We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgraceful” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls to your Saves list
Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6546 Fallsview Blvd, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3W2, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$119 Getaway Package Deal
Ranked #46 of 137 Hotels in Niagara Falls
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Disgraceful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Just seen other reviews for this hotel and agree with them. Stayed 4 nights from Sept 1st. Room dark and drab. So were bedclothes and furniture which especially chairs and lampshades (which were also broken), were dirty. Carpet dirty and worn. Shower broken. Name spelt wrong on check in (despite making reservation online). Old dated small TV. No glasses for cold drinks only small flimsy plastic cups. Only powdered milk. Only small plastic sticks to stir drinks. They don't provide tea bags. Waited until late second day to get any coathangers despite 4 requests. Air con VERY noisy making it impossible to have on at night therefore sweated all night. Shower room very small making it awkward to get in. Windows in corridor cracked and carpets there dirty and worn. Spoke to duty manager on 1st morning but NOTHING was done.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,910 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    512
    603
    347
    225
    223
See reviews for
443
1,024
28
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (626)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

amazing views - paid extra to stay above level 15, well worth it, incredible. Rooms comfy, might be in need of a refresh, but with that view, who cares. Adjoining diner good, v packed at dinner, so popular! Had brekky there, good value. Hotel is well away from Clifton Hill tackiness and in a lovely part of town right above the welcome centre where you get your adventure pass and do the Niagaras Fury and Walk beneath the falls (former not really worth it, latter ecellent). Pass also included 48 hrs of local bus which was great to get to the Maid (great fun) and white water walk and around town, good idea.

Room Tip: pay the extra and stay up high, incredible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We checked in sept.26, so shocked to find the room so dirty and old and thefront desk staff so useless. This oakes hotel should undergo health inspection bec. It is so dirty and due for Demolition. Our room number is 629, I will not even use their bathroom and towels, we endedup checking in another hotel, we need to be refunded,they should stop giving those rooms to their guest. Mrs. Ng

Room Tip: I do not reccommend this hotel to anyone
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Recently booked a room with my daughter as a little getaway and to see the falls. Specified that we would like a "falls view" as opposed to city view and paid the extra amount. Upon check in I had asked/requested the highest floor available.....as a treat to my seven year old. Was given a 7th floor room as that was the highest we can get for our price.
Nice view of the parking lot and if you look real hard you can see the far corner mist! Asked about perhaps moving to a higher floor, "yes but there will be an additional $50 cost"! Overall the room was fine, looked a little bit worn. Never used the pool but the chlorine smell was strong. My daughter loved the glass elevator, I think that was the highlight of the hotel for her!
Bottom line if you want to "see" the falls then book a much higher floor.

Room Tip: As high up as possible if you want to see the falls. At least 12 or more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We arrived in the Falls on Monday with another couple. The staff was very accommodating and gave us neighboring rooms on the Falls side, however, we were only on the second floor. We had a view of the Falls but a better view of the parking lot. The price was reasonable but be prepared to pay $15 per night parking. It is at a great location just above the Welcome Center for the Falls and a short walk to a casino. They did offer a great package for 2 which included 2 breakfasts at Applebees (right next door), 2 dinners at a supper club (with shuttle),free WiFi for two nights, and a $50 voucher for a casino. The rooms were dated but seemed to be clean. The only problem was the extreme water pressure was more than the drain could take and ended up standing in about 5 inches of water when showering.

Room Tip: The higher you go, the better view of the Falls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I would never expect to get to a hotel that I paid $212 for and be so disappointed. The second floor had the dirties carpet, old walls with holes and out dated EVERYTHING. The water was turned off for my toilet, which I turned on, the ice machine was so old it rattled the whole floor (no sleep), 1 lamp worked out of 3 and finally, the shower water hit the tile and got on the floor more than on my body (even after trying to move the head). The service at the front desk was great but that is as good as it gets at Oaks Hotel Niagara Falls! The owner really needs to lower price or fix up the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyCrisp, Guest Relations Manager at Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
At this time I would like to thank you for expressing your concern about your stay with us.

It is our Number One Priority to provide impeccable guest service along with comfortable accommodations. With that objective in mind, I would like to sincerely apologize once again for the inconvenience you experienced during your last visit.
Please contact me directly to further discuss
ashley@overlookingthefalls.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

if you're going to visit Niagara don't scrimp on the hotel room - make sure that you take a room with direct views of the falls. Our room at Oakes had just that - simply breathtaking! Just one note to whoever designed the rooms - why do some of the falls view rooms have the beds on the wall opposite the view?

Room Tip: take a falls view room from floor 7 upwards
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls

Address: 6546 Fallsview Blvd, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3W2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 137 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls 3*
Number of rooms: 167
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakes Hotel Overlooking Falls
Oakes Hotel Niagara Falls

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.