We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You Are Not Just Another Guest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cartland Estate Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Niagara Falls
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cartland Estate Bed & Breakfast
4001 Weaver Rd, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2E 6S6, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 66 Niagara Falls B&B and Inns
Laureldale, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“You Are Not Just Another Guest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Whether you are interested in staying in the Niagara Falls area to do some sight seeing or just for a relaxing get away, this is the place to stay!

At the Cartland Estate B&B you are not just another guest. Gary & Dianne are so personable and goodhearted. Although my wife and I and our friends went to Niagara Falls to sight see, our time at the house was as much a part of our great memories as the attractions.

You could not ask for a better place to stay, it was comfortable in every way, from enjoyable conversations with our hosts to sharing info (when asked) about things that tourists would miss
which all made us feel like we were visiting out of town friends, to the large well furnished rooms/areas that they provide and care for.

When we reminisce about our trip we feel very blessed to have chosen Cartland Estates. We plan on going back to Niagara Falls and look forward to staying with Gary & Dianne again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    2
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
28
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, Rhode Island
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We were always hesitant to stay at a B&B not knowing what to expect. It turns out it was one of our most delightful vacations. Dianne and Gary are extremely wonderful hosts. It feels like you have known them for a very long time, they are so friendly and warm hearted and very interesting. The home is absolutely beautiful, one can tell that a great deal of thought and care went into building this home. You must look at the pictures of this awesome home to really tell what it is like there are not enough good words to explain it. I have never stayed at any hotel or facitlity that could be any more comfortable or clean. It is kept impeccably clean and every detail has been thought of. The rooms are all decorated so beautifully and one feels right at home instantly. Privacy is no problem as the rooms are situated very nicely some with balconies and some with access to a breathtaking patio. The dinning room and kitchen area are enormous and are decorated in very good taste as is the rest of the home. We arrived on the wrong day and I felt very badly but no problem for Dianne and Gary even though they had been gone for the day and not really expecting us they were so cordial and kind. Actually it worked out good for us as we got to spent some fine wine time with Gary as poor Diane prepared our room for us. The breakfast were supurb, wonderfully cooked for us by Gary and served in a massive dining room and presented as beautifully as a gourmet chef would. They have two delightful dogs who are very well behaved. I would be remiss if I did not mention our beautiful shower it was so massive, a walk in room. The towels were extremely soft, and the bed was so comfortable, no trouble sleeping here. I would recommend this B&B to everyone, I can't wait to return.

Room Tip: All the rooms are equally beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Gary& Diane will take great care of you. We enjoyed our stay there wery much!

I highly recommend this as a place to stay if you need one around Niagara falls. The rooms are spacious and beds comfortable. The breakfast is very good and the relaxing evening outside on the patio having that last coffee before bed was amazing, listening to the sounds of the nature around.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island NY
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

I love B&Bs because of the (usually) personalized experience one gets in an often unfamiliar area. My stay at CE was wonderful from many perspectives:
1. Hosts: Gary& Diane are wonderfully warm and genuinely interested in welcoming you to their home and making you feel at home without smothering. Gary's breakfasts over the 3 days we were there were filling and delicious -- a perfect start to our activity-filled days
2. Accomodations: The home itself is huge, yet only has 4 (gigantic!) rooms, so you never feel closed in, crowded or constrained. Each room lets out to either a balcony or a patio area, so even if you didn't wan't to stay in the room, and you didn't feel up to being in the public rooms, you can still get out and just "be." If you do want to sit in the public rooms, they also are tremendous and airy. Although my family of 5 adults did not hang out in the game room, for those so inclined, there is a large flat screen TV (also in every room), pool table, communcal couches, etc.
3. Grounds: Set back off the main road on acres of private property, you feel like you are away from it all, yet...
4. Convenience: Just 10 minutes from the Falls themselves and very close to local eateries and main thorougfares, you can get anywhere quickly including Buffalo NY (although you will have to deal with bridge traffic which can be somewhat daunting).

Gary & Diane share their home with 2 very friendly Viszlas (Pointer-like dogs) so you've got to like pets to feel comfortable here (we all did, no worries). Although they close in the winter months (not many vacationers in the deep freeze!) I would expect that a stay during the spring or fall would be even nicer than the summer because of the natural terrain/flora. We happened to hit a particularly hot stretch of weather while we were there, but it was always cool in the house (and out on the patio in the morning & evenings) so nobody suffered!

Room Tip: All rooms are equally large and comfortable with their own baths and gigantic walk-in showers
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

This was our first time staying at a B & B and I can still hardly believe we stumbled upon this gorgeous little country paradise. Some small part of me would like to keep it secret. However, that would be very selfish! Instead I will try to share with you the experiences we had during our stay and give you an idea of what Gary and Dianne's hospitality is like.

This recently built country-side mansion is a scenic 10 minute drive from the Falls.
One of the first things you will notice when driving up to the home is the greenery and nicely done landscaping. You get a feeling of openness and privacy from the tall tree's overlooking the grand entrance.

Inside you will find modern finishes and very tastefully done interior furnishings. The common area is very welcoming and backs out to a patio.

Our room was very spacious and came fully equipped with amenities such as: A/C, fireplace, large screen LCD, iron, large closet, loveseat and coffee table, small dining table, walk-in Shower, and an opening to the private balcony.

It was surreal watching the fireflies from the balcony at night while enjoying the home-made red wine that Gary made for us.

The service and hospitality were excellent. We were warmly greeted at our arrival by Dianne and Gary. Dianne gave us a tour of the house and the amenities and made us very comfortable. Gary asked about our food preferences and ended up cooking us the most delicious breakfast each morning. They were available for any questions and helped us with directions to a couple of the wineries in Niagara on the Lake.

As our first time B & B experience, we are now completely spoiled and biased and we will always choose Cartland Estates as our destination whenever we are in town.

-Attila

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gsw2006
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We were hoping to find a nice place to stay when we visited Niagara Falls this summer. Having come across Cartland Estate on the internet, we were immediately interested in lodging there after noting their very reasonable pricing, skimming the amenities and seeing the pictures of the property. But pictures alone cannot do this B&B justice, because neither the serene country setting where the home is located, nor the breathtaking beauty and graceful elegance of the spacious home is what makes it exceptional.

When entering the home, we couldn’t help but be blown away by its exquisitely designed and perfectly adorned décor. The spacious atrium, which lies between Gary and Dianne’s private space and the B&B’s guest rooms is just beautiful and contains a waterfall, fireplace, and plenty of seating and natural light.

Have you seen pictures of the rooms?!? They look absolutely beautiful, and they are. Not only was everything immaculately spotless and seemed brand new, but Dianne and Gary have gone above and beyond what many would consider reasonable to make the accommodations as perfect as one could expect. We were so warmed by (and often tickled by) their thoughtful attention to details.

Our guest room was very spacious and although it was pristinely beautiful, it was also comfortable and intimately homely. It was more like a honeymoon suite than a room at a B&B. There was a large window on the wall near the head of the bed and we woke every morning to the chirping of birds; and at night, you can hear Niagara Falls from the balcony! The walk-in shower was ultra-convenient and impeccably flawless, and every toiletry was provided for our comfort. It was just far more than we expected.

We enjoyed some games of pool downstairs, where we were graciously welcomed to utilize the big screen TV, stereo, complimentary wi-fi, and anything else that we wanted to.

Our stay (and our estimation of this B&B) would have been “excellent” based on the location, the beauty and cleanliness of the home, the breakfasts, and its amenities alone, but what made it EXCEPTIONAL was the warm, relaxed and heartfelt hospitality that Dianne and Gary showed us.

We have stayed at other B&Bs, but have never had quite the experience that we had with Dianne and Gary. Their gracious hospitality was second-to-none, and it was evident that there was no special effort to make it so. They were so easy-going, unpretentious, generous with us, and sincerely caring about us and our vacation. Although we just met them a few weeks ago now, it feels like we have known them for a long time.

