We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and atmosphere, but expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ruth's Chris Steak House

Ruth's Chris Steak House
6455 Fallsview Blvd | Four Points by Sheraton, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3V9, Canada
(905) 357-1199
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ruth's Chris Steak House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #89 of 437 restaurants in Niagara Falls
Price range: $48 - $48
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Stanley Avenue
Scarborough
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good food and atmosphere, but expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

We only went to Ruth's Chris because we had a $70 dining voucher as part of our hotel promotion. I hadn't been to one before, and was expecting pricing to be a bit more than something like The Keg. I wasn't quite prepared for steaks starting at $54 with the average price being about $69, plus $10+ for each side (nothing is included with the steak itself).

The flavour was good, but not worth double the price of similar meals elsewhere. The dessert and sides were a hefty size - recommended for sharing. They had an $18 fixed price kids' menu.

The atmosphere is good and it was a pleasant dinner served by friendly staff. The meal was enjoyable, but even with another similar coupon, I probably wouldn't go back. At $200 after the $70 discount and before tip for a family of two adults and two kids around 10, I would have expected a bit more.

Apparently parking should have been free (we didn't know until we parked at the casino across the street and walked over). Also, we needed a reservation even for a Friday night in the dead of winter. The restaurant is actually quite big once you get past the front desk, and I can't see how it was completely full.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

59% Recommend
    114
    55
    36
    51
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Guelph, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good tasting food, expensive though.....Glad we had a coupon!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Make sure you make a reservation well ahead of time. We ended up ordering at the bar, which worked ok for us. Be prepared to pay at least $70 for a steak and $12 for a potato or mushrooms (most sides cost $12). The steaks were very good, but mot sure I would go back if I didn't have a coupon to help offset the cost. We were also entitled to 2 free drinks, which were limited to domestic alcohol and house wine. The sad thing was that the house wine they offered was not good, and was not even an option on their menu. If you get a chance look online to review the menu and costs prior to your visit.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Worst service ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

Eating at this restaurant was the worst part of our trip (which is unfortunate, because it was what we were looking forward to the most). The service was horrid, if you ever get Larisa, avoid her at all costs and immediately ask for another server! She had the worst attitude and acted as if though she didn't care because she is going to get that automatic 18% gratuity anyway. Additional wine glasses were not taking away, water glasses were not filled until asked, and bread was also not given until asked (something every other steakhouse teaches their waiters to do right away).

We had a $70 voucher due to our hotel deal, so that may be the explanation for the extremely poor service. But to be honest, I don't know how this steakhouse would survive without the $70 vouchers!

Food was mediocre, that is if you don't mind paying $70 for your meat to be smothered in butter.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

$200 for 2 steaks, one order of Potatoes Au Gratin and Wild Mushrooms ($200 does not include tip). Steaks were above average. Potatoes and mushrooms were good.
Cost aside, I cannot rave about the food. Server was good.
All in, this is a good meal for about half the price.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Attitude”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Why is it that some waiters that work in fine dining establishments forget that they are WAITERS and not the owners of said establishments! The attitude that was delivered to our table was truly disgusting. We booked a weekend on Travelzoo that included a discount voucher here. Mistake. As soon as we started to order they waiter, Nick stated "This isn't the Keg" and excused himself mid order and went off to serve someone else I AM NOT JOKING!!! Another helper, Jhonny came over and took the order. We asked for drink menus twice to no avail so never had a drink with our meal. Nick did come by and said he would bring us more bread. We should have realized he was joking.
Listen, we may have not been the biggest spenders (table of 4)and our friendly waiter, Nick realized that after the 2nd order was taken and treated us like 2nd class citizens thereafter. I have worked in the cruise industry for 13 years and have been in contact with people from many socioeconomic back grounds. The difference is I give EVERYONE the same experience whether they have a gold Patek Philippe on their wrist ,or a Timex. This treatment is a discredit to a fine restaurant and Ruth Fertel would be turning in her grave!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruth's Chris Steak House also viewed

 
Niagara Falls, Ontario
 

Been to Ruth's Chris Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ruth's Chris Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.