We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birds Birds Birds” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bird Kingdom

Bird Kingdom
5651 River Rd, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2E 7M7, Canada
905-356-8888
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Bird Kingdom like an insider
Buy Tickets Online
$16*
and up
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Birdwatching
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: 4x Winner of Niagara Falls' "Attraction of the Year" Award, A world class tropical adventure, located in Niagara Falls, Ontario, is the largest free-flying indoor aviary in the world. More than 400 birds make their home in this multi-level rainforest setting nestled in a building which has housed some of the area's top attractions of the past. A 40-foot waterfall, tropical plants, and hundreds of birds from around the world put on a show for the public. Many of the 80 species of birds living at Bird Kingdom are endangered or threatened in the wild.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children
Kearny, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Birds Birds Birds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

If you love birds, then this is the place to see. So many species in such an amazing building. You must meet Baby. Baby will greet you in between floors

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,360 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    779
    389
    122
    38
    32
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“If you like birds, go here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

very good, take your time and use the seating to watch the birds flying around you. Whilst very cute, the lorakeets pack a pinch and leave lots of bruises - despite the bloke taking photos telling you they don't bite!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Rushed Out Too Early!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We arrived at Bird Kingdom at 4:00 on a Saturday after reading their website which stated "The Aviary will remain open for an hour after the last ticket sale. (ex. Last ticket sale is at 5:00 PM, and you can remain in the aviary until 6:00 PM).

At 5:25, we finished our tour at the gift shop and were told by the two women who worked there that we weren't allowed to buy anything because they had closed out the cash and that everything was shut down. Before leaving, we needed to change our 17 month-old son in the bathroom. During the next 5 minutes, the 2 women turned off the lights, locked up and one of the women stood in the doorway of the washroom with her purse in hand staring at my wife and son, waiting for them to leave. Then, she rattled the door of the stall where one of my other family members was using the facilities. She then "escorted" us to the exit. At this point, it was only 5:30pm.

On a positive note, we really enjoyed the main open level habitat with the waterfall. On another negative note, there was at least one bird and reptile who appeared stressed out and unhappy in their confined home.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A Bird Lovers Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Our trip to the Bird Kingdom was fantastic! The aviary is made to replicate a tropical habitat with a waterfall, trees, and warmth. The birds are able to fly freely and are provided with plenty of shade, food, and water. Since many of the birds are of an endangered species, the aviary serves to protect them and ensure species survival.
This is a great educational trip for children, and has lots of family fun. There are many different species of birds, many of which are very beautiful! It is also great for photographers, as I was able to get some really great close-ups.
I highly recommend a visit to the aviary during your NIagara stay!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice but not worth it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

My wife and I got to go to the Bird Kingdom because we got a deal with a hotel there and this was part of it. Would I pay $20.00 an adult to walk through this in an hour/ No way. The birds are great and colorful and it is neat to see them all but unless you get a deal to go there it really isn't worth the effort.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bird Kingdom also viewed

 
Niagara Falls, Ontario
 

Been to Bird Kingdom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bird Kingdom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.