We were treated to delicious breakfasts each morning by Dianne and Gary (who is a wonderful cook), and to informative and inspiring conversations, and to laughs as we enjoyed the meals. They are really so thoughtful. Not only did they prepare tasty healthy meals for us, they also inquired about what each individual guest liked and catered perfectly to every desire. Shortly after our arrival, they learned that Sharen is a vegetarian, and they didn’t hesitate to adjust the meals for her diet, and thoughtfully prepared smaller portions because she wanted to eat lightly. With the delicious omelettes, French toast, fresh fruit, and other foods, we were thoroughly satisfied, but Dianne so thoughtfully and graciously shared additional vegetarian items for Sharen to eat.

Gary and Dianne were also knowledgeable about the area and shared a lot of good information about Niagara Falls with us (e.g., the best attractions and eateries, things they enjoy, how to get around town, the best places to park), and they provided maps and pamphlets to us.

Another pretty incredible thing about Cartland Estate B&B is that we enjoyed the serenity of the country every morning and evening, but were only a few minutes/miles/kilometers from Niagara Falls and all of its amenities. It was an easy drive and in a matter of minutes of leaving the house, we were amidst the attractions and activities of the Falls.

Our stay at Cartland Estates was like the cherry on top of an amazing vacation. Niagara Falls was simply spectacular. It was everything we hoped it would be. Our time at Cartland Estates was far more than we expected. Not merely because of its beauty and serene location, but because of the hosts.

Dianne and Gary are in the right business. They are so thoughtful, personable, genuinely warm, and are fun to be around. We were afforded all of the privacy we wanted the duration of our stay, but we migrated to where Dianne and Gary were at times because we felt very welcome to. We spent hours enjoying each other’s company. Together, we shared so many laughs, stories, thoughts, and even some difficult life experiences. Gary and Dianne are good-hearted, kind, gracious individuals, and their hospitality is just over-the-top, appropriately wonderful.

We have stayed at other B&B’s but at Cartland Estate, we simply couldn’t have asked for more. Nor for better. Not for better surroundings. Not for a nicer location in proximity to the Falls. And we simply couldn’t have dreamed up better hosts or a better home to stay in.

They made us feel like family, and we can’t help but hope to see them again. Should we visit the area again, there is no doubt that we will be staying here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, PA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

This was the first bed and breakfast that my girlfriend and I have stayed at together, but, that being said, our stay here will be a hard one to top. The location is great, especially if you are looking to stay in a quiet and gorgeous rural setting and still be a short distance from the falls and attractions in Niagara (which were only about ten minutes away via a scenic ride on the parkway). Our room was very comfortable and tastefully decorated, and we really enjoyed walking the grounds and taking in the scenery of the surrounding farmland, ponds, and wildflowers. But the best part, by far, was the friendliness and hospitality of our wonderful hosts. Gary and Dianne went above and beyond what we expected, helping us find parking by the falls, recommending places to eat and interesting activities in the area, and making sure we had the best time there possible. You can’t really put a rating on simple friendliness or good conversation over breakfast, but our hosts both met and exceeded our expectations. Plus, Gary is one heck of a good cook. Can’t recommend this place enough.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cartland Estate Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cartland Estate Bed & Breakfast

Address: 4001 Weaver Rd, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2E 6S6, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named one of the Top 10 Best Bed & Breakfast in Canada 2012 from Bed & Breakfast.Cartland Estate is a New Unique Country Estate nestled on 10 acres of seclusion, yet only minutes from the Mighty Niagara, Attractions and Casinos. We are 1 km from Legend's on the Niagara Golf Course and 2 km from the Scenic Niagara Parkway where one can walk, cycle, picnic along the trail. We offer very relaxing spacious rooms and a beautiful setting. So Come experience Niagara and Cartland Estate. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cartland Estate Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Cartland Estate Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list