We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Magnuson Hotel Niagara Falls

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Magnuson Hotel Niagara Falls to your Saves list
Magnuson Hotel Niagara Falls
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4029 River Rd, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2E-3E5, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #85 of 137 Hotels in Niagara Falls
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I have never written a review for a hotel but byyyy farrrr the most terrible place i have ever stayed. The pool was closed all weekend..continental breakfast..yea right..it was just some cereal. Also the beds were dirty and one of the managers walked right into our rooms without even knocking which was absurd...i will never stay here ever again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    8
    8
    5
    27
See reviews for
24
19
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Niagara Falls, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed here the night of my wedding. I still havent figured out exactly what was going through my head at the time, but never again. My husband stayed at the room the first night as my friends and i stayed at my house. I got a phone call about an hour after he got there asking to find him a different hotel. Being niagara falls on a weekend in augest, this is impossible. The next night when i got to the room, i decided at first glance it wasnt that bad. Then i looked around. There was blood on the floor, walls and ceiling, the floors where never vaccummed and the bed smelt like a diaper. There was a ring around the bathtub and you could barely open the shower door. I called the front desk and asked them to bringup a vaccum and some glasses so we could have some drinks in the room and clean it up. there was cob webs in the corners and hair in the bathroom on the floor. The front desk brought me up a vaccum and instead of saying, sorry for the conidtion on the room, I was told to "have fun" at this point i was beyond mad and left. I went bak the next morning and got a talk with the manager. We got our money back and a free weekend at the hotel when ever we want. How ever, the free weekend is never going to happen as i would rather stay away from the dirtyness and rude staff.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

we recently spent a saturday evening at the Best Days. i believe it was formerly a quality inn. this place has a few recent updates and our room was very clean, with a fridge, microwave, fireplace, and 2 of the most comfortable beds we have ever slept in. mattress & box springs were both wrapped in plastic & a waterproof cover so no worry of bugs! nice touch. definate quality for the price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Booked 3 rooms for family for 8 nights, so between us we had experience of 24 nights, to experience just how poor this hotel really is.
Rooms were dirty. Also during the whole duration they were never cleaned. The last few days they couldn't even be bothered to make the beds or empty bins.
Room keys generally stopped working for all of us at differentg times and took at least 30 mins to regain access, as there were never any staff around.
Continental break was included, but not every day, unless pressed. This included muffins (as the week went on they became more stale, but had the addition of ants included free of charge) and occasionally mini croissants, but changed to buscuits later in the week, plus warm orange juice, tea, coffee and on the last day, gone off milk.
One room experienced a leak coming through the ceiling when the overhead occupant had a shower. It also has additional guests staying behind the firepace - stratching noises and when the fire place was knocked, squeaking noises (Mice or rats?).
I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Try somewhere else!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Three good things, location, free parking and comfortable bed. Lots of negatives. Paper thin walls. Upon arrival was told that there was no breakfast (signs to the contrary). Found out that a continental breakfast was available later. Ice machine close to room broken. Both card keys stopped working twice in three days. Room never vacuumed. Fireplace did not work. Indoor pool closed (looked fully operational to me). Bathroom door would not fully close or open. Thermostat setting would change by itself. No security whatsoever (outer doors not locked, room sliding glass door without latch - 2nd floor). Poor TV reception and very limited channel selection. Staff seemed aloof and it appeared that customers were an inconvenience.

Room Tip: As far away as possible from any other occupied room (most other rooms should be empty at this place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

For my wife and Me, a hotel should be clean, feel safe, provide basic amenities (soap, ice, hair dryer, and wireless Internet) but in the end is a place to sleep undisturbed, not a place to live in. Oh, I do like free parking when I'm driving. We have had a mixed experience staying in B&B's and felt the offerings in Niagara on the Lake were pricey. We only chose this place after reading all the reviews. In the end, it was fine, with the savings per day covering all our daily meal expenses. NOTL is a pleasant 20-25 minute drive from this hotel. A short drive in the opposite direction takes you to all the offerings at that Falls. (The town of Niagara Falls is depressingly touristy to the max. We left three breakfast establishments after viewing their buffets. We did eat breakfast at the Marriot at the falls, where parking is free for restaurant guests. Although their buffet is $20 a head, it was very good and our view of the falls was excellent. We took the rail elevator from there down to waters edge and enjoyed a pleasant walk to the boarding station for Maids of the Mist.) Our bed was wonderfully comfortable and the basic amenities were present. The hotel is certainly due for a refurbishing but it fully met our needs. I did need to search for a functioning ice machine but did find ONE. If you approach this hotel with appropriate expectations, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Where do i start...oh 1 3pm check in?One ice machine when the baseball teams drained it during the day.There still wasn't any at 8pm?.The other machine is broken.Management says it takes awhile,what 8 hours!The place has diffent prices.Anything from $50 to $93.We paid $68.Restaurant is closed for the season,more like it wasn't open all year.The hallways smell!!!,Nothing really works!!!.The place should be condemned.

Room Tip: Believe in peoples rating,they trully mean something
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Magnuson Hotel Niagara Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel Niagara Falls

Address: 4029 River Rd, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2E-3E5, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 137 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Magnuson Hotel Niagara Falls 2*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Niagara Gorge and Niagara River, this Ontario hotel is an 8-minute drive to Casino Niagara and Fallsview Casino. It offers free Wi-Fi throughout the property. Days Inn North of the Falls features an indoor pool with a hot tub and sauna. Guests will also appreciate free coffee service in the lobby and in-room coffeemakers at this convenient hotel. Guests can explore a variety of restaurants and shops in the area surrounding the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Magnuson Hotel Niagara Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magnuson Hotel Niagara Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.