We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Howling Fun at GWL” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Great Wolf Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Great Wolf Lodge to your Saves list
Great Wolf Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3950 Victoria Avenue, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2E 7M8, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 20% this Summer!
Ranked #10 of 136 Hotels in Niagara Falls
ConestogaLake, Ontario
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Howling Fun at GWL”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Took our kids (2) and grandkids(5) for an early Xmas gift. We booked a regular family suite for ourselves and a kid camp and wolf den for our kids and family. The rooms were large and well appointed with everything you needed - shampoo, body lotion etc. We took our own snacks and drinks and found this was helpful in keeping costs down a little. They say there is no food or drink allowed in the waterpark but we looked around and saw plenty of both. Took drinking boxes and boxes of cookies in and had no problems.
We arrived just before 1:00 pm, checked us all in, got wristbands and left a phone # with reception for contact when our rooms were ready and headed to the pools. Before we were all changed, received texts that all three rooms were available. Since we were all changed, we didn't bother going to the rooms but enjoyed the water until about 4:30. The kids had a blast. So much so, that they didn't want to go to the storytime but preferred to go back in the pools. The older two (ages 10 and 8) were given special wrist bands that enabled them to go on their own. The others (ages 6,5 and 3) were given different coloured bands which meant they either weren't big enough or required an adult but fun was had by all. I especially liked the blue slide which was like riding a rollercoaster. My one grandson enjoyed the bowl (he called it the toilet bowl) and the younger kids loved the kids hot tub and the wave pool.
We bought the food pkg for all and found it was quite good. You can probably eat for less than the $45/adult they charge, but we enjoyed the buffets as a family and since this is their Xmas gift from us, thought we should eat together as a family.
Only complaint would be the beds were a little soft for our liking although my 2 kids thought they were too hard. I guess it's what you get used to! We went to the arcade for a bit and the older grandson had fun. Let the kids each pick something out for $20 at the gift shop and thought everything was fairly priced. Didn't take part in the Magic Quest since kids preferred to swim.
All in all would go back. As a matter of fact, they are all asking if it's going to be their Xmas present next year too!

Room Tip: We requested rooms away from the lobby and first floor since we had heard these could be noisy. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,035
    802
    301
    135
    92
See reviews for
1,943
32
3
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (521)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton, ON
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We have been to the Great Wolf Lodge about 4 times now and feel that the experience should be renewed, rejuvenated. It’s always the same attractions in the water park. The same décor, the same themes… I don’t think we will be coming back for another vacation at the Lodge unless there are some new features added to the experience. Furthermore, the Gym had only 50% of the equipment working which was also disappointing.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Second time going to gw. Loved it again. Buffet dîner Is very good but very similar choice night after night. Was hoping for more variarity. Service Is A plus !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Family stayed Nov. 17. Kids loved it.

Arrived 2:30, Lines at check-in but not too long. Went to view the Falls and got a Text at 4pm that the room was ready. Relatively close to rest of Niagara attractions so easy to leave hotel for a side trip and meals.

Purchased a hotel package deal which was a bit cheaper than the current deal-site "groupon" once you added in the free dinner and MagicQuest package.

I found the dinner buffet very good - fine selection for adults and kids and the food was very good (apparently that can be somewhat random). Breakfast buffet I paid for and regret it - coffee was exactly the same as the watery crap that is free in the room, Eggs Benedict were either under or over cooked but the ham was uncooked/cold and the bun wasn't even toasted or buttered, and I have no idea what they were using for bacon - it was as thin as tracing paper (I could read through it) and tasted like cardboard with fake smoke scent sprayed on. The complete opposite experience to dinner. Prices were same or higher than outside buffets so generally not worth it - other reviews recommending going out or bring food instead of eating in is a good idea.

$5 for a slice of pizza and $3 for a small Coke were nuts. On the other hand the full pizza price was close to market rate.

$10 for a swimming locker! When they can't get me my room they want to charge me more for the privilege? That summarizes the GWL costs - high prices then a bit more added on to round it up!

Staff were all trying to be very friendly and nice. Some especially friendly and nice and the others were obviously being paid to fake it. I'd prefer honest dis-interest to badly faked friendly.

Kids loved the MagicQuest game (basically run around the hotel scavenger hunt) which was wayyyyy toooo expensive. Even with a package they charged extra $ to "upgrade" your wands to a different color plastic stick! If you return you can purchase new batteries disguised as "enhanced wand toppers" for $20!

Story time for kids in the evening. Then some dancing/playing to tire them out before bed. Good at keeping kids entertained.

Could use some more staff supervision in the hotel room area. Lots of kids running around all the time in the halls (up to midnight). Pushing each other on luggage carts up/down the halls. Some parents obviously came to dump off the kids as they socialized in one room while they put all the kids in the other rooms and left them do whatever they wanted. Kids above must have been jumping off the bunk beds until midnight.

Arcade was also over priced. Some basic "Dave&Busters" type games and video games. The 20 coins included in the package were enough for 5-6 games.

Waterpark was nice. Well maintained and Lifeguards seemed on the ball. Hard to find a seat with people throwing towels on things to "claim them" then walking away. Bring your own drinks because it is very hot inside and the drink prices are the same high prices.

Towels and lifejackets were supplied so that was nice. Change rooms & showers a little small for the expected number of visitors.

11am checkout is a bit early especially with the water park but being able to stay after checkout is nice. We packed the car and skipped the locker by keeping someone at the table with our bag the whole time.

Good:
Various entertainment for kids
Good waterpark
Kids theme rooms
Dinner buffet
Generally a nice relaxing atmosphere
Seems to be a pretty safe place for the kids

Bad:
Breakfast buffet
uncomfortable mattresses
kids complained about scratchy blankets, thin sheets and plastic covered beds
High prices to start, Price gouging for upgrades (wands, lockers)

If I go again (still an IF) I would look for a discounted basic room and the included meals package (or simply eat out / take in).

Overall we all had fun, just knowing what I was paying for it was a damper.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Overall all vaue perceived compare to price paid is fair as we paid over $430 for one night of stay for 5. (3 kids under 12 year old) It was a well derserved getaway for everyone but would I rave about the, it varies on what you think is important. We just moved from California, really thought Walf-Lodge tried hard but it still deliever short on entertainment to be a truely great resort.

1. Reception: Simple and not much welcoming feeling from the check-in. Did not feel like I checked into a resort. Perhaps the gentleman was tired.

2. Ambiance at entrance: First glance was quite receptive for the kids. They looked aroud quickly but soon got bored. The lobby had a grand fire place and a animated animal sectio in front of elevator.

3. Room: Cute layout with Camp which is what kids thought they wanted. But they all ended in our bed and sofa bed. The bunk beds were apparently not too comfortable. And the TV was very small. Would have preferred 1st floor.

4. Waterpark: Was nice th efirst 2 hours. Not very big but nice all indoor size for Canada. If you have been to Schlitterbanh, this cannot be a true comparison. But This is quite good for our kids age. They managed to get on all rides and enjoyed most the lazy river. (small lazy riveer but fun for them to swim along/ against the flow, with or without tube)

5. Wave machine!: I thought of mentioing this because wave machine was EXTREMLY disappointing! On for 5 minutes and off for 15 min. Kids were really looking forward to it but ended up elsewhere because the wave was hardly on.

6. Outdoor hottub: highlight fo rme ad all parents! There is a family hot tub but the water is barely luke warm. My eldest one found it cold and wanted to go to the hotter one but all other ones need 16 year old +.

Here you go. Have fun! If I have paid $300, I woudl say reasonable and good deal. But at the price that I paid, I give it 3.5 stars.

Room Tip: 1. If you like quick access to waterpark, ask for 1st floor. 2nd and 3rd have balcony but need to ta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We are back again at the GWL! Check in time is 4 pm but you're allowed to use the waterpark at 1pm, so we came at 1pm, and they got us a room right away! The staffs are very friendly, service is good. I love how the wristbands have chips on it so you don't have to carry a room key, and also you can use it to buy anything there, you won't have to carry your money around, how convenient. They have a story time at 8pm for kids but it was too crowded. There's a lot of activities for kids, a really fun place for them, and my son doesn't want to leave this place, again. You can extend your stay for only $129, if they have availability, pretty good deal. There's a lot of restaurants on Victoria's Ave, further down to the town area, and Clifton Hill is not too far away too, but your kids might probably not want to leave this place!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Though we don't really have anything negative to say about GWL, we can't say anything stood out as unexpectedly great either...

The Good Stuff: The waterproof wristbands (room key & personal expenses) are a great idea. Story time is a big hit with the kids. And of course the water park itself is the main selling feature with enough variety to keep you satisfied.

The Disappointing Stuff: Even though there's a reward system for staff who stand out with their hospitality (you're given a card with two stickers to give away to staff members), we were surprised by how unmotivated they seemed to be. They were polite, but we rarely received more than a smile and a ''hi'' as we passed by and interacted with most staff. The seating situation at story time was less than desirable with people simply cramming onto the lobby floor (children and parents alike) for 30-40min. If you wanted a decent view of the story-teller you needed to arrive even earlier. Needless to say most parents and kids were pretty uncomfortable after sitting cross-legged with no wiggle room for as long as one hour. And though the water park is nice, it really isn't any more impressive than the local water park you'll find in your home town/city.

So there you have it, GWL was a nice place without many blemishes but also without anything that will make you feel you've been to anything more than a nice hotel with a water park attached to it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
2.7 mi away
Marriott Niagara Falls Fallsview Hotel & Spa
2.1 mi away
DoubleTree Fallsview Resort & Spa by Hilton - Niagara Falls
2.4 mi away
Hilton Niagara Falls/Fallsview Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Niagara Falls Fallsview Hotel
1.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Niagara Falls, ON
2.7 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Fallsview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Wolf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Wolf Lodge

Address: 3950 Victoria Avenue, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2E 7M8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Niagara Falls
#5 Family Hotel in Niagara Falls
#15 Business Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Great Wolf Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 406
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive at the Great Wolf Lodge, expect to be amazed and amused. Situated close to awe-inspiring Niagara Falls, the entire Lodge is designed to capture the spirit of adventure and the atmosphere of the great Northwood's. The Northern theme inspires everything from the spectacular stone fireplace and timber in the five-story Grand Lobby to the cabin-like comfort and decor of our all-suite guest rooms. The Lodge features an indoor/outdoor waterpark of over 100,000 square-feet; an 18-hole interactive miniature golf course; Ten Paw Bowling Alley; our 7,000 sq. Ft. Northern Lights Arcade, including a ticket redemption center; MagiQuest, interactive adventure game; Elements Spa & Salon and Scoops Kid Spa. Five themed restaurants, including a confectionary cafe and Northwood's Pizza. We assure your stay will be a howling great time! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Great Wolf Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Wolf Hotel Niagara Falls
Great Wolf Niagara Falls
Great Wolf Lodge Niagara Falls

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Wolf Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.