We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst service ever” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Far East Chinese Restaurant

Far East Chinese Restaurant
6536 Thorold Stone Road, Niagara Falls, Ontario, Canada
Improve this listing
Ranked #158 of 452 Restaurants in Niagara Falls
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Niagara Falls, Canada
1 review
“worst service ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I am a regular customer of Far East restaurant and often order take out once a week. Tonight my order was deliever and it was incorrect...when I called to request that they correct the order and send the food I ordered they refused. They told me that I shouldn't have acepted the food if it was not what I ordered....unbelievable!!!! The person that I spoke to on the phone was rude and unreasonable...I will never order from this restaurant again!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    10
    3
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pickering
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Exceeded our expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

My wife and I were in Niagara Falls, Ontario from March 3 - 6, 2013. We decided to give Far East a try for take-out on March 4, because Shanghai Garden, where we normally eat, the quality of the food han been consistent. Far East, exceeded our expectations I did not have my GPS unit, so I called for directions. The gentleman I spoke with was very helpful and gave good directions, plus I operate a limousine service. When we arrived, we received a warm welcome from that same gentleman and told him that we just spoke over the phone. My wife asked for recommendations, he was knowledgeable. He was very patient and pleasant, our order was taken efficiently and the wait was not long. We had sweet & sour chicken balls, egg foo yung and beef fried rice. The price was comparative to Shanghai Gardens. We planned to go back to Far East the next day but still had left overs from both restaurants. After my wife warmed up the food, I could easily differentiate between the two. We live in Pickering and have been hard pressed to find chinese food of this caliber in GTA Toronto.

God willing, Far East Chinese Restaurant will definitely see us our next visit in Niagara Falls!

I hope my review is helpful.

God bless

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Food, Take-out recommended”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This place reminds me of the old school chinese food places of my childhood. Out dated interior with amazing food. If you want to eat-in, it's fine, but just don't expect much.

The food is great. It's not traditional by any means, cut you get a lot for your money. My favorite is the Orange Chicken (almost identical to the Special Chicken). My wife will get a combo platter and we will split it.

The food is very consistent there and they do a lot of take-out. BTW, you have to ask to fortune cookies if you really want one.

We are regulars

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Far East First -Timer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We moved to Niagara 1 year ago and had not had chinese food since we moved here. We asked some locals and co workers and alot of them recommended The Far East Chinese restaurant. we are glad they did. We ordered for pick up and the food was fast, hot and very good. it looks to be a sit down chinese restaurant as well and had alot of people eating there. I always am picky on where i go to eat and the cleanliness of the establishment and staff but I saw no worries here. I highly recommend it. As a side note the prices were good without affecting the quality.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorold, Canada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“The Best Chinese In The Niagara Peninsula”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

The title tells the story. Great food, (usually) good service, reasonable prices. The surroundings are a bit dated but the place is very clean. I love the shrimp with mixed vegetable prepared extra hot. It's heaven on fire.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Far East Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 
Niagara Falls, Ontario
 

Been to Far East Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Far East Chinese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.