We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls to your Saves list
Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6546 Fallsview Blvd, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3W2, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$99 Room with Extras!
Ranked #40 of 135 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Nanticoke
Level Contributor
90 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

Stayed one night with their getaway package. Booked a one room with jacuzzi on the 21st (top) floor. Thinking we would have an awesome view of the falls, I was disappointed with such a small window. So, DO NOT STAY ON THE TOP FLOOR!
Our package included dinner at Remington's. That was fabulous! Also, a free breakfast at Applebee's.
We have a $50 voucher to use at the Seneca casino the next time we are there.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nanticoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

Great hotel and location. Our room was perfect. Love it.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suhoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangeville, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

This Hotel has an excellent view of the falls. We received the best service and an excellent dinner at Remingtons. The 2 night package is a great deal. We have stayed at most of the Hotels in Niagara Falls and now we keep returning to this one!!

Room Tip: We have had a corner room with 3 views the last few times. We did not care for a room on the 19th f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

I booked the Falls view jacuzzi suite for a much needed getaway and we were not disappointed.

When we first entered our corner room suite on the 17th floor I was upset to find that the room smelled like a Cuban cigar smoking room. Don't get me wrong I do enjoy a good Cuban but this was overwhelming. At first I convinced myself that I could get use to it and even wonderered about just buying a air freshener.

After just a short time in the room though my eyes started to hate my decision making skills as they started to dry up. I phoned down to the front desk and spoke to a very friendly and concerned female who apoligized immediately and told me that we would be able to offer me a room on the 20th floor.

We checked it out first and were very happy to find a our exact same room with a clean smell and it had an even better view.

We enjoyed two nights at this resort and had nothing but good things to say.

MIstakes happen everywhere but I was impressed how willing this hotel was to fix it.

Cheers! Will be back...

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peterborough-chiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

When I saw the Travelzoo deal of 2 nights for $119+$60 I was very excited because I have always wanted to stay at the Oakes. They did deliver on the view, it was spectacular, however that was the only great thing about this trip. The package came with two $50USD tokens to spend at a US casino which we didnt receive initially at check in but when we asked for it later on the person at the front claimed she did not know what it was about. If we had received it at check-in we would've had enough time to go across the border to take advantage of it, but not a big deal as we are not big gamblers.

The check-in itself was great with no problems, however on the last day we head over to the attached Applebees for breakfast at 12, with no notifications or reminder calls for check out (although our bags are packed and just placed in the room), we returned to find our door key disabled. We went to the concierge only to be greeted with a very rude agent who accused us for not reading the signs. Granted we were unaware that checkout was strictly 11:00am, she blamed us for making the mistake which is extremely unprofessional as a customer service representative. She then forced charged us an extra night of $90 although it was even too early to check in for that day. It was the only way she would let us remove our bags from the room.

What started to be a great experience ended horribly, we couldn't speak to a manager because we were short on time and had to go, but I would definitely NOT return to the Oakes nor recommend anyone to go there.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank iczi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

We recently bought the gourmet package which included 2 nights accommodation, 3 course meal at Remingtons (which was SUPER delicious and nice), breakfast both mornings at Applebees, $50 each night to spend at the US Casino which was a blast, wine tasting, etc... let's just say that we truly enjoyed ourselves and would highly recommend this venue and package to everyone!! When we return to Niagara, we hope to stay here again, and dine at Remingtons again as well.

Room Tip: It is definitely worth the upgrade to get the fallsview rooms - the view is spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rb0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

We had an amazing stay recently at the Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls. This has got to be the best view of the Falls that you can get in Niagara Falls. Our room (Room# 1817) had a phenominal view of both the American and the Horseshoe Falls. Plus there was another window where you had a view of the city as well. The hotel was very clean, and comfortable, and the package deal can't be beat. Breakfast for two at Applebee's, and dinner for two at Remington's of Niagara. All and all, it was a great time, at an amazing hotel and I will definitley return in teh near future.

Room Tip: Don't really have any tips. It was our first time at this hotel. We reserved the Premier King/Ja...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.1 mi away
Marriott Niagara Falls Fallsview Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Fallsview
0.2 mi away
Hilton Niagara Falls/Fallsview Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree Fallsview Resort & Spa by Hilton - Niagara Falls
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Niagara Falls Fallsview Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Tower Hotel
The Tower Hotel
#18 of 135 in Niagara Falls
4.0 of 5 stars 746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls

Address: 6546 Fallsview Blvd, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3W2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 135 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls 3.5*
Number of rooms: 167
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakes Hotel Overlooking Falls
Oakes Hotel Niagara Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing