We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best B&B's we have been to” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Redwood Bed & Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Redwood Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Redwood Bed & Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   5227 River Road, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2E 3G9, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Minster, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“One of the best B&B's we have been to”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

We were so glad that we chose Redwood as our B and B in the Niagara Falls area. The new owner (Sarah) was so kind and bubbly and went out of her way to make our stay enjoyable. In addition, she is a great cook. Our room was ready when we arrived and was immaculate! The bed and pillows were great and I slept very well. Breakfast the 1st morning was a great mix with waffles, muffins, fresh fruit, toast, ham, and juice choices. All were great. The 2nd morning, we had eggs, muffins, sausage and fruit.
We had told Sarah that it was our anniversary weekend and she sweetly made our muffins in heart shaped pans.
Sarah was a wonderful hostess, the house was gorgeous and clean. It is located within easy walking distance to the falls tourist area. The walk is up and down some hills so it is not for everyone. The view from the front porch was of the gorge and was beautiful. There was nice parking behind the house where we were able to park our motorcycle and both other couples had room for their cars.
Sarah is also in the process of adding a fitness room. She has a treadmill and some yoga and meditation mats and supplies. She has tried to think of everything.
One note, there are no televisions or clocks in the rooms. We did not miss the TV as we did not spend much time in our room, however, a clock would be great and I made that suggestion to Sarah.
I would highly recommend Redwood Bed and Breakfast to anyone who will be staying in the NIagara Falls area.

Room Tip: The Vineyard is the mid priced room at this home and it was just perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    97
    2
    0
    2
    2
See reviews for
10
72
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Riga, Latvia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

It was really great stay in Niagara Falls. We were there only for one day. The Host was very helpful and told the best sightseeing for that a shot time and we managed to see all, what we wanted.
The place was very nice and we had very good breakfast.
Thanks!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Our stay at the Redwood was a great experience and one we hope to experience again. Upon our arrival, Sara had just taken over ownership, but our stay was still fantastic!!! The breakfast was spectacular as was accommodations. We stayed two nights in The Vineyard and one night in The Dulce Vita. Both rooms were fantastic, but The Dulce Vita takes the cake! What a great room! It's only a 10 minute walk to the falls and the views are breathtaking! As others have said, this will spoil us to all other B&B and the Redwood will be the measuring stick for all others to come. Keep up the great work Sara!

Room Tip: The Dulce Vita has a great balcony that overlooks the gorge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westwood, New Jersey
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011 via mobile

This is my first time in Niagara Falls, and the Redwood provided a fantastic home base. Walking distance from the falls and Niagara attractions, it makes getting around the crowded parts easy. Being on River Rd it's also very easy access to Niagara on the Lake. Hosts are very informative and welcoming. They clearly take pride in their property, and it makes for a very comfortable place! Highly recommend to anyone looking for a weekend getaway!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

Stayed in La Dolce Vita suite- excellent. Owners warm and friendly. Walking distance to major Falls attractions.

Room Tip: Dolce Vita suite is best- 2 other rooms are very nice but smaller
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenfield, New Hampshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

The Redwood Bed and Breakfast is a wonderful place to stay in Niagara Falls. Joe and Carmella are excellent hosts and really care about their guests. The breakfasts at the Redwood are outstanding. Joe is truly a gourmet chef... we didn't need to eat again until late in the evening! We only stayed two days but we felt like a part of the family when we left. In fact, I got a bit teary eyed when we said goodbye to Joe! Joe and Carmela are kind and gracious hosts... I highly recommend their bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

My husband and I loved the Redwood. It was the third B&B we stayed at this trip. It was both the nicest and the cheapest. The common areas have gorgeous wood paneling, and the rooms have been decorated with lots of care and beautiful touches. It was immaculately clean. Breakfast was by far the best B&B breakfast I have ever had. When we arrived, the proprietor asked us if we liked certain food, then when breakfast came the next day, we were given individualized made to order wonderfulness. I had peaches with cream, pastries, a shrimp omelet, roasted zucchini, and thick pieces of French toast with Nutella and syrup. My husband had something similar, but since he doesn't like shrimp, his omelet was different.

The Redwood is in a lovely residential neighborhood and is right across the street from the Niagara River. It's about a 10 minute walk to the best view of the American Falls and the main downtown area. It's about a 20 minute walk to the edge of the Canadian falls. We hated downtown Niagara, both on the Canadian and American sides. It's very gimmicky with overpriced mediocre restaurants, haunted houses, etc. The falls, however, are fantastic. We did the Maid in the Mist and the Cave of the Winds. Both were great. The Maid in the Mist has exactly the same tour whether you catch the boat on the American or the Canadian side, but the American side is considerably cheaper. Just beware the fake visitor's center on the American side just over the Rainbow bridge. It's not run by the park district, and they try to pressure you into buying very expensive tours. Parking there, is, however, $5 cheaper than in the main state park lots, and it's only a short walk to the real visitor's center.

We also visited Fort Niagara, about a 20 minute drive from the Falls. It was awesome. If you like early American military history, it was definitely worth it.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Redwood Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redwood Bed & Breakfast

Also Known As:
Redwood Bed And Breakfast
Redwood Hotel Niagara Falls
Redwood Hotel
Address: 5227 River Road, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2E 3G9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Redwood Bed & Breakfast 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Redwood Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Redwood Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.