linen. If you were lucky enough to see any staff while leaving your room they were all extremely pleasant and smiling as though they enjoyed your experience with you. The morning breakfast was very prompt along with an very healthy meal, ample carafe of coffee and for those of us that really enjoy coffee they would gladly refill it for you if you asked. We had dinner at Sterling's restaurant in the lower level, service, entre, main course & desert, all I can say is awesome!!! We made our was down to the spa for our scheduled massage with a pedicure, the people in the spa were incredible. Very passionate about what they do and how the deal with their customers. This was our second trip to Sterling & their spa and cannot wait until our next free weekend to enjoy them again. I would highly recommend Sterling Inn for your Spa getaway weekend.
Thank you for your incredible Inn.
Paul & Michelle Johnston (London, On.)

Room Tip: We have stayed in 2 different room and both were incredible !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Wow!!! was the response from my lady when we opened the door to our room. It was HUGE and relatively spotless.
When we first arrived at the Stirling Inn & Spa we were greeted at the front desk by a man and woman who were "very polite" and courteous. Checking in was fast and painless. We were even upgraded to a Two room Suite!! upon check-in. Room (102).
The room had just about all you could ask for, Large Two Person jacuzzi tub, 2 LCD T.V's, Romantic Fireplace, King size 4 poster bed, (with warm soft duvet and super fluffy pillows), Hard Wood Floors, Bath Robes, lots of dresser & closet space, wet bar & bar fridge, cd player clock radio..and so on... We really loved the nice healthy breakfast that was served to our room in the morning...Free of charge!!...Overall a Great place to stay that is Set up nicely for couples and romantics....I would imagine a room of this quality at a Falls Side or Falls View Hotel would set you back hundreds of dollars.

YES we will be back!!! And I HIGHLY recommend this hotel for a romantic couples getaway!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed here for three nights for our honeymoon in their two room suite with a jucuzzi and steam shower. This hotel is absolutely stunning.... we loved every bit of it. From the moment you walk in the front door, you can tell that you made the right choice to stay there. The front desk staff was very friendly, and helpful when needed. The rooms are incredible in terms of decor, hardwood floors, clear glass sink in the bathroom, etc. Also, the hotel is only a 5-10 minute walk from Clifton Hill so we just left the car at the hotel each day.

The breakfast in bed each morning was a very nice touch, albeit it was not a huge amount of food which left us having an early lunch most days.

All in all, I would never stay anywhere else in Niagara Falls when we return.

Room Tip: When booking, be sure to request a jacuzzi if that is what you would like. Otherwise, you could end...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Bit of a rough edge and neighborhood - for the price we were paying it could have used a once-over to fix a few things such as the shower didn't work very well and the water damage on the tables and lamps and scrapes and scuffs on the walls and furniture but the room was huge - like an apartment - and had a large jacuzzi and shower/bathroom, kitchenette and couch/seating area and a small healthy breakfast was delivered too the door in the AM. I noticed a few others said this - the beds are hard for some reason but it didn't affect out sleep. The restaurant is pricey but seemed very good and it was convenient to have it there since we just wanted to enjoy the jacuzzi and to drink wine. Parking is also free and they are a short walk to the downtown area. Worth a try - it's an old factory re-done into boutique hotel style rooms - something different. Definitely a couples place. It's also very quiet, which we liked.

Room Tip: Having the large suite with two queen beds, kitchenette, could seating area, jacuzzi - gave you a lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I stayed at the Sterling September 2012 and was extremely pleased. Having stayed at the bi-level suite at the Marriott the night before, I was looking for something more relaxing and quiet. While it doesn't offer any views, the atmosphere and decor of the Sterling easily stands its ground compared to all other Niagara hotels. The room we had was very spacious and clean. As I understand, all the rooms have a somewhat different layout. I believe we had a corner room (no balcony) with an amazing jacuzzi for two and a HUGE shower. There wasn't a separate room for the washroom except for the toilet area and the tub was located in the middle of the room so this is probably not the place to stay for families. The fireplace was a nice touch and adds to the romantic atmosphere. As for the bed, it was extremely comfortable and I think I fell asleep in seconds, literally! While this did not apply to my stay since I was on the second floor, but I would certainly recommend requesting a room on the second floor because the wooden floors are quite loud and would definitely bother someone on the first floor. We also went to the restaurant downstairs and had the best meal we've had for quite some time. To this day, we are still talking about just how good it was. Also worth mentioning is the free parking. The hotel itself is in a quiet area, but it's really only a five minute walk to Clifton Hill so don't worry that you're too far away from all the things that are going on. The Sterling Hotel is a true boutique hotel that I would love to visit again.

Room Tip: Request a room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

The Sterling Hotel is a boutique hotel that focuses on quiet and comfort. It's located right in the heart of Niagara Falls but is tucked away from the regular music pulsing, neon lit, over-populated pedestrian traffic of the regular 'big' hotel accommodations which one associates with Niagara Falls. The Inn was to be a stay to celebrate our anniversary and a birthday for me. It met our expectations well. Although one is greeted with an austere entrance when one first enters the hotel, the bedroom reflected an ambiance of calm, peace.and comfort. We had the luxury of a complimentary breakfast in bed, a working fireplace and a steam shower. The AG restaurant located within the hotel is open for dinner only. It offers fine food with class and style and well-mannered, accommodating wait service. There was a gracious and helpful desk manager (Barbara) who steered us towards local eateries when the AG was not open. Would we go again to this destination? ... in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Each of the bedrooms is different ... I had the opportunity to see three. I would have stayed in any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay D, Manager at Sterling Inn & Spa, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank-you for your wonderful review about your recent stay with us at the Sterling Inn & Spa. We are delighted that you enjoyed your guest suite and that Barbara could be of such assistance to you. We look forward to extending our Sterling service to you on your next visit to Niagara.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sterling Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sterling Inn & Spa

Also Known As:
Sterling Inn And Spa
Sterling Hotel
Sterling Hotel Niagara Falls
Sterling Inn Spa
Sterling Niagara Falls
Sterling Inn Niagara Falls
Address: 5195 Magdalen Street, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3S6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Niagara Falls
#2 Luxury Hotel in Niagara Falls
#31 Family Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sterling Inn & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Niagara Falls' only Boutique Hotel the Sterling Inn & Spa is a fusion between a luxury hotel and a Fine Inn. From the tranquility of our full service spa, to our fine dining restaurant AG offering regional cuisine in a cool urban setting, the Sterling Inn & Spa is truly an experience in its self. With amenities and rooms that cater to couples, it is the perfect place for a honeymoon or romantic getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Sterling Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sterling Inn & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.