We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definately for children” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Great Wolf Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Great Wolf Lodge to your Saves list
Great Wolf Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3950 Victoria Avenue, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2E 7M8, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 137 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Welland, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Definately for children”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2006

Let me start off by saying, this hotel is definately geared for children We stayed one night in November/06 (my husband was able to get a corp. rate so we spent $200 for the night). We brought along 2 children and 6 other adults, assuming that there would be other things to do in the hotel once we exhausted the water park. There is not. The water park itself is very small, so expect lineups, and the majority of the water activites are for small children. The lazy river is not lazy, the water actually moves quite quickly and they pack people in there so you are not able to relax. Yes the slides are quite good, but once you have gone on them, your limited to what else you can do. After spending 3 hours in the water park, we retired to our quite average rooms, only to find there were no towels to shower, 3 hours later we had to go to the front desk to asked for them again. There is an arcade, but there is no place for adults to hang out in after water park closed, you must leave the property. Would I spend the $400 regular room rate to stay at this property NEVER!! Not worth the money. There are many other waterparks in the area that I can go to and spend way less for the day.

  • Liked — Outdoor hot tubs (adults only)
  • Disliked — Size of water park
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,980 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    848
    683
    257
    116
    76
See reviews for
1,588
30
3
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (462)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge,On
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2006

This place is awesome! Soo much to do! Definately worth the money. The only draw back was the price of food. You are better off leaving the resort. The elevators were also slow but you can take the stairs(they aren't that bad) Chairs are limited. Waterpark was amazing.

  • Liked — Waterpark
  • Disliked — price of food
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2006

My wife, two small children and I stayed at the great wolf lodge for 5 nights Nov.5 to Nov.10. We are seasoned travellers and normally take two family all inclusive carribean trips per year. We decided this time around to keep our money in Canada instead, and we were not dissapointed!

The family friendly atmosphere of this place, particularly for those with children under the age of 12, cannot be emphasized enough. From the moment you walk into the impressive lobby and see 10 foot tall animatronic animals telling stories to wide eyed kids, you realize this is no ordinary hotel!

1. The rooms- We stayed in the "Kid Camp" suite. The children loved having their own tent themed room with bunk beds and their own flat screen T.V.. It was spacious, with a sitting area microwave, mini fridge and table and chairs. The maids kept it adequately clean.

2. The Waterpark- Beyond belief. 100000 square feet of rides, forts, wave pools, hot tubs and river rides. Pictures or verbal descriptions simply cannot do it justice. This is all indoors, so no need to worry about sunscreen or jellyfish like at the beach! There were lots of calm activities for my timid 4 year old, and my brave 6 year old had his hands full with some of the wilder thrill rides. I can't remember the last time he and I had so much fun being scared! It exceeded all expectations.

3. Service and ambiance- This hotel goes above and beyond for families. At night they have story time for all the children. A story teller, along with the animatronic animals, keep the kids enthralled. There is a "cub club" to keep the children entertained with arts and crafts once they are too exhausted to swim. Finally, there is an arcade in which the kids can win tickets for playing games and redeem them for prizes.
The cozy woodland theme is maintained throughout the entire hotel, from the restaurant to the rooms.

4. Food- The buffet restaurant has good food and great service, for a price. Breakfast for the 4 of us ran approx. $50 with tip. In all honesty, if you can afford to eat three meals a day at the buffet, go ahead, but it will probably run a family of 4 well over $200 per day. We used the microwave and fridge in the room, and bought our own food for most breakfast and lunches. For supper we ate on the strip, used the on site pizza hut ($30 for 2 medium pizzas), or ordered out. If, like us, you find the buffet pricey, you are only 5 minutes by car from hundreds of other options. The snack bar at the waterpark has reasonable "greasy spoon" type fare.

5. Overall- This is a place for the young and the young at heart, not for a "wild lost weekend" or romantic interlude. If you cannot handle a hundred laughing kids running to and fro screaming "Look at this dad it's AMAZING!", stay away. If, however, you want to be the biggest hero to your children possible, bring them here. You will not regret paying for the quality you receive at the great wolf lodge.

  • Liked — family atmosphere
  • Disliked — pricey food
  • Tips/Secrets — take your own food/snacks
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2006

Our family stayed at the Great Wolf Lodge for one night (a Saturday) in November, 2006. We live only minutes away, so this was a local visit.

I'll give you both the pros and cons:

Pros:

Amazing water park. Very kid friendly with incredible fun for kids and adults of all ages!

Spacious, modern and clean 'lodge' room. We stayed in a 'Wolf Den' suite with a queen bed, a sofa sleeper and bunkbeds.

Very friendly staff.

Great lodge lobby with things to keep the kiddos happy and busy.

The Elements Spa was a welcome oasis from the noisy kids. It was truly peaceful and my massage was heavenly!


Cons:

Expensive.

The bunkbed mattresses were vinyl. The bottom sheet was not fitted, so it became bunched up, with the children then sleeping on cold vinyl.

There weren't enough chairs or tables available by the water.

The elevators were terribly slow.

With so many children, the halls were noisy until midnight, which made it hard to fall asleep.

Even with the 'cons', we will definitely be back. The kids had a wonderful time and it's so close to our home. For those visiting the Falls on a vacation, this is a great spot for families, year round. We had an awesome time!

