We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Killer Whales” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marineland

Marineland
7657 Portage Road, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2E 6X8, Canada
905 356 9565
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Expedia
Book a Tour
Ranked #34 of 60 Attractions in Niagara Falls
Type: Amusement/ Theme Parks, Aquariums, Amusement Parks
Attraction details
Dunnville, Canada
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
60 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Love the Killer Whales”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Really enjoy this place but really expensive. I worry about the conditions for the seals, seems the inside auditorium needs some repair or expansion. Really interesting.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    210
    163
    106
    165
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“This place needs to be shut down for good”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

I am a local and completely disgusted with Marineland. They need to update the park badly and the way they keep & treat the animals is disgusting. I feel horrible for those poor animals. I have gone once with friends and we were all ashamed that this park is considered entertainment in the niagara region. They over charge you on everything from admission to meals to souviners. For the price they charge they should have plenty of funds to care for these animals properly .
I will never return to Marineland EVER!

Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Good place, but I doubt if I ever visit it again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I liked this place and so did my 3.5 years old daughter. We’ve never seen belugas and killer whales so closely, so we was really impressed. Most rides, however, were not for small children and there was also too much walking, so we rented a stroller. I did not know that time about the mistreating of animals there, so everything was fine for me. Now I am not sure if I ever visit Marineland again.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beluga whales are beautiful and park was not overcrowded”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We had a wonderful time at Marineland. The rides were uncrowded although we were there in late summer (peak time, I would think). Petting/feeding the Beluga whales was wonderful. Just a few rides, but the ones they had were fun, and it's mainly about the animals. I was a bit worried about the walrus -- they seem to pull him in & out all day long on the stage doing the shows, and I'm not too sure that's good for a walrus.

But the whales were in excellent condition, the trainers/staff informative, and the employees were all helpful and pleasant. We liked it.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Lots of walking!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Marineland is a very spread out mix between amusement park and aquarium/zoo. The grounds are nice but large and a lot of walking for little legs (i.e. small children). The rides are fine but few and far between--not the same as a full-blown amusement park.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marineland also viewed

 

Been to Marineland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marineland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.