We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay here!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls to your Saves list
Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6546 Fallsview Blvd, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3W2, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$99 Room with Extras!
Ranked #40 of 135 Hotels in Niagara Falls
London, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Do not stay here!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

There was a group of 10 of us staying at the hotel celebrating 2 anniversaries and a birthday on the weekend of November 24th. At check in we were ignored for 15 minutes by 3 clerks with no customer service skills! The only good thing about the hotel rooms was the view...the bathrooms were a disaster! Dirty, tub wouldn't drain and water pressure was similar to that of a fire truck putting out a fire....ouch! The pool area was dirty, the water was freezing and the hot tub didn't have working jets....very gross! There were things floating around in the water!We purchased the Applebees family package which was a huge mistake. The service at Applebees was the worst I've seen! We had to chase the waitress down for service and even when she made eye contact with us she would keep on walking by us! Perhaps because we were part of a package, we weren't a priority for them....how dissapointing! The food was below average and customer service was non existent. Needless to say we will never come to this hotel again!

Room Tip: Choose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paula7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
East York,Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

we purchased the romance package for our 33rd anniversary. we were on the 19th floor facing the falls "AMAZING" the room was nice and clean. the tv and channel selection is in dire need of an upgrade . the staff was kind and helpful .our package included breakfast at Applebees and dinner at Remingtons both were great .all in all we had a nice stay.

Room Tip: "If you want a great view of the falls get the upper floors"
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I would recommend to all my friends and family to stay at the Oakes overlooking the falls hotel.
The room was clean and had a very excellent view of the falls. The staff was courteous and friendly. Checkout was easy and quick.
My fiancé and I enjoyed our night very much

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bepro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We got a promo offer online to stay 2 nights at The Oakes Overlooking the Falls and the description said stay was in a room overlooking the falls. We were checked in the 5th Floor which had a view of the falls but not a good one. All you see is a glimpse or shadow of the falls because trees covered the sight. The TV set is an old one which doesn't work properly. The furniture set and lamps are outdated, no outlets available to plug in and the heater is noisy, as well the smell is not pleasant. The towels are a little worn-out and there is no microwave. The package included free wifi but it was not easy to get connected. Calls through 1 800 number are charged. m

This is far cry from my expectations and I was really disappointed. I don't think I would like to stay there again.

Room Tip: If you book a room that says overlooking the falls, be sure to ask which floor because they might ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Melba621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Just got back from staying at the Oakes hotel in Niagara Falls for my 10 year annaversary, check in was good, and view from our room was amazing. Once in the room we turned on the heater and it made so much noise while running, used the toilet and flushed it made so much noise I woke up my wife during the night, I had to help my wife get into and out of the jacuzzi tub because of the horrible design of it, took a shower in the morning and half way threw it I had to stop because the water was not draining properly and was starting to leak out of the shower. Once I checked out I was waiting at the front desk for 5 mins while the staff was outside having a smoke break. Once I told her about the room problems she didn't care or apologies for it. I will never stay here again. I have stayed at many hotels in Niagara Falls and this has been the worst I will never go back there!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Macardaso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed here in july. This hotel had everything. The rooms were nice, the staff was friendly and the pool and location was great! You have to pay $10 for parking which is expected in NF. This is not a five star however a nice hotel for families. Views of the falls are nice.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State of Confusion
Level Contributor
73 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

While we were situated on the 2nd floor, our view of the falls wasn't as lovely as it would have been on a higher floor. We asked to move to a higher floor the next day and the hotel was ready to accommodate us but we ended up just staying on the second floor. The hotel is definitely dated and could use an overall freshening up. The pool was fine, the hot tub was fine, the sauna...well, that was really small and a bit creepy looking. We lucked out with parking for the most part. I find most hotel linens to be suspect. The linens here were of no great surprise. The bed, however, was very comfortable.
When we checked in, the staff was wonderful and accommodating. Checking out, the gentleman who was there to answer our questions was brusque and not very pleasant. Thankfully, there was another lady there who could help us.
We had purchased a voucher through travelzoo and didn't plan on staying in our room for very long so it met our needs. Our stay included breakfast at Applebees, dinner at Remingtons, four wine tasting flights at different wineries and Seneca Casino credit. Overall, it was a wonderful package.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OwlTrippin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.1 mi away
Marriott Niagara Falls Fallsview Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Fallsview
0.2 mi away
Hilton Niagara Falls/Fallsview Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree Fallsview Resort & Spa by Hilton - Niagara Falls
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Niagara Falls Fallsview Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Tower Hotel
The Tower Hotel
#18 of 135 in Niagara Falls
4.0 of 5 stars 744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls

Address: 6546 Fallsview Blvd, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3W2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 135 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls 3.5*
Number of rooms: 167
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakes Hotel Overlooking Falls
Oakes Hotel Niagara Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing