We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting to play if....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Thundering Waters Golf Club

Thundering Waters Golf Club
6000 Marineland Parkway (at Stanley Ave.), Niagara Falls, Ontario L2E 6X8 , Canada
905.357.6000
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A John Daly Signature Course
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Interesting to play if....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Nice course to play if you can play on a not busy day and you have a discount. We played on a Friday afternoon, tee off was 30 minutes later than booked, waited on every shot, took over 5 hours to play, with 3 groups on every hole. We were not informed when we checked in that they were 30 minutes behind, which would have been the courteous thing to do. One good thing was that when we realized this and complained, they discounted our rate. Also if you are an obsessive compulsive on fixing divots and ball marks do not play this course, you will never finish your round. Summary: fun course to play but not worth price.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    17
    11
    9
    15
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, NY
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Definitely a bogey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

This could be a great golf experience if management would pay attention to some important details. The course was in good shape for an early September weekday when we were able to book a tee time for $55+ HST. The arrival experience was somewhat strange in that they have intermixed the club drop and clubhouse with multiple residential properties. The traffic patterns are very poor and confusing for first time players. We were able to start our round a few minutes ahead of our tee time and got good instructions from the starter who was dressed in John Daly paisley pants. The GPS on the cart didn't work for the first two holes, but they were kind enough to bring out a new cart by the third hole. There is a huge discrepancy between the distances shown on the card and those shown on the GPS. We relied on the GPS, but can't fathom why the card and tee marker yardage could be off by 50-75 yards in some instances. We were disappointed on several holes that maintenance workers seemed to think that their job took precedence over the golfer's experience. For instance, the mowers would refuse to yield and make you wait until they were done. When they finished mowing a tee, they would pull to the side but leave the mower running. The worst was on one green where the gal was fixing plugs in the green. She refused to leave the green as you approached and putted...very distracting. They final straw was upon completion of our round at 1:00pm. Entering the Daly Cafe, not only was the temperature unbearable, but they were out of sandwiches and salads... are you kidding me? Talk about ending on a sour note. We probably would have visited the pro shop and purchased some of the colorful Daly clothing, but we were feed up by then. Unfortunately, a great course which could have been a much better than average experience turned into a real bogey.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Don't waste your money”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

The course was beat up, greens and tees were especially bad. There were so many divots that were not repaired or filled in, we all rolled into them during the day. We saw no rangers, and our round took almost 5-1/2 hours. We could have stayed home in Rochester and played a better course for $30.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Jammed!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

The course was in reasonable shape, although I used a ball washer once and it had dirty water and no towel. I would expect better for almost $100. We were there on a Sunday in August and maybe that was the problem. We had an 11:02 tee time but didn’t tee off until 11:30. Several times there were two other groups on a tee. We gave up and left at the end of eight holes. The starter extolled the virtues of the ranger but in two hours and 15 minutes on the course we didn’t make a ranger sighting. If a business makes a mistake, listens attentively to a complaint, and provides a token compensation I am happy to return. But we were offered only a rain check and the staff didn’t admit that there was a problem - while waiting in line to start, and when we returned to complain, they never varied from their script: “We’re only running a few minutes behind.”

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Worth every penny”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

I'm just amazed at the amount of negative reviews. I guess our neighbors to the south are constantly used to being catered to like royalty that there sense of reality is totally blurred. The golf course was in fantastic shape, provided a good challenge and left us wanting to come back. I did notice a few small issues, but none of them affected the fact we were there to play golf.
This was my first time using a GPS on the cart and it was a great novelty, but I think yardage markers should also be present. Ready golf can't be achieved when every player relies on the cart for yardages.
Lack of a drink cart isn't an issue given there is a snack hut in the middle of the course that you pass by on several occasions.
There are some long drives between holes and I can see this affecting the pace of play. We played early on a weekday and finished in just over three and a half hours. On a busy weekend, in a tourist market like Niagara falls I can see this time going much higher.
If you are a golf purist and haven't grown up with a silver spoon in your mouth, you will enjoy this course.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thundering Waters Golf Club also viewed

 
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 

Been to Thundering Waters Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thundering Waters Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.