We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hostel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of HI- Niagara Falls

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added HI- Niagara Falls to your Saves list
HI- Niagara Falls
4549 Cataract Ave, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2E 3M2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Doha, Qatar
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hostel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2011

Stayed here in January, on way from Chicago to Toronto. It was very cold and I was travelling on my own. Hostel is a little distance from the main area with the hotels and shops, but there is a frequent bus even in the winter. Staff and breakfast were great, met some fantastic people. Best part was that my bus didn't leave till 5pm the next day and the staff had no problems letting me stay and sit in front of the fire and drink coffee, so I didn't have to wait in the cold bus station. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    22
    12
    3
    2
See reviews for
4
9
33
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010 via mobile

we stayed there for two nights on or way from NY to Toronto. The staff is super friendly an the hostel is great, especially the kitchen. The bus terminal is just around the corner. To the falls it's a good half hour to walk but there is a bus too.
the hostel is located outside the tourist area where live is normal, nice and cheaper.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennebunk, Maine
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

This hostel is well located in a residential area close to Niagara Falls and the Rainbow Bridge which includes a walking bridge to Canada (passport required). The hostel has off street parking in back and a helpful manager. Upon checkin I was issued a sheet sleeping sack and map of the area. Ask for a towel if you need one. The bed had a well worn blanket and pillow. The bathroom and kitchen were of very cheap construction. The mirrors were cheap and too high for me to see myself. No towels in the bathroom. The entry, stairway and dining areas boast nice woodwork, but you have to overlook the hostel's deficiencies and appreciate its location near the falls. Next time I would try the hostel on the Canadian side. The view of Niagara Falls from the Canadian side is much better than from the American side and the night light show would be better viewed from there as well. The Maid of the Mist from the American side is cheaper and gives the same ride. The falls are awesome. Though the hostel has deficiencies it does provide cheap accommodation.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2010

We stayed here in October 2009. Yes, it's taken me a while but I finally remembered to review.

This is not a family place, even though they have a "family room." The family room is a standard bunk set, and a another with double under and single over. There is less than 1 metre at the end of the beds and between as well. Getting 5 people and their luggage in the room was really tough! The beds were foam on those wire and spring bases, incredibly uncomfortable and very saggy.

The family room is right over the front terrace that they show in the pictures, this is where everyone congregates on nice nights to drink, sing and play guitars. About the worst place for a family room as the noise kept us awake until 2am.

We got up and down to the kitchen by 9am to have the free breakfast, most of the food was gone, the kitchen lights wouldn't work and there were no staff around to help.

The recreation room downstairs was well stocked with things to do, but really dirty.

They tried to charge us double what was quoted by email, I had to argue long and hard to get the correct price.

To top it off, this was weekday out of season, and we could have got a room at many of the motels in town for the same or less than we paid. We are not room snobs and have had many pleasant hostelling experiences with our children. This one was definitely the worst ever!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morelia, Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2010

The hostel has an excellent staff customer service and location. Many people complains about the 15 minutes walk to the falls, but the scenery its so worth it! You can rent a bike for a day and not just go the falls, but to bike to Niagara on the lake (It takes 2 Hrs. but trust me your eyes will be delighted), you will love it.(There is also buses to go to Niagara on the lake for 15 Dlrs or so and the staff can make a reservation for you, and in the city you would be able to take public transport for $2.75 or a day pass on sale at the reception for $6Dlrs. The hostel also offers wine tours and BBQs in the Afternoons which makes it easier to meet people. Its near from the bus and train station and in the summer if you are coming from Toronto you can ride either for just $15 Dlrs. The rooms are clean and have AC, the kitchen its fantastic. Super secure hostel and great basement with Pool table, Vending Machines and a Huge plasma TV with DVD, they also offer for free great movies in case its a rainy day and tons of table games if you fancy a quiet afternoon. Michael Ale and Olivier are the best hostess you will find very helpful and Joyful. You can find the Liquor store 5 minutes walking and excellent restaurants on Queen Street (Ask for Mide Bistro). Casinos offer great shows at night and a great all you can eat buffet for $20 Dlrs., the Wild Mushroom situated on Victoria is the best place to hang out at night for some cheap and friendly drinks, same recommendation for Taps on Queen Street. and the best attraction is the Maid of the Mist, you will be able to buy your tickets at the Front Desk for $40 or so Dlrs. and it would include 3 more attractions and Transportation (dont forget to ask for it to the staff) $15 Dlrs. for the single trip at the Maid of the Mist. (So i really recommend the Package.)
Ps. Dont forget to buy your Hostelling Membership as well, it will save you tons of money on your trips with greyhound (Specially on those Monthly passes) and accommodation at Hostelling.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2009

for a cheaper option; about 15 mins walk down to Niagara Falls; use kitchen like home; get to know others and have a BBQ; not please with the bed or shower but its okay for 2 nites for the cheapest opiton.

Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2009

Hostel was ok in general, bit run down but you can tell the staff had tried hard. However the kitchen was gross and the complimentary breakfast is worth avoiding. Eat over the road at Dads diner.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to HI- Niagara Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HI- Niagara Falls

Address: 4549 Cataract Ave, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2E 3M2, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your HI- Niagara Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HI- Niagara Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.