We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just an Average Hotel....Read the Fine Print on Package Deals!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls to your Saves list
Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6546 Fallsview Blvd, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3W2, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 137 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Just an Average Hotel....Read the Fine Print on Package Deals!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

My wife and I purchased a Gourmet Getaway Package deal from a couple who forgot to get their passports in time so we got a better bargain beyond the $139 package offered through the Hotel. The Gourmet Getaway package deal was through TravelZoo. The package includes the following with my comments (**):

•A room at The Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls (1 room, double occupancy)
** Package deal only floors 1-8.....can't see much of the falls through the trees until you are on at least the 14th floor!
•Bonus: FREE Wireless internet access
** Didn't have the need to use the wireless so I can't comment
•An elegant gourmet dinner for two at the award winning Remington’s of Niagara (includes appetizer, main entrée, and coffee or tea)
** Need to take a the shuttle bus or by car to get there, too far to walk! Restaurant was pretty decent and food was acceptable. Singing waitresses were a treat (my other review)
◦Appetizer options - Caesar Salad, Simple Salad or Remington’s Signature Prime Rib Soup
◦Entrée options - Prime Rib, New York Striploin, Fillet of Salmon, Stuffed Chicken Supreme, Penne Rustica or Veal Parmesan
•A full, hot, made to order breakfast for 2 at our on-site Applebees
** Breakfast was typical. Only the $9.99 meals were included as part of the package.
•$50 no strings attached Seneca Niagara Casino (Niagara Falls, NY) gaming voucher (see note below). Included for stays thru Dec. 31, 2011.
** Only good for the Casino on the American side of the falls! Crossing over the bridge just for the Casino may not be worth it. We stopped on our way home and burned through the $50 in 10 minutes (LOL).
•VIP Wine Tasting at Inniskillin Estates Winery - enjoy 2 VQA Inniskillin Table Wines and their world renowned Vidal Ice wine per person
•VIP Wine Tasting at Peller Estates Winery
•VIP Wine Tasting at Hillebrand Winery
•VIP Wine Tasting at Jackson Triggs Winery
** We did not have time for the wine tasting......if you're only staying overnight for one night you probably will not have the time to get to any of the 4 wineries.
•FREE Savings Card for up to 75% off at over 150 designer outlets ($5.00 value) with gift at the Fashion Outlets (Niagara falls USA)
** Never got a saving card.......probably would not have used it anyway.

So, the hotel room was on the 8th floor, highest we could get with the package. We upgraded the room to a King Jacuzzi Suite ( worth the extra $30). Bathroom was the best part of the room. The TV's are still the old, outdated CRT televisions. No flat panel TV and no Hi Def channels.........terrible reception!!!
The clock radio didn't work, and the radio could hardly get reception.
The view overlooked the parking lot below and the falls were primarily obscured by the trees but better than a view of the city from the other side of the hotel.
Pool was way too small and everyone from the parking lot could see into the pool area with floor to ceiling windows....
Staff was courteous, rooms were clean...........pretty much it. I've stayed at several of the hotels along the falls view strip and I'd probably pass on coming back to this Hotel.

Room Tip: Get a floor above the 14th for a clear view of the American and / or Canadian Falls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,047 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    540
    658
    367
    240
    242
See reviews for
476
1,097
30
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (688)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

The view of the falls was perfect but the hotel is not up to par with comparable rates from surrounding grand hotels. Could be better maintained with more attention to detail to say the least. Probably worth it if your not looking for anything special in a cheaper room but for a comparable price you could be spoiled by others in the area.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

This hotel was in exactly the right place, the corner room on the 8th floor gave us a superb panaramic view of the falls, the bed was huge and comfortable, the room was spick and span, the front desk staff were warm and friendly and well equipped with information of what to see, how to get there and any other revelant information.All the 'falls' attractions were within walking distance of the hotel. All in all a terrific stay in a fabulous location.
D. McQue

Room Tip: The higher up on the corner of the tower are the best for views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

Overall, it's a valuable hotel in Niagara Falls area especially their package offer. They achieve customer satisfaction. Good job.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

My fiance and I recently stayed here for our anniversary and it was amazing! Our room was on the 16th floor with a fallsview, and let me tell you, it was breathtaking! We have both been to the falls before, however, seeing if from that high up really shows how beautiful and vast the Niagara Falls really are!!
Our room was very clean and well stocked with everything we needed (towels, toilet paper etc.)
There was a shuttle bus that took us out to dinner at Remmington's Steakhouse, YOU MUST GO THERE! the food was delicious! :)
We didn't make use of the indoor pool or the gym facilities, but still checked them out and they looked very clean and well maintained.
Probably the only downfall was that when we were checking in (around 3:30pm) they only had ONE staff member at the front desk. There was quite the line up as everyone is allowed to check in after 3pm, they should've had more staff on so everyone could check in quicker!
DEFINITELY would stay again!

Room Tip: try to get a fallsVIEW room(9th floor or higher) rather than fallsSIDE room, WAY better view :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havelock
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

We recently spent a week at the Oakes for our honeymoon from Oct 31- Nov 4th 2011. We bought the helicopter package. When we arrived we were pleasantly greeted by the hotel clerk and checked into our room within a few minutes. We were on the 20th floor a corner suite room with a falls-view room that was magnificent. The room was very large, clean and bright and sunny. The clerk waved our parking fee giving us free parking seeing it was our honeymoon. Each morning it was fantastic to wake up the the sight of the falls and taking a picture of the sunrise. We had purchased breakfast coupons for the Apple bee's restaurant, although it was a limited menu for the coupons they still had a good selection to choose from and extremely fast and friendly service. The hotel also had a bus tour which we took in the first day we were there. The man who sold the tickets was so knowledgeable about everything in Niagara it was a pleasure just to speak with him and ask questions. We enjoyed our stay greatly and would definitely recommend this hotel to other tourists. We had a great time and enjoyed ourselves.

Room Tip: If you want to have an exceptional view of the falls try to get a corner suite room from the 17th fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latrobe, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

My wife and I stepped into our 11th floor room and were amazed that we immeadiately noted the great view of the falls. Our package included 2 breakfasts, 2 $50 comps at the Seneca Niagara Casino on the New York side, a great dinner for two, tours and tastings at 4 nearby winerys. We booked thru an internet site but the package is also available at the hotel.
Our cost may have been less due to seasonal timing. For example, the Maid of the Mist tour was closed until next year. We were able to walk to the Falls and enjoyed the proximity of the Falls Incline Rail Ride considering the cool and damp weather. Also, Fallsview Casino is about 2 blocks away and we tried it out, too. Apparently every room has a front view of the falls.

Room Tip: The higher the better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls

Address: 6546 Fallsview Blvd, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3W2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 137 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls 3*
Number of rooms: 167
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakes Hotel Overlooking Falls
Oakes Hotel Niagara Falls

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.