We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BED BUGS” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Great Wolf Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Great Wolf Lodge to your Saves list
Great Wolf Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3950 Victoria Avenue, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2E 7M8, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 137 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Barrie, Canada
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“BED BUGS”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

Had so much fun with the family but when getting ready for bed I pulled the sheets and saw bed bugs. collected some in a cup and talked to management and they up greated out room, washed all our stuff but it still freaked me out. I was however very impressed how how they treated the situation very seriously. Next time i'll be putting my bags in the bathtub and checking the room before going out and having fun.

Room Tip: Please please check for bed bugs before you bring the little buggers home with you....good luck
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWLMGMT, Manager at Great Wolf Lodge, responded to this review, May 13, 2012
Dear Mar555154980,

Thank you for providing comments on your recent visit to the Lodge. I assure you that safety is our number one priority and we thank you for bringing your concern forward so that we could immediately react. We are pleased that our response to the situation met your expectations.

Bed Bug incidents at the Lodge have been incredibly few and far between. While we can never control entirely what people bring into our Hotel, I assure you that we extend every resource for early detection and elimination. At the first sign of any concern we treat all rooms above, below, beside, and across. Rooms affected do not go back online until cleared by independent 3rd party inspection. We do a great job of this and through this have never had a repeat occurrence.

Bed bugs are an increasing societal problem. The efforts made by the Lodging industry as a whole are exceptional and we are proud to be at the leading edge of that effort. Our standards and commitment to safety and cleanliness exceed all industry standards. We work hard and spare no expense so that this committment does everything possible to ensure the safety for all in the Lodge, both guests and staff.

We are pleased to report that the entire treatment protocol and follow-up inspections were successful and the Lodge is once again all clear.

If you have further questions or concerns, please contact me directly. Thank you again for reporting your concern.

Sincerely, Steve Janzen, AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,804 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    784
    618
    227
    106
    69
See reviews for
1,443
29
3
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

I am rating this five stars for the fun and taking one off for value

The Fun:
An excellent indoor water park, with slides for every confidence level, plenty to explore, attentive life-guards and a nice (completely fake, but it doesn't matter) lodge-style appearance.

This was our second visit (exactly one year after the first) and we stayed in a wolf den room which had my 7-year old daughter squealing with delight.

My other child, at 18-months was very happy playing in the shallows and at that age having a safe water environment where he can gain confidence is just perfect.

For our first stay, we did Sunday night, giving us Sunday and Monday in the water and this time we had Saturday night and it was much busier. The lines were long, but just about bearable, and it wasn't easy to find a seat. I am guessing the hotel was full, so this would be as busy as it gets, but if you can avoid the weekend, you will get more from it.


The Value:
At $400 plus tax for one night it is very hard to feel I got great value. It wasn't terrible value but GWL is beyond the reach of many regular families and although the facilities are good, they must be making a huge margin.

I would feel better if GWL didn't try to gouge us. For example, lockers must be paid for, at up to $10 per day. At $400 I would expect to have a locker tossed in for free.

We did not eat on site, so I can't comment on the food.


Tips:
- People can check in from 1pm and use the park on that day plus all of their checkout day. As a result in the early afternoon you have both new arrivals and that day's checkouts, making it the busiest time. Mornings are much quieter if you want to get a few slide runs done.
- The last hour (8-9pm at weekends) is fairly quiet and a good time for the most popular slides
- You are not supposed to take your own food into the water park, but we did on both visits, with healthy snacks for our kids. The on site food is geared towards promoting the obesity epidemic.
- There is a good range of restaurants in Niagara, just 3km away
- The TV in the bedroom, which is huge, has both HDMI and VGA inputs, so you can play movies off your laptop. The smaller TV in the kids den did not have the inputs.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgetown, Barbados
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

Had a nice stay the kids were free to enjoy the water park in a total safety

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

This is our fourth trip to see our wolf friends as my 4 year old says it. As always check in was a breeze and we had our room and bracelets just shortly after 2 when we got there. Got a package this year for the magic quest game and all went smoothly with turning in the coupons for everything from the game to dinner. We had never done this before but it went without a hitch so will most likely look at a package option again in the future. The room was nice and clean well stocked with towels etc. The park was a little busier this time but not to bad so lineups on the slides werent too much of a hassle. Finally got to try the outdoor hottub and it was a nice way to get away from the kids for a while having the teenagers look after the little one for about an hour was nice. The quest game was really cool the little one enjoyed making all the things open move etc...
overall a great time and we look forward to our next visit

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

If you want to know what a themed getaway should be like, go to this place. From the moment you arrive you know it's going to be great. The lodge and wilderness theme is seen everywhere you go. The atmosphere is filled with excitement from all the guests around. It's definitely a place for a family getaway. They even have a game that encourages the kids to scurry through the main lobby and different floors looking for clues.

The waterpark is large and provides hours of entertainment. There are slides and activities for kids of all ages. There are snack bars serving food and drinks, even alcoholic, with a swipe of your wrist band. And there's even a cool little bathing suit drying machine available to use just outside the change rooms.

