We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glen Mhor Guesthouse

Save Saved
You added Glen Mhor Guesthouse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Glen Mhor Guesthouse
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   5381 River Road | At Wesley Place, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2E 3H1, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 66 Niagara Falls B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Top Notch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Glenmhor in December of 2012, and the experience was absolutely terrific. The location and access are second to none; walking distance to most of Niagara's attractions, and a short driving distance to the US boarder and the scenic Niagara-On-The-Lake.
The house is kept in immaculate condition and the rooms are clean, spacious and quite. We stayed in the Ivy Room which was beautifully appointed and had a private bathroom and two comfortable reading chairs. Breakfast was very good and was customized daily!
Jim and Marilyn were fantastic hosts - responsive, friendly and polite. In fact, Marilyn's studiousness and organization made our reservation and check in/out experience seamless and Jim's stories and sense of humor really put us in a great mood for our mini-vacation.
We plan to return to Glenmhor when the snow melts and really take in the area and this beautiful house in the spring. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
27
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

From the moment we made our reservation via tripadvisor, Marilyn was in contact with us via email to enquire about our arrival time. We had a long drive, but arrived a couple of hours earlier than anticipated. Not a problem! Upon our arrival, Marilyn provided us with 2 maps of the area, noting area attractions, and recommending local eateries.

What a great B&B! Marilyn and Jim are such kind, generous and gracious hosts. Home cooked traditional breakfasts over our weekend stay included french toast & sausages, fresh eggs & peameal bacon, and yummy blueberry pancakes & sausages. Fresh coffee, tea, juice and vegetable cocktail round out your beverage choices. Snacks, soft drinks and bottled water are available at nominal charge ($0.50) day and night and I don't know why one of the other reviewers was so offended at this. Do they get free beverages at the large hotel chains - I think not. You get great value for your stay at Glen Mhor.

Hotel / b&b cleanliness reviews is the leading factor in my choice of accommodations and Glen Mhor does not disappoint. The rooms and bathrooms are spotless. We chose the room with the king bed, I believe it was the Magnolia. The bed was very comfortable and we had a great sleep. The bed does take up most of the room and there is a small table with 2 chairs that can be used for your laptop. I wouldn't recommend bringing a large suitcase if there are going to be 2 of you during your stay. I was aware from the picture on the site that this was not a large room, but that wasn't going to be a problem since it was only going to be me there during the day. The full, private bathroom is located across the hall from the room, but that wasn't a problem. There were 2 other bedrooms located on our floor, each with their own bathroom, I believe. Each of the other rooms were occupied during our stay, but you wouldn't have known that.

All in all, it was a great stay and I would recommend Glen Mhor to friends and fellow travelers. It is nice to be able to support the local businesses rather than the over priced chain hotels whose ratings and reviews seem to be hit and miss. Thank you Jim and Marilyn :-)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orient, Ohio
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

My partner and I booked Glen Mhor based on the hosts open acceptance. Reviews reinforced our choice. We arrived pretty early (11 a.m.) but Marilyn was there to welcome us with a smile. She gave us the low down on the Adventure Pass and restaurants in the area. She was very knowledgeable and thorough in answering all our questions about other attractions and getting around the area. She showed us to our room.

We booked the Magnolia room. It has a large bed but is a very small room. The bed was very comfortable. There is a private bath across the hall which is good size and clean. NOTE: There is a nightstand by the bed and a few garment hooks but no dresser or closet in this room. This would be the only negative thing I have to say about our stay because I hate living out of my suitcase on vacation. I want it to feel like home. I just assumed they were there and the topic never came up in my exchanges with Marilyn.

Each day, Marilyn would ask if we needed any fresh linens, etc... I prefer that to changing things every day. I don't change linens and towels daily at home and it's a waste of resources. Even hotels that say they're concerned about the environment and only change towels left on the floor, change all towels every day. A refreshing change.

