We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome hotel, Excellent Staff!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel By The Falls

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Howard Johnson Hotel By The Falls to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Hotel By The Falls
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5905 Victoria Avenue | 1 Block to Clifton Hill and Attractions, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3L8, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #30 of 137 Hotels in Niagara Falls
GreenLeadersBronze level
Walkerton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Awesome hotel, Excellent Staff!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

No issues checking in, front desk staff (Thanks Kevin) has an awesome personality and made us feel very welcomed!! The room was a little dated but very clean (the tvs suck lol) No issues checking out (thanls Jeremy) Hotel is very close to Clifton Hill (bout a 5 min walk) and the falls and very reasonably priced! We will definatly stay here again :) p.s Kevin, we tried to stick the bed to the ceiling, but it was too damn heavy :p

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJ Manager, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel By The Falls, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for the compliments it is always a pleasure to hear the guest had an awsome stay. It was our pleasure to assist you in having a memorable experience and we hope to see you back on your next visit to the Falls.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    437
    246
    69
    103
See reviews for
463
493
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
PA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Stayed at the HOJO By the Falls January 1-January 3, 2013. We always stay there when visiting Niagara but not after this trip. First we were not advised on the $100 hold on our credit card. We had forgotten about it and the staff did not inform us of it. We had to find out by checking our bank account. That was the minor issue.
We put our valuables (money, cameras, and PASSPORTS) in the safe as directed when we left the room. We had run to get dinner and then swim. After swimming (pool was very cloudy and hot tub way too hot) we got cleaned up and dressed up for a night on the town. The safe would not open. Any key pressed resulted in SEr showing. I called the desk clerk who said "Oh Gee, never heard of that one". Was told we would have to wait until housekeeping came in in morning, which I stated was unacceptable. Clerk called "district manager" who said to call in maintenance. We were told maintenance was sent home early since they were not busy. Then told maintenance supervisor was on vacation 3 days. Then they were not answering their phone to come in. We were stuck. wasted 1 full night and morning of a 2 night trip. Lost out on carriage ride, casino night, etc. Manager came in at 8 am, we went down at 8:30 and he didn't know maintenance wasn't due in til 10 until clerk informed him. He tried calling in maintenance early but we had to wait until 10 a.m. Maintenance told us he was sorry he could not come in night before but his truck had problems, so yet another story. We had been given conflicting stories all night. We were lucky to have already eaten dinner or else we would have been without food, which with medical conditions I cannot be. Luckily did not place medications in there. The camera issue kept us from sightseeing. The money issue kept us from doing anything but watching TV. The Passport issue was the most upsetting. Had we needed to get home in an emergency (we have children) we would have been stuck. Most places it is illegal to hold someone's passport from them.
The staff was unapologetic. They were "flat" as far as attitude towards our problem. Asking each "new" clerk and manager about if they knew of the problem we would get "Your having some trouble with the safe, right?" Only after my husband demanded some sort of compensation did they say they would "check" with the district manager to see if it was okay to comp 1 night's fee. It was $53, definitely not worth our lost night. I planned this trip for over 6 months and to have it ruined over a safe and the inability of a hotel to staff the correct people.
Also we paid $9 a day for parking and yet there was a sign for general parking for $5 a day for non-guests.
This was the worst stay we have ever had, and to think, this was the same hotel a few years ago we had written a glowing review for an anniversary trip. This hotel has gone downhill.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric M, Owner at Howard Johnson Hotel By The Falls, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
I am very sorry to hear that you were inconvenienced during your stay as it was not our intention as some types of electronic equipment do create certain new challenges from time to time. I do sincerely apologize as unfortunately the issue came at an awkward time as we had very limited staff scheduled on due to it being the holiday season as we typically allow some of our staff to spend this time with their families to celebrate the holidays. We are however pleased that none of the scenarios you mentioned in this commentary were relevant at any time but rather an inconvenience to both you and your companion. We did acknowledge that improvements needed to be made to our procedures as to prevent any similar issues like this from occurring in the future thus the reason for our very generous compensation not accurately mentioned in this commentary. The additional amount held on your credit card is common practice for hotel operations as it is a safe and seamless way of ensuring that there are sufficient funds on a guest credit card to cover the cost of the room as well as any incidentals such as movies, phone calls, etc that the guest may have incurred during their stay. The unused portion of funds are then released back into the guests account by our credit card processor within 2-4 business days after check-out depending on the guest’s financial institution, this is explained in great detail to each and every guest at check-in and only presents issues when the sufficient funds required are not readily available on the credit card. Our pool is maintained constantly at 84 degrees and the hot tub at 103 degrees and is inspected every 4 hours as per Health Department guidelines and we have no records or guest comments to the contrary of any water quality or temperature issues during your entire stay.
Again, thank you for choosing our Howard Johnson property and allowing us the opportunity to improve our operations to better serve our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel By The Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel By The Falls

Address: 5905 Victoria Avenue | 1 Block to Clifton Hill and Attractions, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3L8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Niagara Falls
#30 Casino Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Hotel By The Falls 2*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Niagara Falls Howard Johnson Hotel By The Falls is a 3 Key-Green Certified family-oriented, pet-friendly, full-service hotel that offers you wonderful Niagara Falls Hotel Accommodations consisting of 198 newly renovated spacious guest rooms including Family Suites, Whirlpool Guest Rooms and Traditional 2-Queen Bedded Guest Rooms, as well as our Balcony Rooms overlooking all the action below along the Clifton Hill District. The hotel also offers plenty of on-site above ground and under ground self-parking for your convenience as well as an on-site WEGO Stop to let you get around town without having to move your car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Wyndham, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel By The Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Niagara Falls
Niagara Falls Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Hotel By The Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.