We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I recommend!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls

Save Saved
You added Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6546 Fallsview Blvd, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3W2, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 137 Hotels in Niagara Falls
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I recommend!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Went for the falls. Amazing view from the room that unlike the description on the website was partially renovated but nothing major to report. No fridge in room (+$10/day charge if wanted). Great location for visiting the falls. We even stayed an extra night. We will come back.

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,833 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    498
    579
    324
    212
    220
See reviews for
427
983
27
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (599)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I just got back from 5 days at rhe Oakes hotel in Canada. I book the hotel, and then looked at the reviews. I admit after reading the reviews I started getting nervous. I must say I am not sure what hotel they stayed at, but I had a marvelous experience. The staff was very courteous. They were helpfull with the area, the room was great, clean, and the view from the falls view room was great.
I do recommend asking for as high a room as possible. We were on the 19th floor, and it was fantastic.

Room Tip: If you are going to Niagara Fall, you want a falls view room. The higher the better. The views are g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicole g, Front Office Manager at Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Leonard,

Thank you for staying with us, we appreciate your wonderful review. We hope that others will find your comments helpful as well. We do hope to see you again, until then take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This hotel is good value for money. Worth booking a fallsview room. Cheaper than the big chain hotels with the same great views, if not better . Clean and comfortable rooms. It is within walking distance to all the falls attractions. Would highly recommend.

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicole g, Front Office Manager at Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Stephanie,

We thank you for taking the time to write a great review about your recent stay. We are very close to the falls and most of the attractions as you stated. the view from our rooms is superior to may of the others in the area. I hope to welcome you and your family back again one day!

Thank you
Nicole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

For a fantastic view of the Canadian and American falls from your room this is the place. The Premier rooms get you the best views of both falls. Including the night light show.The room was very comfortable with a jaccusi and the hotel is ideally located to walk to the Canadian falls overlooks and next to a casino which has a great 24 hour diner(The Famous).

Room Tip: Pay the higher price to score a premier room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicole g, Front Office Manager at Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Hans,

Your traveller tips are great, we offer many great premier rooms with amazing views to both the canadian and american falls. A birds eye view for the fireworks and illumination of the falls as well. We enjoy your positive feedback and hope to have you and your family and firends return again.

Thank you
Nicole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel exceeded my expectations. We had a falls view room and it was amazing! We got to see the fireworks from the comfort of our own room. If you do not get a falls view room, there is a great view of it on the 14th floor on the observatory floor. The location was great, too. very easy to find and lots of fun things to do in walking distance. The pool area is a little old looking, but still nice. Overall, it is a GREAT hotel.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicole g, Front Office Manager at Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you for your review of The Oakes Hotel,

We are delighted that you had a wonderful stay and received such great service. We truly appreciate your comments and concerns and feedback. We hope that others will find this information helpful as well when chosing our hotel for there next getaway. Thank you again

Nicole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We enjoyed our stay at the Oakes. Our room was spacious, clean and quiet. We could see both falls clearly with no obstructions. The hotel is near the incline so when your are tired at the end of the day you don't have to walk up that big hill. Then enjoy the fireworks and colorful falls from your front row seat. The last time we were in Niagara we stayed at the Hilton but their "falls view" had a big ugly flashing casino obstructing the beautiful view. We liked the Oakes view so much better.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicole g, Front Office Manager at Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you for your recent review, we are very pleased that your stay was enjoyable and comfortable. We do have a fantastic view to both of the falls. We hope that you will join us again in the future on your next getaway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice hotel only -has seen better days but room clean and sufficient for golf, gambling and viewing the Falls. Room faced the Falls which was great. Had no problem with staff but a very busy hotel with foreign visitors and their bus tours. DO NOT TAKE THE GREEN BREAKFAST TICKET TO APPLEBEES-Very bad and inedible food. Staff ignore you even when you are not with a bus tour. Even the coffee cups were smaller on the green ticket side - first scrambled eggs were rubbery and dry, I asked for a second plate and my request was met with disdain and was given a similar plate just warmer. I will not go into the bacon, sausage and potatoes - not enough adjectives for bad!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for Falls room -not sure of price
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicole g, Front Office Manager at Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you for review,

We are happy that your hotel accomadations and staff were great , i will forward along the concerns for your breakfast to the managment of Applebee's so that we may work on our service and better food quality. We hope that you will join us again in the future

Thank you
Nicole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls

Address: 6546 Fallsview Blvd, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3W2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 137 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakes Hotel Overlooking Falls
Oakes Hotel Niagara Falls

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.