The kids played all day, and where exhausted afterwards. But that just made for better "quiet time" since they all passed out and slept beautifully. And the beds are actually comfortable!! I totally recommend going for a weekend.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

We had a blast this time around again! This time we went with a bigger group and were able to enjoy more of the slides,the waterpark was fun the lines were ok we didnt have to wait to long. My son is 7 and this is a perfect age for the waterpark he was able to ride alot on his own and I didn't have to monitor his every step,the lifegards are very friendly and interactive with the kids. I have to say the food prices are a bit high but if you bring your own snacks and some food you can save a bit. This time we tried the MagiQuest ($37.00 for the game and wand):( and it was ok,my son also stuffed a Violet stuffy in the gift shop and he really enjoyed that! We stayed in the kids cabin room and for the 4 adults and 1 kid it was a nice size room but I wish they had a kid themed room with two queen beds I think that would be a nice option, My only issue with the room was that it was a bit far from everything and when booking it would be nice to pick your room but overall I think the rooms are nice and clean the waterpark and rest of the hotel was clean and the staff are friendly. Thanks GWL for another fun family trip,we'll be back soon :)

Room Tip: Not sure you have a choice on your room location and that sucks :(
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owen Sound
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

We've just returned from our second trip to GWL in Niagara Falls and it was even better than the first time we went. My 6 year old told us on the way home that it's his "favourite place in the world." :) We had taken him for his birthday last year and returned to celebrate his brother's birthday this time.

We opted for the Family Suite this trip; last time, we had a themed room and one of my kids fell out of the top bunk bed. He was okay, but we didn't want to chance it again (he does sleep in a bunk at home, so it was a fluke that he fell out there). The Family Suite is roomy and comfortable, the only thing I found odd was that the bathroom sink is outside the actual bathroom. I guess it's "cabin-y," but it made it difficult not to wake the kids when the adults were brushing our teeth and washing up before bed. It was nice to have a table to eat at, though, as well as the sitting area. The patio was good, too. Overall, we were very happy with the room.

As for the rest of the lodge, the kids loved wandering around and exploring all of the interactive and decorative elements throughout the hotel. I'm actually surprised they are able to keep the whole place as clean as they do, considering how many kids get through there each day.

The waterpark was excellent, as usual. We love going during the week so it's not as busy. It's annoying, however, that people show up at 8am and throw towels on the chairs to claim them, then don't sit in them all day. It didn't seem like there were many people there at all, yet I couldn't find a table to sit at for 10 minutes while my kids used the kid slides in the shallow pool, as every single table was "claimed" in this way. If you do go, get there early if you want a table in a particular area of the park. Near the back there seem to be more tables open, I noticed.

Our kids went to Cub Club (the evening babysitting/entertainment program) for the second time and loved it. The Cub Club staff are exceptional and the kids come away happy, tired, and sporting new hats and crafts to take home. It's worth the price; $30 for the first child and $15 for the second, for 2 1/2 hours of PJ party playtime in the evening, no parents allowed (which means you get a break!).

The dinner buffet is really good; one of the better buffets we've had on vacation. Lunch was a bit weird. There wasn't much open, probably because everyone was checking out. We ordered a large pizza from Northwoods and it was *awesome* - but, we had to go eat it in the Grand Lobby at a couch and coffee table, as there are only four or five very small tables outside the pizza place to eat at. The tables are so small our pizza box took up the entire table and we had no room for plates. It was awkward eating in front of everyone checking in and out, but the food was good.

I also had a massage while we were here and the spa is excellent. Fresh tea and water with citrus fruit and cucumbers while you wait. They have the option of aestheticians for relaxation massage, or RMTs for therapeutic massage, and you can get a receipt for benefits. The RMT I had was amazing and I left feeling brand new.

Great Wolf Lodge is pricey, but it's worth it for a fun family vacation. We plan on returning often! There are working fridges and microwaves in the room, so pack a cooler and bring some food if cash is a concern. The coffee shop on the bottom level is also one of the lesser expensive food options on the property. On top of the waterpark, they have an arcade, mini-golf, and other activities... you definitely won't be bored! Outside of the lodge, of course, you have everything in Niagara Falls to do. GWL is out of the way and off the beaten path so you can avoid the craziness of downtown if you choose, but only a 5 minute car ride to the falls.

Room Tip: Go on a Sunday/Monday/Tues... rooms are less expensive and the waterpark isn't as busy, so lines...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Great Wolf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Wolf Lodge

Address: 3950 Victoria Avenue, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2E 7M8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Niagara Falls
#6 Family Hotel in Niagara Falls
#19 Romantic Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Great Wolf Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 406
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive at the Great Wolf Lodge, expect to be amazed and amused. Situated close to awe-inspiring Niagara Falls, the entire Lodge is designed to capture the spirit of adventure and the atmosphere of the great Northwood's. The Northern theme inspires everything from the spectacular stone fireplace and timber in the five-story Grand Lobby to the cabin-like comfort and decor of our all-suite guest rooms. The Lodge features an indoor/outdoor waterpark of over 100,000 square-feet; an 18-hole interactive miniature golf course; Ten Paw Bowling Alley; our 7,000 sq. Ft. Northern Lights Arcade, including a ticket redemption center; MagiQuest, interactive adventure game; Elements Spa & Salon and Scoops Kid Spa. Five themed restaurants, including a confectionary cafe and Northwood's Pizza. We assure your stay will be a howling great time! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Great Wolf Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Wolf Hotel Niagara Falls
Great Wolf Niagara Falls
Great Wolf Lodge Niagara Falls

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Wolf Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.