Breakfast was prepared fresh daily for each guest and the menu changed daily (eggs made to order, French toast, pancakes) and included breakfast meat and fruit. We're easy to please but Jim and Marilyn did their best to accommodate more finicky guests as well. It was also the time to socialize and review the previous day's activities and discuss plans for the day with other guests and our hosts.

The porch and front garden are a nice, relaxing spot overlooking the gorge for a drink in the evening. The side porch was a nice spot for breakfast...at least until the heat set in.

You can easily walk to the falls on both sides, Maid of the Mist, Table Rock, Clifton Hill, Skylon and the casinos. It is also just a short walk (5-10 minutes) to the first People Mover stop which covers most major attractions along the river.

Marilyn was the perfect hostess, always checking on her guests needs. Jim always had a smile. I said 'There's the boss'. He said he was just the hired help. They make you feel at home on vacation.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Our hosts, Marilyn & Jim, made us feel at home and like we were old friends or family. They took such good care of us, recommending the best places to eat, the best sites to see and even made several reservations for us!!! They had maps, tourist guides, gave us Adventure Pass discounts and also gave us two free wine tasting tours at local wineries (which were wonderful!). We were there for my birthday, and Marilyn remembered it and surprised me with a present! Jim and Marilyn are so friendly, warm and have great senses of humor! They offer different breakfasts each morning with offers of extra toast. They always have coffee and tea available at no charge. They have snacks available and drinks in a fridge available at a very reasonable price. Their yard is lovely, the house is located within a 5-10 minute walk to the falls. We were able to walk everywhere in the Niagara Falls area and didn't have to worry about parking! Their house is far enough away from the commercialism of Niagara Falls that you don't hear loud noises at night, except the fireworks! Free parking! Safe neighborhood. Great people, big breakfast, cozy house, very attentive and helpful hosts that really made our trip extra special. We would definitely go back there again and recommend them to our friends and family. Our bed was extremely comfortable, the room was lovely. Never ran out of hot water when showering in a fully occupied house. Nice front patio to sit and relax on. They're located right on the Niagara River.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

From the moment we arrived, Marilyn and Jim made us feel at home. They made every effort to create a welcoming atmosphere and were very helpful with information regarding places to eat and sight-see. They also helped with some excellent travel advice for us on our continued journey and kindly printed out maps and timetables so we wouldn't get lost. There was a great selection of 24 hour beverages and snacks. Our breakfast was delicious and Marilyn made sure we were satisfied with the menu. Glen Mhor is located within walking distance to the beautiful falls as well as the tourist strip. In the other direction, it is a nice walk to the downtown area where the locals go. It is close to the action, but removed enough to ensure a quiet night's sleep and a relaxing experience. The garden is lovely and it's a shame we couldn't spend more time to thoroughly enjoy it. I highly recommend staying with Marilyn and Jim, a lovely relaxing experience!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

Absolutely loved the hosts, suite, food, and location. Jim and Marilyn were so kind while they greeted us after our late arrival and 7 hour drive from Indiana. Their recommendations were always spot on in regards to attractions and places to eat. If you are planning all day activities I recommend going to the organic cafe in the A.M. and grabbing some sandwhiches for lunch while you're away. The brew pub is also a nice place to unwind with the locals. Talk to Jim and Marilyn about your plans since they seemed to have a coupon for a few things which allowed us to spend more money in wine country. :) And don't forget to sign the wall upstairs. The bikes trails are excellent. Just stay away from Clifton while riding. Between the cars and people, it's not the most fun of rides.

Room Tip: The suite with in-room bathroom was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

Faultless from start to finish. The food, friendliness and information provided was first class. Marilyn & Jim were great hosts. Highly recommended. Situated only 5 mins from the falls.
Try to make time to visit Niagara on the Lake.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glen Mhor Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Mhor Guesthouse

Address: 5381 River Road | At Wesley Place, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2E 3H1, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Glen Mhor Guesthouse 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Booking.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Glen Mhor Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glen Mhor Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.