We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, but most importantly clean!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn - Chalet Inn and Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn - Chalet Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn - Chalet Inn and Suites
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   5577 Ellen Avenue, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3P5, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 137 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Toronto
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Basic, but most importantly clean!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Ok folks, this isn't the Hilton or Fairmont, however, in a city where EVERYTHING is over-priced, it's an excellent option for no frills accommodations!

Our room on the 2nd floor was clean and tidy and thankfully ready for us when we arrived at 12:30pm.. the check-in girl (around 21 years old but didn't catch her name) was friendly and knowledgeable about the area. After a hot afternoon of walking around the kitschy Clifton Hill area we took a dip in the indoor pool and the kids loved it! Very clean and well maintained - though we didn't use the outdoor pool we checked it out and it was equally well maintained.

The owners of this hotel are obviously professionals who take great pride in keeping the grounds in good condition..

If you're looking for a clean hotel close to the action (5 mins away on foot), then look no further, unless you want to spend at least twice the price (and you'll need that money to eat at the overpriced restaurants in the area!!!)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chaletinn, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Chalet Inn and Suites, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you for your review. We appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    87
    33
    16
    24
See reviews for
98
64
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Just returned from a 3 day trip to Niagara with family (total 6 adults). Was great. The suite fit us all comfortably and was very clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Nice quiet place without the street noise. Close to all the sites. When I come back to Niagara Falls again this is definitely the place I will stay at.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chaletinn, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Chalet Inn and Suites, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thanks for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Very affordable for Niagara Falls. We were pleased with the size and cleanliness of the room and especially pleased with the location. Walking distance to the falls, both the Canadian side and the American side via the Rainbow Bridge. Best part of the location was that it was a block or two off of the main tourist drags. We had no street noise and no crowds around the hotel. A couple of convenience stores were nearby as well as a good Chinese restaurant on the corner. Another bonus was that we couldn't hear noises or voices from other rooms. Very quiet.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chaletinn, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Chalet Inn and Suites, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

The room was clean and quiet. Close to the "main drag" of Niagara Falls - within 10 minutes walking distance. Very friendly and personalable employees. Any issues were resolved immediately. Pool was clean and refreshing. Very affordable accomadations for a family on a budget. Contental Breakfast was minimal, but coffee was always available.

Room Tip: Rooms on western side have a porch/chairs only shared by one other room. Other side had chairs at d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chaletinn, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Chalet Inn and Suites, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you for your review. we appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

My fiancee and i went to Niagara falls over the weekend and i had intially gone online to try and book one of larger well known hotels but could not believe the rates they were charging (average weekend price was around $220 a night, some were actually around $300.00-$400.00!!) We do travel alot but have not stayed overnight in Niagara for a few years. Refusing to pay this price for niagara falls i stumbled upon the Americas Best Value Inn. Most of the reviews were very good and the price was much cheaper than most so we booked.I wasn't sure what to expect as we never stay in motels considering the condition of most.

We were pleasantly surprised, the grounds are manicured nicely and the rooms are very clean (just as clean as any big name hotel). The staff were friendly. You can tell that the owners do their best to maintain thier property and want to provide a great stay for thier guests while offering them reasonable rates. They have an indoor and outdoor pool but we never used it, heard it was good. Some things are dated as the motel is older (however, once you walk around check out the other motels, you will certainly be glad you stayed here) and you can't expect the same kind of "bells & whistles" you might find at the Hilton, keep in mind it is still an affordable motel. However, the motel is very clean, (no funky smells, etc) has all your basic needs and it is probably the best value in the heart of the Niagara strip. If we return to Niagara we will book here again.

Jen

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chaletinn, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Chalet Inn and Suites, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. We really appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

This is a clean, safe option to the $300+ priced hotels with falls view. It is definately two stars, bring your own hair dryer, and no coffee in the room, but has free wifi, and is clean, clean, clean. Close walk to Clifton Hills and the falls. :)

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chaletinn, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Chalet Inn and Suites, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Thank you for your review. Just as an FYI, for the rooms that do not have a hairdryer in them already, you can request one from the front desk.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Overall, this was a good room. It was spotless and the bathroom was roomy. Our room had a balcony with a nice view and there was a bright pool room on the main floor. BUT there was Limited parking space!! We ended up parking in the wrong lot (even though the receptionist had told us, in front of a guy who was either the owner or a supervisor, that where we had parked was "fine"). We got into an argument with the extremely rude owner of a motel across the street. When we came back to find out where we could park, the owner/supervisor told denied that we were told we could park there. He finally ended up paying for us to park in a lot beside the previous one. If you are going to advertise "free parking" on the website it should also include the word "limited". Also, some other issues: 1) 2/3 electrical outlets were not working which I realized in the morning when my cell was not recharged 2)breakfast was terrible (tiny, tasteless muffins, watered down coffee and powdered milk, juice), and offered in a basement room that doesn't even slightly resemble the one seen on their website 3)not enough chairs on our shared balcony which wasn't a very big deal since we didn't spend much time there

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chaletinn, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Chalet Inn and Suites, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
We're sorry you had such a problem with parking. We have enough spots for every room, but on the holiday weekends we notice many people bring more than one car, which turns into a problem for us. The girl you spoke to about parking misunderstood you, and should have told you the correct overflow parking lot where you could have parked, again I'm sorry.
We have not received any complaints to us directly about outlets issues, but one of the outlets in the room has the one plug always on, and the other controlled by the light switch. Yes, this sounds stupid, but that is how the electrician wired the place, and not something easily fixable. This might have been the problem in your room.
As for the breakfast, the room where it is held is the exact one seen in pictures. There's no other rooms like that on the property, and no other place the picture could have been taken. Our coffee is not watered down, it's a gourmet columbian blend syrup, that is programmed to give just the right amount of water to syrup for a perfect cup of coffee, however personal tastes are just that, so not everyone will feel the same way about it, (I personally love it).
Thank you for taking your time to give us a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn - Chalet Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn - Chalet Inn and Suites

Address: 5577 Ellen Avenue, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3P5, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 137 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn - Chalet Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walking distance to the Niagara Falls, Casino Niagara, Clifton Hill, Fallsview Casino, and many restaurants and other attractions. The staff pride themselves on making your stay an enjoyable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn - Chalet Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn - Chalet Hotel Niagara Falls
Chalet Hotel Niagara Falls
Chalet Motel Niagara Falls

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn - Chalet Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.