We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oakes Hotel in Niagara Falls” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls to your Saves list
Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6546 Fallsview Blvd, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3W2, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 137 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Guelph, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Oakes Hotel in Niagara Falls”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

This is fantastic value for the money. The meals are great, with singing waiters at dinner and a shuttle to and from the restaurant. The wineries are near to Niagara on the Lake, which is wonderful to walk around. Of course, one can never tire of the fabulous view of the Falls!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,051 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    543
    659
    367
    240
    242
See reviews for
476
1,100
30
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (690)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Have stayed many times before in Niagara ,at the Marriott ,Hilton and Radisson,but never have i had such a good deal as the one i received from Travelzoo last week.
Our room had the most perfect view of the Falls and beyond.The staff were very efficient with our reservation,and accommodating to our special requests.The hotel is slightly older than the above mentioned,bit its still well cared for,and the beds were comfortable,and the wi-fi worked perfectly.
Our meal at Remingtons of which there were multiple choices ,was delicious,My prime rib melted in my mouth,and everything was so well presented.Plus the shuttle was free from the hotel and back.
Applebees breakfast was also very good.We would certainly return to this hotel

Room Tip: In winter all rooms have a view ,but above 8 are the best in summer ,when the trees are out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wildomar, California
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I just couldn't stop looking out my window. The view of the falls is AMAZING. I looked at it each morning - beautiful. I looked at it during the day - gorgeous. I looked at it at night - WOW! Absolutely the best view of the falls - BOTH sets! The room was spacious, and the bed was super comfortable. WELL WORTH the cost of the room.

Room Tip: Don't get a room too high up. Be SURE you get a fallsview room!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We received a package through a Travelzoo notification with so many goodies thrown in that we couldn't say no (2 breakfasts at Applebees, 1 dinner at Remington's with a shuttle to and from, $100 casino credits at Seneca casino across the border, multiple wine tasting tours, free in-room WiFi and more!). We paid a nominal upgrade fee to get 2 rooms side-by-side on the 10th floor where we could actually see the falls from our room, but it was so worth it. The hotel itself is a little run down, and at one point 2 of the 3 elevators were out of service, but overall it was pretty decent for what it was, and the location was great - walking distance to the falls and the casino. Overall a great value for the money, and I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: All of the rooms "face the falls" at The Oakes, but on the lower floors, you'll probab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I bought a groupon deal which included dinner at Remington's. The dinner was great. The portions were huge and the quality of steak was good for what we paid.
The hotel on the other hand was something out of the 80's. It still had the old style thermostat, which either made the temperature in the room too hot, or too cold. The bed( which was still coil springs) was very uncomfortable and noisy.
The only thing good about this hotel was the view, we didn't have to leave our hotel room for a view of the fireworks at night.
Even though I bought the deal for approx $120.00, after taxes and parking I ended up paying as much as I would if I had stayed at a newer hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toledo, oh
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

It really is overlooking the Falls! We had a beautiful view and great service. Check in and out was speedy. It only takes 5-10 min to walk to the Falls, and it's easy to take your car out of the lot if you want to drive to wineries! The bellman we had especially helpful in figuring out where to go and what to do in Niagara Falls too!

Room Tip: Get a Falls side room, and be as high up as possible for the best Falls view. We were on the 7th fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

You really couldn't get a better view of the falls. I lived in this area years ago so it was nice to visit and see the changes. The falls are timeless and worth seeing over and over. And Clifton Hill is always a good laugh. There is a lot to do and see so give yourself time to explore.
Cheers

Room Tip: I upgraded my room to a king jacuzzi suite. It was a corner room on the 18th floor, I would highly r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls

Address: 6546 Fallsview Blvd, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3W2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 137 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls 3*
Number of rooms: 167
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakes Hotel Overlooking Falls
Oakes Hotel Niagara Falls

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.