We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long course, longggggg round!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Thundering Waters Golf Club

Thundering Waters Golf Club
6000 Marineland Parkway (at Stanley Ave.), Niagara Falls, Ontario L2E 6X8 , Canada
905.357.6000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #76 of 108 attractions in Niagara Falls
Type: Golf Courses
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: A John Daly Signature Course
Yardville, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Long course, longggggg round!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

First thing is the course was in great shape. Greens were true and fairways and views were outstanding. Problem was slow play! Starter told us to expect a 5 hour round and he wasn't kidding. Seems to be the norm here and no one in proshop seemed concerned. I'd love to play here again, but please.....pick up the pace!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    11
    11
    8
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Not in great condition this time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The golf course is NOT for beginners. My husband who regulary shoots in the high 70s could not get a par on this course this trip. The rough was very rough and two holes were soggy, even in the fairways! Hadn't even rained...the ball would dig itself into the mud and you would be sprayed with mud and water when you hit the ball. The course has always been tight, but coupled with the water and the condition of the rough, unless you were John Daly it might not be enjoyable. The price did not reflect the condition...we paid $55.00 each and this was fall golf! Would I visit again...yes, but not for a while.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Thomas, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Tough but Fair”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Course was well groomed. Bunkers are deep. Have multiple tees to satisfy almost every golfer. Rookies will find this course frustrating. Don't pay counter price. There are deals everywhere for this course.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alliston, Canada
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Good for one round”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Luckily I had a cheap coupon for 2 golfers that included a cart. On the day we played, the winds were very strong, up to a 3 clubs. I found the course in great condition with large greens which ran fairly true. There is no cart person but there is a hut that you pass 4 times during your round but doesn't open until 12:00. A pro shop which sells Daly's outlandish clothing and a small restaurant. There is house construction everywhere around the clubhouse which has destroyed some of the holes.
I played it once but never again..

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Great Course & Great Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We decided to play this course during a recent trip to Niagara Falls due to the John Daly name. We expected the course to be long and difficult as a result but found that because the course varies greatly in length depending on which tee box you play from, you can pick a yardage that suits your skill level and have a very enjoyable game on this course. The course itself was in excellent shape with lush fairways. That was a nice treat given the dryness of this summer. Since there are many traps, water, etc that are hidden from view, having GPS on the cart was very valuable. Having the cart included as part of the price was a bonus. There is a fair distance between some of the holes but there is lots of well marked signage on the course directing you to the next hole.

There is currently a lot of construction at the entry to the course and on the edge of a few of the holes but this did not interfere with our game or take away from our enjoyment of the course. Compared to the cost of some of the other courses in this tourist area, we found this to be a great value. We would not hesitate to play here again.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thundering Waters Golf Club also viewed

Niagara Falls, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 
Niagara Falls, Ontario
 

Been to Thundering Waters Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thundering Waters Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Thundering Waters Golf Club to your Saves list