We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place (for jacuzzi lovers ;)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sterling Inn & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sterling Inn & Spa to your Saves list
Sterling Inn & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5195 Magdalen Street, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3S6, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #8 of 137 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great place (for jacuzzi lovers ;)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

we spent 3 days at the falls and found this one prior by tripadvisor as #2 and booked asap when we saw the jacuzzi IN the room. to get that guaranteed you need to reserve by phone!

free parking and functioning wifi. far enough from the noisy clifton hill but close enough to walk to the falls.

breakfast is ok and the room and bed were great. ac worked fine and even a fireplace under the huge tv

if u are picky stay somewhere more expensive but we thought highly of that place

having a toprated restaurant inhouse doesnt hurt either, but unfortunately we chose other options (suisha gardens, boston pizza)

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,039 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    615
    252
    100
    41
    31
See reviews for
30
886
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunwoody, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

I was disappointed with this hotel. The room was dirty, things broke, bed was absolutely miserable. No offer to help with the luggage. Breakfast was just ok.
However, it was very quiet. The walk to the falls did not bother me. Lots of channels to watch when in the room. Internet not very strong.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights in July. We narrowed our final choice between this hotel and the Marriott which was much more expensive but had the view of the falls. We opted to save the money and stay at the Sterling. The rooms are indeed large but not as upscale as the photos would have you believe. They were indeed clean. Our biggest problem was the seedy area. To walk to the falls you have to go down Clifton Hills and it is the tackiest tourist trap area of the town. The area the Marriott is in was so much more upscale. The breakfasts were just ok. One morning, they simply forgot to bring our breakfast. When my husband went to the front desk to ask why, the desk clerk said, "Oh, they must have forgotten..." No apology. We went to Denny's. Beds were miserably uncomfortable. Nice to have free parking and free wireless. Loved the big tub. Our vacation was fabulous but would definitely stay at a different hotel next time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We went to the Sterling Inn during April and the weather was horrible! I was so pleased that the hotel and restaurant were excellent!!! We spent a lot of time in our beautiful huge room relaxing. The steam shower was great and we used it a lot. Breakfast in bed was delicious although I wasn't thrilled with the boiled egg. (There was enough of everything else that it didn't matter.). The staff were very friendly and helpful. A pool would have been a nice touch but I guess you can't have everything. The restaurant was fabulous-strange location-basement! We found the hotel through Groupon and it has spoilt me for any other hotel!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

This place is amazing! We got quite a bargain since we booked a room during the off season in the middle of the week (we traveled in February). After visiting we certainly would have paid much, much more for such a room and quality service. Our room was gigantic, clean and well maintained. We called the hotel directly to book and reserved a room with a whirlpool tub. We actually had looked at this hotel in the past and opted for another because you couldn’t confirm if you wanted the whirlpool tub or steam shower. I’m glad they changed this and we will most certainly be returning now that we can choose. We were very happy with our choice and the tub was large and clean. The rain head in the shower was also a phenomenal touch. The bed was definitely firmer than most hotels, but I personally enjoyed it and got a great night’s sleep. The location is pretty good with a short walk to Clifton Hill. Plenty of shopping and eateries are very close by. I saw a few reviews that said it was in a sketchy neighborhood and while located behind some other hotels and restaurants I would never describe it as sketchy… a little run down maybe. Perhaps the people that had this claim have never seen a neighborhood with normal wear and tear in a touristy location. We had dinner at AG the onsite restaurant and I would definitely recommend it! My husband and I each had appetizers, entrees and dessert and every course was simply exquisite – one of the best meals I have ever had! We chose to have breakfast delivered to our room and were simply thrilled that they had this option. It was so nice to take our time in the morning and lounge around instead of having to rush down to get breakfast like most hotels. The breakfast itself was very good, but I do think to save waste they should give you some more options upfront. I saw another review that complained about the sugar content in the yogurt. Well it seems that someone may have overheard their complaint because by the time we got there they were serving yogurt with artificial sugar. I personally cannot stand Splenda and think that artificial sugar is worse for you then the real thing. So our yogurt went un-eaten and it made me a little sad. Overall we had an outstanding stay and will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Call the hotel to book directly and you can voice your option of whirlpool or steam shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We bought a groupon and stayed here Mothers Day weekened. I am normally a big resort or luxury hotel girl, not a boutique type person.

Even with the groupon, this place was NOT cheap. We ugpraded to a suite for one of the groups staying. The other group stayed in a normal room.

This place was great! You got free parking and breakfast brought to your room every day (european style).

Free parking, free wireless, jet tubs, free breakfast and steam showers make this a great place to stay. Great gym is included. Beautifully decorated.

No complaints (and we are hard to please). I just wished they offered slightly more egg options for breakfast! The quiche was great..but very tiny.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC,ny
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We were so disappointed in the quality of the hotel, the beds were uncomfortable, the staff not helpful or friendly. When our toilet became stopped up, the maid came and handed us the plunger!! The restaurant and evening entertainment was great, the couples massage was just so so. You could do better for the money.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sterling Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sterling Inn & Spa

Address: 5195 Magdalen Street, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3S6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Niagara Falls
#3 Spa Hotel in Niagara Falls
#7 Romantic Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sterling Inn & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Niagara Falls' only Boutique Hotel the Sterling Inn & Spa is a fusion between a luxury hotel and a Fine Inn. From the tranquility of our full service spa, to our fine dining restaurant AG offering regional cuisine in a cool urban setting, the Sterling Inn & Spa is truly an experience in its self. With amenities and rooms that cater to couples, it is the perfect place for a honeymoon or romantic getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sterling Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sterling Inn And Spa
Sterling Hotel Niagara Falls
Sterling Niagara Falls
Sterling Inn Niagara Falls

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sterling Inn & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.