We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Moon Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Moon Motel to your Saves list
Blue Moon Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   8445 Lundy's Lane | At Kalar Road, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2H 1H5, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 136 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Oakville, ON
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Great place. Clean and friendly. Had two rooms with adjoining kitchenette. BBQ area clean with good BBQ's. Owners were friendly and helpful. Parking area was clean and safe. Heated pool was clean. We'll be back!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    98
    19
    9
    9
See reviews for
107
68
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
506 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

What a little gem of a Motel, great value for money with clean well equiped rooms and Doris and Ron are great hosts and really make you feel welcome. I came for 1 night and stayed 4 I was so impressed with the whole experience. Great swimming pool and barbecue area and also included in the great price is a continental breakfast that I found excellent. Another bonus is over 100 TV channels and free telephone calls anywhere in USA and Canada. Although it is at the far end of Lundys Lane from town (I found this a bonus as nice a quiet) there is public transport outside the motel to take you downtown to the Falls. If I am in the area again there is only once place I will be staying in Niagra Falls.

Room Tip: Doris will willingly show you the rooms so you can decide if it suits you
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We appreciated the outside picnic tables and grills, friendly helpful front desk and the cleanliness of the rooms. The rooms are small and older decor but so clean and well maintained. We were delighted with the rooms and overall experience. We were sightseeing most of the day and glad not to spend a lot on a room. The wego bus only stopped every hour as we were visiting during the off season but as we had a car, this wasn't a problem.

Room Tip: The adjoining suites worked well for 2 couples and really quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueMoonNiagaraFalls, Owner at Blue Moon Motel, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Always a pleasure to hear from new friends, hope to see you again soon. Have a great Winter.
Doris and Ron Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Rooms were clean, well kept flowers and plants softened the highway location. Staff very friendly and helpful. Pool was clean and perfect temperature for afternon swim. Away from the honky tonk of the Falls, and staff recommended an inexpoensive place to park and walk to the Falls.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Based on reviews and photos here and booking. com, I thought this was no brainer and have reserved a 1 bedroom family unit for couple of nights. Our unit was not ready when we've arrived at 11am, so we've decided to just take the keys and enjoy this day at the falls arriving back at this motel very late evening. At that evening is when we actually unpacked and seen the actual rooms, as well as the back ( living area ) of that Motel. It is cramped - photos were done I think with a wide angle lens to provide a illusion of an extra space. BBQ area is very small and next to the active driveway - I did not see anyone using BBQ during our stay. Pool was OK and clean also swings next to it were a good size and used by patrons kids.

Up the stairs ... We've went towards our 1bdr Family Unit ( #18 ) ... I guess there are few of those "family units" in that Motel and they are located mainly between 2 buildings ( Office building and Motel Rooms building ) with park type table benches placed at those connections. Upon our arrival those tables had beer cans and ashtrays full of butts. Not a welcoming site but we figured maybe this is not something thats usual.

1 Bdr Unit had 2 rooms living room with a large queen bed, sofa, table TV and kitchen area, with second room having 2 queen size beds a "AC". Both rooms had 2 large windows ( that open ) to that table benches area with those tables being just 2-3 feet away from our windows.

Rooms were dated - pics you see are probably when this place opened up, but again no biggie we were there to get some sleep.

Problem#1.
AC was not working so we had windows bit open. At early AM we were awaken by people at the table smoking and coughing. We got plainly smoked out by the amount of smoke coming to our rooms - I guess it was a blessing that AC did not work...

Problem#2.
Our full day was used at the Falls. Upon our return we've noticed that our rooms were adjusted - with most emphasis / concentration being on our luggage and personal belongings. ( looked like it was ransacked ). We had all valuables in our car, with just clothing in our rooms, so I guess that is why nothing was stolen. I've contacted the owner immediately, who was shocked and in disbelieve, and asked her not to allow for our room to be cleaned anymore for duration of our stay.

Problem#3.
That same evening it is a 11pm now, there are still some guests that are sitting and chatting with a beer and a smoke in normal tone of voices ( but still chatting ) at those tables. It was so disturbing that I had to ask them to stop, so we can rest as well as at some point have some fresher air. We are all non-smokers and what maybe bearable for my lungs it is NOT for my kids, especially when units are labeled as "Family".

