We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls

Save Saved
You added Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6546 Fallsview Blvd, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3W2, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #47 of 139 hotels in Niagara Falls
Vaughan, Canada
1 review
“Great stay....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

As usual, our yearly trip to Niagara Falls was great and it all started with the great staff/stay at the Oakes Hotel....We have been going there for the last 3 yrs and are always very satisfied on how clean and odor free the rooms and hotel are always. Will definitely go again without hesitation...Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,759 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    488
    564
    303
    201
    203
See reviews for
390
933
26
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (553)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Simcoe, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Paid an extra 30 dollars and landed on the 20th floor with a corner room and incredible view. Room was excellent as was the meal at Remington's and Appleby's. Either the complaints here are from people who are incredibly fussy or were not willing to pay a bit for the upgrade. I have a feeling the lower floors and the annex are not as nice as the room we were in but the reality is you get what you pay for and for what we paid we were very happy.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the higher rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I booked 2 rooms for 2 nights for $199 each through TeamBuy.
I upgraded one of the rooms for a higher floor but only got 2 floors higher for $30/day more.
Checking in was fairly quick, and they made reservations for us at Remington's right away.
The room we had on the 8th floor was close to the elevators and you could hear all the noises from the hallway. You could also hear the toilet flushing in other rooms as well. The view was amazing though. The room size was as expected with 2 queen beds.
The 14th floor observation lounge is in fact sofas placed along the hallway in little nooks overlooking the falls. Parking is outdoor and we returned to the hotel around 9:30-10pm both nights and the parking lot was full, so we had to park on the ramp leading to the parking lot. Applebee's is not really connected to the hotel, you still have to walk outside.
Everything else was as described on the teambuy.
The hotel is a little bit run-down, but did get clean towels and new toiletries after the first night. TV does not offer many channels and image quality was bad but we did not go for the hotel or the tv. The hotel is not that close to Clifton Hill, the main tourist area, but it is very close to the falls. We did not walk down to the falls, but it did seem very close.
Overall, I would say it is not a bad hotel, just a litte bit worn out.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed here over the Xmas period and had a 2 bedroom premium view suite. The best thing about the hotel is the view, Its amazing. The rooms could do with some remodelling. The TV was an old style with a huge back (No LCD TV’s here). The staff was very friendly even though they originally gave us the wrong room but changed it straight away with no problems. There is a nice pool with a view of the car park. Also beware of the car park as it can get very icy and our windows were frozen with 1 inch of solid ice. The Applebee’s next door is really nice but a little pricey although we did expect that as its Niagara Falls. The Jacuzzi worked well in our room but should have overlooked the falls. All in all was an ok hotel and would go back

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We purchased a Vaunt package for about $129.00 that included a night at the Oakes, breakfast at Appleby's and dinner at Remingtons. There were many young families in the hotel and I think this is a good deal for younger families or couples. There is nothing really negative about the hotel it's just obviously very busy and well worn as are a number of places in the Falls due to the huge number of tourists. There are no microwaves or fridges in the rooms and the TV offers one of the most limited cable packages with only a couple specialty channels. Rooms are ok, beds comfortable and parking is an extra $15.00 per night. Service is good and you're close to all amenities. The rest of the package is what makes it worthwhile especially dinner at Remingtons which is off the hook!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Used shampoo bottles, tv did not work well, lack of amenities, and the shuttle that was advertised was only for the purposes of taking you to the restaurant, not the falls itself.

There was a fight in the room on our floor and no staff came to see what was happening.
The view was sketchy at best....please save yourself the heartache.

To add insult to injury because I booked through hotels.com, they claimed to be unable to help with the booking, since we had booked online....

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanticoke
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Booked direct with hotel using voucher from Travelzoo. Awesome deal! $139 for a Friday night stay. Included fabulous dinner at Remington's, breakfast at Applebee's,and $50 Seneca Casino credit. We upgraded for $30, and got a beautiful two room suite with jacuzzi tub. Our 19th corner suite gave us a perfect view of the fireworks at 9 pm.
We have stayed at most of the surrounding hotels, but this is by far the best!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls

Address: 6546 Fallsview Blvd, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3W2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 139 hotels in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakes Hotel Overlooking Falls
Oakes Hotel Niagara Falls

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.