  • Liked — The kid friendly atmosphere and the spa.
  • Disliked — The noisy kids (we expected this) and the vinyl bunkbed mattresses.
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2006

We had friends go to the GWL, so our expectations were high. At no point were we let down. This place is amazing. Our kids, 5 & 7, were entranced the entire time. There is something for them to do around every corner. At night we went to the "story time", in the morning on the "wolf walk". Oh, then there is a huge water park that turns parents into kids again. I know we were close to the Falls, but there really is no reason to leave this place. The food was great and I found the staff, even though quite busy, to be very helpful. We even bumped into the Manager in the Lobby (Keith I think his name was) who was taking the time to chat with kids and welcome the parents. I think his attitude typifies GWL, fun, helpful and warm.

We will definitely be going back.

  • Liked — Family fun, room, service
  • Disliked — location
  • Tips/Secrets — go for the Majestic Bear Room..holds 8 people.
  • Stayed October 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamilton,ontario
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2006

We stayed for one night on November 12th/06. Overall all we loved our stay. The waterpark was fanastic, nice and clean also.
Hotel was very busy at check in, which we didn't expect for a Sunday, we stood in line for 30 minutes to check in. The overall atmosphere in the hotel is great. My two kids loved it. The rooms are nice, but I also did not like the vinyl mattresses. I tucked in the sheets which are not fitted and still the kids were sleeping on the vinyl mattress by the morning. I would not rent the rooms again with the bunks for the kids for this reason. We ate in the buffet for breakfast and the food was quite good. One other problem we had was there was 350 rooms rented and only one elevator that was working. We took the stairs all the time, but at checkout we waited 15 minutes to get down one floor. We finally took the elevator up, as by the time it reached us it was always full. We would definetely return, this time for 2 nights at least, as one night was not enough.

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TORONTO
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2006

We did our due diligence before booking the weekend here. checked out the website, read great things, heard great things, had a few questions, so called the 1 800 line. spoke to a person who answered all the questions, verified that the deal booked on the phone was the same as the internet (was in front of me at the time), so we booked with her just for convenience. They were offering the "Harvest special" at the time, which included 40 tokens for the arcade and free breakfast per room. (2 families booked 2 rooms)

When we got here and checked in, no one offered us the tokens or breakfast coupons. We had to go back and ask. Their only excuse was "we have some people in training". (well then, they should be more accomodating, not less) There was no apology. They gave us the tokens, and said that the breakfast coupons would be delivered to our room that evening. By the next morning, when we didn't receive it, we went to the desk again. This time they said that we didn't sign up for the Harvest Special, but in fact, were entered in as the "Splashtacular Savings" which did not include breakfast, or in fact, the tokens. (the price we paid was the same as the Harvest special anyway). We were told by the Supervisor to wait l5 mins before having breakfast while she checked with the head office to listen to our recorded booking to see if we "really" did book the harvest special. She was condescending and superior, a really humiliating experience. I asked to speak to her superior, and she basically said she was already the top. THIS IS NOT A GOOD SIGN.

We absolutely know that the rep confirmed with us that these items were included, I even checked the website again and they are still there. We did not get a printout of the confirmation since it was done on the phone, so there is no written record, basically their word against ours.

My point is that, it would have been nothing for them to offer us the free breakfast as this is what our understanding was, and it wasn't like we paid any less than anyone else who was getting the breakfast anyway. At $350 for the night, they made us feel like we were trying to scam them for a free breakfast. THIS IS NOT HOW A CUSTOMER SERVICE ORIENTED ESTABLISHMENT WOULD BE RUN. Sadly, though the kids would have great things to say about this place, we would not be so inclined to come again and will also give this personal review to all our friends.

One other annoying thing was the kids' bunk beds. I can understand that the mattress is covered in vinyl, but the bedsheets were not fitted, worn and just slid all over the place. At the very least, they should be fitted so that they would at least stay in place. WHAT A MESS! In the morning, we found the kids just sleeping on the vinyl with the sheets all at the bottom of the bed. Yuck!

  • Liked — Water park
  • Disliked — Customer servie
  • Tips/Secrets — Get everythingin writing
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Great Wolf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Wolf Lodge

Address: 3950 Victoria Avenue, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2E 7M8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Niagara Falls
#6 Family Hotel in Niagara Falls
#23 Romantic Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Great Wolf Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 406
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive at the Great Wolf Lodge, expect to be amazed and amused. Situated close to awe-inspiring Niagara Falls, the entire Lodge is designed to capture the spirit of adventure and the atmosphere of the great Northwood's. The Northern theme inspires everything from the spectacular stone fireplace and timber in the five-story Grand Lobby to the cabin-like comfort and decor of our all-suite guest rooms. The Lodge features an indoor/outdoor waterpark of over 100,000 square-feet; an 18-hole interactive miniature golf course; Ten Paw Bowling Alley; our 7,000 sq. Ft. Northern Lights Arcade, including a ticket redemption center; MagiQuest, interactive adventure game; Elements Spa & Salon and Scoops Kid Spa. Five themed restaurants, including a confectionary cafe and Northwood's Pizza. We assure your stay will be a howling great time! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Great Wolf Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Wolf Hotel Niagara Falls
Great Wolf Niagara Falls
Great Wolf Lodge Niagara Falls

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Wolf Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.