Problem#4.
As per our request we no longer have "cleaning service", but now we've noticed little roaches ( now we kind of know why there was this nasty smell when we've moved in initially). Large garbage cans seem to be full to the max and not being emptied daily are located downstairs right in this area ( so units downstairs may have a larger problem ).

Other places in the area had no vacancy, and rest of our reservations were in Toronto and other areas so we kind of rough it till check out day.

Owner is really nice and helpful - there are lots of brochures in office for attractions in Niagara Falls. This place is about 15min drive from actual falls BUT you are not being charged for parking as you would at some of the hotels in center of Niagara Falls.

Breakfast here is included but very basic. Breakfast area although normal size on photos - is very cramped and requires you to take your food to either to your room or to one of those benches upstairs or downstairs (which I guess adds to roach problem?).

That particular location of Niagara Falls outskirts where this hotel is located is full of other Motels / Hotels. Factory Outlet Mall also in the area. Just look at Google Maps.

I think as long as smoking and 24hr drinking / eating is allowed at those benches if you must select room away from those "Family" apts.

I hope the very nice owner at minimum either removes the benches or places non-smoking / no beer / no alcohol signs at hose family unit areas.

Me and family - we'll be looking elsewhere when back in this area.

Room Tip: Select room away from "Family" units. DO NOT select Family units if you traveling with ki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueMoonNiagaraFalls, Owner at Blue Moon Motel, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
We are so sorry to read that you were dissappointed with your accommodations. It is unfortunate that all your negative comments could have been dealt with while you were here. The airconditions in both rooms work efficiently, when they are turned on. As for your luggage being moved, probably so the beds can be remade, we have no interest in stealing peoples valuables, this is not how we make business. We are a reputable family run operation since 1992 and we take pride with our property. We try to accommodate all customers. You stayed with us for 2 nights and nothing was mentioned to the management about 'smoke', 'aircondition', 'noise', 'cocroaches (which we have never seen here - wish you told us so we can take it and show it to our Pest control company'!! )wish you had told us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

A lovely family owned motel, very clean rooms, very comfortable beds, the owners always updating the rooms and the motel. excellent continental breakfast.
We loved the pool area, picnic area and especially the availability of a BBQ.. that saved us a lot of money in terms of food when visiting.
The owners are very helpful and very informative, Doris (the owner) takes her time to explain all the available attractions in and around the city, she even explained to us the cheapest parking spots close to the falls..
This would be my 3rd time going to the Blue moon Motel. and planning on going there next year as well..
Many thanks to the owners and to all the workers there..

Room Tip: The rooms with a kitchen are most convenient for a family, great savings on food expenses. Make sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Based on the positive reviews we chose the Blue Moon Hotel to celebrate our anniversary in Niagara Falls. We were not disappointed! The Blue Moon is a great choice for couples on a budget or who just want to get away for a night or 2. Our room was basic but clean and perfect for our overnight stay. We loved the Jacuzzi tub in our room and the heated pool was a nice touch. We went car free for the weekend and our hosts were terrific in helping us figure out how to get around and see the sights.

If you are looking for classic Niagara Falls this is the place!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
3.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Niagara Falls, ON
3.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites By the Falls
Days Inn & Suites By the Falls
#28 of 136 in Niagara Falls
4.0 of 5 stars 1,326 reviews
2.8 mi away
DoubleTree Fallsview Resort & Spa by Hilton - Niagara Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel By The Falls
3.0 mi away
Marriott Niagara Falls Fallsview Hotel & Spa
2.9 mi away
Rodeway Inn Fallsview
Rodeway Inn Fallsview
#17 of 136 in Niagara Falls
4.0 of 5 stars 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Moon Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Moon Motel

Address: 8445 Lundy's Lane | At Kalar Road, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2H 1H5, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Niagara Falls
#10 Romantic Hotel in Niagara Falls
#16 Family Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Blue Moon Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Blue Moon Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Moon Hotel Niagara Falls
Blue Moon Niagara Falls

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Moon Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.