We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a Wonderful Place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chestnut Inn

Save Saved
You added Chestnut Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chestnut Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   4983 River Road | At Bampfield Street, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2E 3G6, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 66 Niagara Falls B&B and Inns
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Such a Wonderful Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I can't say enough good things about The Chestnut Inn! This was a spur-of-the-moment trip and we found The Chestnut Inn online. After reading so many glowing reviews I was very eager to see the place in person, and it did NOT disappoint. We stayed for three nights and felt right at home from the moment we walked in the door. We were sad when it came time to leave and are already trying to figure out when we can go back again.

The Inn is charming, tastefully decorated and well appointed. The rooms are warm and inviting. The owners live in a separate house that is attached to the Inn by a private breezeway so you don't feel like you're disturbing their family's routine. The kitchen is available for guest use, which was really nice. There is also a small refrigerator and an electric kettle in a room on the second floor that you can use. There was an assortment of teas, hot chocolate and instant coffee in that room as well. I remember reading one review that said there were no hair dryers, however in the room with the small refrigerator there was a basket with a hair dryer, curling iron and clothes iron that the guests could use (as well as an ironing board in the corner).

We stayed in The Loft Room which is on the third floor and is the entire width of the house. The room is HUGE! The door to our room was on the second floor with private stairs leading up to the room. This being an old house, those stairs were creaky and we were afraid we were disturbing the other guests when we walked up and down the stairs, but after talking with a couple who was staying in a room on the second floor they assured us that it was not the "herd of elephants" level of noise that we thought it might be! They said that while they could hear that someone else was in the house, it was not disturbing at all. We had our own bathroom, fireplace and deck, and the deck was very large. We were there off-season so there were no chairs on the deck but I'm sure they put them out during the season. We happened to have been there on an especially mild weekend so it was still nice to stand out on the deck in the morning to see the sunrise. :)

One note about the Loft room: the bathroom appears to have been redone since the pictures that are on their web page because it did not have a claw-foot tub. There was a tub/shower enclosure, and once you're standing inside the tub the ceiling is a bit low. If you are over 5'11 inches tall you might have to duck your head, or take baths instead of showers. We are both under 5'10" so it wasn't an issue for us but I felt like I should mention it. There was plenty of hot water and the bathroom, as well as the rest of our room and the entire house, was very clean.

Breakfast each morning included their signature dish, Apple Stuffed French Toast. There's a reason that practically every review mentions this dish...it's AMAZING!! So good!! They also had a nice selection of muffins, bagels, croissants, fresh fruit, cereals, yogurt, toast...and the hostess/house manager (Carol) will make you pancakes if you'd like. Carol was a real gem! She is so friendly and warm, and we thoroughly enjoyed our conversations with her each morning. She strikes that perfect balance of being open and engaging while still respecting privacy.

The location of the inn was perfect as well; close enough to the falls (less than a five minute drive) while still feeling well removed and far enough away that you're not bombarded with all of the tourist-y crap. It's about a twenty minute drive from there to Niagara-on-the-Lake which is a lovely little town on Lake Ontario. I can't report on the bus service because we chose to drive everywhere.

On our last night there we were the only guests, so we peeked into the other rooms and they are all beautiful. We would have been happy to stay in any one of them. The Blue Room is the only room with a king-sized bed. Each room has it's own bathroom and a fireplace, and some sort of balcony or deck.

What else....there is free wi-fi, free parking on-site, books and games available, and the price was very reasonable. If you have any questions please don't hesitate to contact me and ask and I'll be happy to answer if I can.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful! The Blue Room is the only room with a king-size bed, the others are qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    10
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
24
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

My partner and I chose the chestnut inn to get married in, wanting an intimate ceremony for just the two of us. We couldn't have chosen better! The inn itself was beautiful, the rooms had real charm and were extremely comfortable and cosy. We booked the blue room which also had a balcony with a great view of the surrounding area. Where the inn really excels is service though, Carole the house manager is quite possibly one of the most wonderful people we've ever met, so warm and welcoming she gives the place it's heart and soul. I had not been able to bring any flowers for my wedding and my partner wanted me to have a bouquet and when he asked Carole if we could get some, not only did she call the florists but actually drove us there to pick them up! We also were given a champagne to celebrate our wedding which was a lovely thoughtful gesture, perfect to sip as we sat on the balcony watching the squirrels :) the breakfast there were also fantastic, the house speciality French toast was heavenly and there was certainly plenty of food on offer :) it felt as though nothing was too much trouble. We will definately be visiting again, and we would love to celebrate an anniversary there in the future. Thank you for making our time there as wonderful as it was x x x

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Stayed at the Chestnut Inn for our wedding in September 2012 and cannot fault this place. The staff were so welcoming and just could not do enough for us. The breakfast is described as continental but the table was groaning with delicious food each morning. We were married in the Gazebo and could not have wished for a better location. We hope we can return one day to this magical bed and breakfast.

Room Tip: The loft room is very spacious and has its own big decked area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed one night at the Chestnut Inn with friends and we received a warm & friendly welcome from Karen our hostess. The rooms we had were very spacious and comfortable. All the rooms had a balcony except ours which was "The Loft" and had an enormous roof patio. Breakfast was served in a beautifully furnished dining room by Katina who was charming and very helpful. We would definitely recommend this to our friends.

Room Tip: We had "the Loft" and the "Grey Room" and would recommend either.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

A friend and I stayed at the Chestnut Inn for 3 nights. Carol, the house manager is lovely and cheerful. The room we were staying in, the top level, the Loft, is actually the attic, with a huge room that seem to be able to sleep 5, a walk-in wardrobe, a tub and a huge personal deck. You even have your own private staircase from the 2nd level up to the Loft. The room was clean and quaint. The beds were comfortable. Loved the breakfast... Very good experience, at a good price. Coming from Asia, where many hotel rooms are more expensive but much smaller, the Loft is a luxury and a lovely vacation place. Our Air conditioner stopped on 1 night and upon calling the emergency number pinned on the refrigerator, managed to get the owner Karen to check the fuse, and she helped us get the AC back on again.

Room Tip: The Loft is on the 3rd floor, so if you have quite a big luggage, you may want to get the rooms on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

This is a lovely B&B in a charming large house with wrap-around porches, large rooms and bathrooms, and private verandas. It is up the gorge from the craziness of the falls area, in a charming district. Carol, the manager, is helpful and kind, but you need to catch her when you check in or at breakfast, since she isn't on-site at other times. We did get spoiled with our other B&B experiences and missed some extra touches like cookies in the afternoon, varied breakfast fare, etc. Although breakfast was good here, it was the same french toast dish each day, and no granola, eggs, meats, etc. Also--the showers in the claw tub bathtubs were awkward, almost dangerous.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Met two friends that were coming in from the midwest on their way to Toronto. Easily fit three into the Blue Room. Main bed was terribly hard. Lovely deck off our room and first floor seating areas. Not much more than a continental breakfast. Woman that was making the beds met us and couldn't help us with anything local as she was from NOTL. Agree with others that could use more local information and help with dinner and attraction reservations. Bus is very convenient. Happened to be there the Wolenda day when buses stopped running. Took a cab from south end of the falls area to Inn for under $9. Large front porch with NO ROCKING CHAIRS? Just padded chairs and round tables. NIce place and would go back - just with different expectation.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chestnut Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chestnut Inn

Address: 4983 River Road | At Bampfield Street, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2E 3G6, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chestnut Inn 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Chestnut Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chestnut Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.