We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay here!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls to your Saves list
Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6546 Fallsview Blvd, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3W2, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$99 Hotel Pacakge Deal
Ranked #44 of 137 Hotels in Niagara Falls
London, Canada
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Do not stay here!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

There was a group of 10 of us staying at the hotel celebrating 2 anniversaries and a birthday on the weekend of November 24th. At check in we were ignored for 15 minutes by 3 clerks with no customer service skills! The only good thing about the hotel rooms was the view...the bathrooms were a disaster! Dirty, tub wouldn't drain and water pressure was similar to that of a fire truck putting out a fire....ouch! The pool area was dirty, the water was freezing and the hot tub didn't have working jets....very gross! There were things floating around in the water!We purchased the Applebees family package which was a huge mistake. The service at Applebees was the worst I've seen! We had to chase the waitress down for service and even when she made eye contact with us she would keep on walking by us! Perhaps because we were part of a package, we weren't a priority for them....how dissapointing! The food was below average and customer service was non existent. Needless to say we will never come to this hotel again!

Room Tip: Choose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,982 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    527
    629
    360
    234
    232
See reviews for
455
1,066
28
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (661)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East York,Ontario
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

we purchased the romance package for our 33rd anniversary. we were on the 19th floor facing the falls "AMAZING" the room was nice and clean. the tv and channel selection is in dire need of an upgrade . the staff was kind and helpful .our package included breakfast at Applebees and dinner at Remingtons both were great .all in all we had a nice stay.

Room Tip: "If you want a great view of the falls get the upper floors"
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

I would recommend to all my friends and family to stay at the Oakes overlooking the falls hotel.
The room was clean and had a very excellent view of the falls. The staff was courteous and friendly. Checkout was easy and quick.
My fiancé and I enjoyed our night very much

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We got a promo offer online to stay 2 nights at The Oakes Overlooking the Falls and the description said stay was in a room overlooking the falls. We were checked in the 5th Floor which had a view of the falls but not a good one. All you see is a glimpse or shadow of the falls because trees covered the sight. The TV set is an old one which doesn't work properly. The furniture set and lamps are outdated, no outlets available to plug in and the heater is noisy, as well the smell is not pleasant. The towels are a little worn-out and there is no microwave. The package included free wifi but it was not easy to get connected. Calls through 1 800 number are charged. m

This is far cry from my expectations and I was really disappointed. I don't think I would like to stay there again.

Room Tip: If you book a room that says overlooking the falls, be sure to ask which floor because they might ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

Just got back from staying at the Oakes hotel in Niagara Falls for my 10 year annaversary, check in was good, and view from our room was amazing. Once in the room we turned on the heater and it made so much noise while running, used the toilet and flushed it made so much noise I woke up my wife during the night, I had to help my wife get into and out of the jacuzzi tub because of the horrible design of it, took a shower in the morning and half way threw it I had to stop because the water was not draining properly and was starting to leak out of the shower. Once I checked out I was waiting at the front desk for 5 mins while the staff was outside having a smoke break. Once I told her about the room problems she didn't care or apologies for it. I will never stay here again. I have stayed at many hotels in Niagara Falls and this has been the worst I will never go back there!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed here in july. This hotel had everything. The rooms were nice, the staff was friendly and the pool and location was great! You have to pay $10 for parking which is expected in NF. This is not a five star however a nice hotel for families. Views of the falls are nice.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State of Confusion
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

While we were situated on the 2nd floor, our view of the falls wasn't as lovely as it would have been on a higher floor. We asked to move to a higher floor the next day and the hotel was ready to accommodate us but we ended up just staying on the second floor. The hotel is definitely dated and could use an overall freshening up. The pool was fine, the hot tub was fine, the sauna...well, that was really small and a bit creepy looking. We lucked out with parking for the most part. I find most hotel linens to be suspect. The linens here were of no great surprise. The bed, however, was very comfortable.
When we checked in, the staff was wonderful and accommodating. Checking out, the gentleman who was there to answer our questions was brusque and not very pleasant. Thankfully, there was another lady there who could help us.
We had purchased a voucher through travelzoo and didn't plan on staying in our room for very long so it met our needs. Our stay included breakfast at Applebees, dinner at Remingtons, four wine tasting flights at different wineries and Seneca Casino credit. Overall, it was a wonderful package.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls

Address: 6546 Fallsview Blvd, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3W2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 137 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls 3*
Number of rooms: 167
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakes Hotel Overlooking Falls
Oakes Hotel Niagara Falls

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.