We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tourist Trap!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls

Save Saved
You added Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6546 Fallsview Blvd, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3W2, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #48 of 138 hotels in Niagara Falls
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Tourist Trap!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This hotel is not the price you paid for! It is really expensive and the overall price-quality is really poor. For that price you expect a better service than this. First of all the hotel doesn't advertise that you have to paid $20.00 for the parking that is not included. you better off park your car at the casino for 5 dollars. The only good thing about this hotel (that's why I gave 2 stars otherwise would be zero) is the great view from the room. If you really want to hurt yourself and book a room with them, book the room overlooking the falls. Also breakfast was not included.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,748 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    480
    554
    306
    201
    207
See reviews for
402
942
26
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (567)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bunker Hill, West Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We have stayed at this hotel on many occasions. When you get one of their packaged deals, it is well worth your money.

We had always wanted to stay in one of their "Sky Suites" which are promoted as a 2 level suite with this great view of the falls and the prices for these suites are considerably higher than the other rooms. Well we made the plunge on this trip and stayed in one of the Sky Suites. Very disappointing to say the least. Very narrow rooms on 2 levels with falls view from only one level. This suite was on the 14th floor and did NOT have a very good view. We have stayed in the regular king suite on a higher floor and had a much better view.

In summary, we still love this hotel for it's view of the falls and we will return for additional stays. Our advice is to NOT waste your money on the "Sky Suites" and just try to make sure you have a suite for the highest floor possible to get the best views!!

Room Tip: If you want a view of the falls, get the highest room possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Had occasion to stay in NF recently and stayed at this property. VERY nice location overlooking the actual falls not the city like many places. Room was large and well appointed, clean with the usual amenities. Price was in line with what we rec'd, no argument there. Would certainly stay again next time down that way.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Wonderful hotel.
Spent the weekend for my husband and I's 1 year anniversary.

The staff was amazing right from the time we entered the building. We stay in one of their "suites" as I call it. Bi-level room with an great view and the feel of home.
The first night, I needed extra pillows (I thought about building a fort on the GIANT bed), and within 3 minutes of calling down, they were at my door, no questions asked ( I had asked for 6 :) ).

When we returned from our day out at the falls, the housekeeping staff had cleaned our room to perfection and left beautiful swans for us in the bathroom :)

Our complementary breakfast vouchers just made the whole trip that much better.

A wonderful hotel for a wonderful weekend.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshall, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We were given a price and when we arrived the price was double. We also were supposed to get a fall view and we had a parking lot view. The TV and the phone did not work, was told they would send someone up to fix them, they never showed up. The room smelled and was dirty and the beds were hard. I believe sleeping on the floor would have been better, if they did not smell. The hotel is only close to the mouth of the falls and nothing else. The internet that I HAD TO PAY FOR DID NOT WORK. The staff was not helpful on answering any questions, they act like it was not their job to give direction they only checked you in a room. We usually stay the Sheraton or the AAShram hotel, but they were sold out on such a short notice. For the price stay somewhere else!

Room Tip: Have your pricing of the Hotel in writing and if booking from the web, also call hotel to get your q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicole g, Front Office Manager at Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Thank you for sharing your impression of our hotel thru trip advisors website. We thank you for your feedback, as you know we believe it is only through listening carefully to the crisicism and comments and suggestions of our customers we will be able to achieve the constant improvemnet ,guest satifaction and the quality of service that we want. All of your comments wiill be carefully analyzed so that we may take the appropriate corrective action. We hope to welcome you back to the Oakes hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roslyn, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Nice hotel. Friendly staff. Very close to Horseshoe Fall s. Right out back door was Niagara TramRail, Took you right down to Table Rock . Do yourself a favor and get the all day pass for Tramcar. think it was 6 Dollars .Where round trip was 5. spend the extra dollar.Wego Bus service was right there. All 4 bus routes. They were doing remodeling while we were there so 4/5 rating. Maybe do that during winter months when not as much tourist. Fireworks over fall could be seen right out the window (Wednesday Night)We stayed midweek because much cheaper rates.

Room Tip: We were on the 11th Floor and could hear the roar of the Falls. Windows don't open. And I would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgeway, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We felt like royalty - we had a room with a falls view, we did the spa experience, pool, hot tubs - great staff - restaurant was very good- would love to do it again - actually the only downside - and not really a bad thing, it was valet parking & we were charged for it and there was no other parking facility with no charge.

Room Tip: can't answer - it was all teriffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls

Address: 6546 Fallsview Blvd, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3W2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Casino Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakes Hotel Overlooking Falls
Oakes Hotel Niagara Falls

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.