We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms by the hour!!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel By The Falls

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Hotel By The Falls to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Hotel By The Falls
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5905 Victoria Avenue | 1 Block to Clifton Hill and Attractions, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3L8, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #30 of 137 Hotels in Niagara Falls
GreenLeadersBronze level
Toronto
1 review
“Rooms by the hour!!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2007

My wife and I recently stayed with the Howard Johnson by the falls in Niagara Falls Canada.

Upon arrival we found our room to be in less than satisfactory condition. There was waxed spilled on the carpet around the bed, my wife found "pubic hair" in the bottom of our jacuzzi tub and "body prints" on the mirrors in the tub surround. We were both absolutely disgusted.

Naturally we contacted the front desk immediately and the young lady that answered the call was very appologetic. They advised us that this was a busy time for them and room availability was limited. The hotel rectified this situation by sending a maintenance man to our room with cleaner to clean the tub and surrounding area.

We remained at the property for three days and never once did anyone from management contact us or make any attempt to ensure we were at the very least comfortable with our stay. I am not an unreasonable person, this is only a two star hotel, but these circumstances are ones which I would expect to find in a "rent by the hour" type of establishment not a Howard Johnson property.

I did make efforts to allow the company to make good on a bad situation but they have failed at every level. First at the property.
Then the HoJo head office advised me that, (the following is a quote from their email to me), "This property is independently owned and operated under a Howard Johnson franchise, and its management is responsible for meeting Howard Johnson standards." They did offer to forward my concerns. Finally on August 25th I get yet another email, this time from the manager of the property, advising me that he is very sorry for the "inconvenience" this may have caused and offered a "FREE ROOM UPGRADE" on our next stay. The filth found in our room was a little more than an inconvenience.

Over the three days we were there the maids never cleaned our room once. Fresh towels were left outside the door one morning. There is green slime around the edges or the hot tub in the pool area and few towels to be found. Gym equipment is on its least legs, and seems unsafe to use.

All in all the Niagara Falls area has an abundance of hotels to choose from and I suggest people see the hotel and room before they commit to it, if possible. If the rooms are clean the hotel should not be afraid to show you one in advance.

We will definately not be staying with Howard Johnson again,
franchise or otherwise!!!!

  • Liked — Close to restaurants
  • Disliked — Filthy
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJ Manager, Hotel Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel By The Falls, responded to this review, September 25, 2007
Thank you for taking the time to advise the management of your concerns regarding the Hotel. It is possible that the attendant may have not cleaned the tub correctly and for that we do apologize, it is important that the cleaning process be completed on all rooms. The Hotel did send someone to correct that error. Depending on availability we would normally switch the room if that was the guests' wish. As to the towels being left at the door the only way this would occur is if the guest requested such action or have left out a do not disturb card in which case the attendants will not enter the room. Towels are provided by the pool and are replaced on a regular basis by the staff. As to the exercise equipment it is newer equipment and does meet all safety standards required for use by our guests, if it did not it would not be there. The Hotel offered the complimentary upgrade on your next return because we would like the opportunity to provide a more positve experience. The management does strive to deal with the issues at hand when they are made aware of them. We do not expect to make every guest completely satisfied but do try to maintain the majority. Again thank you for taking the time to advise the Hotel where we may improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    374
    498
    278
    73
    113
See reviews for
512
568
21
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2007

My husband and I booked a room here for our honeymoon in early August, as opposed to paying an arm and a leg for a fallsview. It's location was perfect as it was only a short walk to the Casinos, Clifton Hill and the Falls themself. We checked in late the night of our wedding and were asked to sign in not realizing, or being informed, that we were signing for a rate MUCH higher than was quoted online and at the time of booking.

Considering the overall average quality of rooms, outdated decor and linens, skimpy bath towels, no conditioner in the shower, filthy tub, lovely view of the parking lot and very cold customer service it was a pretty disappointing stay. For the price we ended up paying here we could have had a luxurious fallsview suite at the Sheraton!

So be careful what you sign for or even better stay somewhere else, like the Courtyard Marriot across the street which was excellent!

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2007

Good location, but the rooms need updating. The bedding is shabby and the carpet in our room was dirty and smelly (the room smelled like feet.) The a/c in the lobby and in the hallways worked great but didn't work so great in our room. And the beds are hard. They went to the trouble of replacing the tubs with a bright red tub/tub surround, but the sink was old and didn't drain properly and the toilet seat felt like it was going to break any second. Place needs work. Staff was very friendly and professional. Won't stay there again.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — needs updating
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2007

The hotel looks nice from the front and in the lobby but nothing went well in the room at all. The first room we were in was on the 6th floor and they said "It must be too far away from the router to connect" so they moved us to the 2nd floor. We were still unable to use the internet at all, it just kept saying signal too week. We just went to the lobby a couple times a day to check e-mails etc since we own 2 businesses and needed internet access. The room was ok but the bathroom was a mess. The toilet ran LOUD all the time, there was water dripping behind the walls by the tub and around the bottom of the walls was mold so this has been happening for a while! It was supposed to be a jacuzzi tub but they gave us no drain stopper. I decided to try using a wash cloth in the drain and found out why, the jets barely worked. Our keys were exchanged 8 times because they would just suddenly stop working. The tv went in and out all the time. The drapes had huge holes in them. The toilet over flowed. And last but not least we could not only hear everything in the room next to us but everything from the pool. So we listened to kids screaming and having fun at the pool all the time. Nice they were having fun but not very relaxing. This was an anniversary trip and needless to say we would have had more fun and been more relaxed staying home and shutting off the phone!

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — dirty
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
funbobby29, Director of Operations at Howard Johnson Hotel By The Falls, responded to this review, August 8, 2007
It is very unfortunate that we were unable to satisfy your needs regarding your recent stay with us but perhaps I could take the time to offer some insight and explanation to you regarding this review since we were not given this opportunity at the time of you stay. The first issue regarding the internet please understand that on that particular day we had 27 users using the free service with no problems or difficulties during the same time period as yourself and was told by our internet provider's customer service contact it was an issue with the laptop computer that was being used and not the service which was causing the issue. As far as your room issues please understand that this is unacceptable by our standards or anyone else's for that matter and obviously the room needed possible attention but according to our logs that we keep at the front desk regarding any and all issues taking place in the hotel there were no complaints or comments made during your entire stay with us and again no comments were made upon check out time which leads me to beleive that most of this issues stated here are exagerated just to make a bold statement regarding maybe some small issue that might have occured which we were not made aware of during you stay with us. I find it very sad and unfortunate that you have chosen this avenue of discussion rather than dealing with us personally and giving us the opportunity to fix the problem at the time by either upgrading you to a deluxe whirlpool suite at no extra charge since it was your anniversary and which is common practice for our property or finding you an alternate room more to your satisfaction. Again I would have liked to be given the opportunity to have rectified this issue at the time of the incident rather then trying to make up for it now. Again I am very sorry your stay was not to your satisfaction and I look forward to having you as our guest once again so that we may redeem ourselves with our wonderful property and excellent service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2007

This hotel was a great price as compared to other hotels in its class near the falls. The room was very clean and fairly nice - nothing fancy but that's what we wanted. The walk to the falls was approximately 10-15 minutes but there are many many attractions on the way so the walk goes by quickly. The one problem was that our roomed smelled closed in when we first got there - I think they had recently cleaned the carpets and it smelled damp. We sprayed some air-freshener and by the next afternoon, the smell was gone.
Also, the "giant waterslide" that is advertised on the site, is nothing of the sort. It is an above-average pool slide with a twist but not an attraction in and of itself.
The parking is 6$ a day additional but we found that handy as we would often hop in the car and go explore the outskirts. There are many great restaurants surounding the HoJo and some pretty good deals too. Stay away from the Denny's for breakfast (nearly 40$ for 2 adults) there are many cheaper buffets all around.
We will be returning with the kids next year and will definitely be staying at the Howard Johnson again.

  • Liked — The price and the location
  • Disliked — The smell
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2007

We stayed here when we visit niagara falls and we bring our pet with us so this place accepted pets.They have a specific room if you have pets so they give us the room in the second floor with two beds but its an smoking room and for people like us who didnt smoke,its a terrible smell.As soon as we enter the room,it really stinks.I spray some of my cologne into the air to removed some of the odor.The room is not bad though.Its clean when the first time we check in although i think the housekeeping not doing their job well everytime they clean our room.The location is great.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2007

I booked my 2 rooms as non-smoking rooms. When I arrived there, they told me that there were no more non-smoking rooms. There were only smoking rooms left. I asked them why. At first, the front desk rep said it was because Expedia didn't request that. But I showed that the Expedia printout which clearly stated that the rooms are non-smoking. The front desk rep said not much she can do and I would need to talk to the Hotel Manager. I then spoke to the Hotel Manager and his name is Kevin. He told me that the room availability is based on the "date of check-in" and is not based on the reservation and this is the hotel policy. This is absolutely crazy, I have never heard of such thing. I know he just made it up. So, I asked him to show me such policy on paper, he said he doesn't have it. He said the reservation didn't guarrante the room availability even I have the confirmation numbers. He didn't even try to apologize for the mistakes they made and just tried every possible way to make up excuses to get away with it. STAY AWAY from it, not worth it, there are other hotels nearby.

  • Liked — close to the Niagara Falls
  • Disliked — Staffs service
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel By The Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel By The Falls

Address: 5905 Victoria Avenue | 1 Block to Clifton Hill and Attractions, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3L8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Niagara Falls
#25 Romantic Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Hotel By The Falls 2.5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Niagara Falls Howard Johnson Hotel By The Falls is a 3 Key-Green Certified family-oriented, pet-friendly, full-service hotel that offers you wonderful Niagara Falls Hotel Accommodations consisting of 198 newly renovated spacious guest rooms including Family Suites, Whirlpool Guest Rooms and Traditional 2-Queen Bedded Guest Rooms, as well as our Balcony Rooms overlooking all the action below along the Clifton Hill District. The hotel also offers plenty of on-site above ground and under ground self-parking for your convenience as well as an on-site WEGO Stop to let you get around town without having to move your car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel By The Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Niagara Falls
Niagara Falls Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Hotel By The Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.