We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel By The Falls

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Orbitz.com
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Hotel By The Falls
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5905 Victoria Avenue | 1 Block to Clifton Hill and Attractions, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3L8, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #28 of 138 hotels in Niagara Falls
Write a Review

980 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    275
    359
    200
    56
    90
See reviews for
380
409
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
oshawa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This is by far the best "bang for your buck" deal for the Waterpark in Niagara Falls. The two night stay was great. The Pizza Hut coupon comes in handy for a "lunch break" and nap from the Waterpark on your second day. The TGI Fridays across the road from the hotel is stellar and accomodates children nicely. Fernando (the front desk mgr) is the best in the business and Howard Johnson is very lucky to have him.

Room Tip: The balcony rooms are rather noisy. Ask for a room on the East side of the hotel for a great view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJ Manager, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel By The Falls, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for the compliments. We are happy to hear that you had waves of fun with our waterpark package. I will be pleased to pass on your compliments as we hold the young man in high regard as well. We await the opportunity to have you as a guest again, thank you for choosing Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GUELPH
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

This was our first time staying at a Howard Johnson hotel, and we will definately be back. Staff was very friendly, hotel very clean, hotel was quiet. Our room was very spacious. It was a jacuzzi suite. It even had a love seat and chairs so that you didn't have to sit in bed at all times. Location is prime. Close to Clifton Hill, the Falls, restaurants, everything that you need. We can only compain about a couple of things. The TV. New ones are needed. The convertor didn't work the best. The parking charge of $9.00 wasn't fair in our eyes. Yes, it's cheaper than other hotels, but there is a sign out front charging $5.00 for all day parking. It should be the other way around. Hotel guests should be cheaper. Other than that, everything was superb. Thanks again Howard Johnson Hotel. As I said, we will be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJ Manager, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel By The Falls, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for your comments, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your first stay with us and hope to see you for many more. Parking is a set fee for overnight guests and can fluctuate for daily parking from $5.00 up depending on availabilty - day parking is only for a few hours. We appreciate the compliments and look forward to the opprtunity of having you as our guest again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, PA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

The hotel staff was very helpful and friendly. They went above and beyond their minimum duty.

Nice hotel. Got a good price, lower than other other comparable hotels.

Beds were comfortable and pool is nice.

Room Tip: Might be a little quieter on the back side / back street. Definitely avoid the front / main street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJ Manager, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel By The Falls, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Our thanks for your compliments of the staff. We are pleased to hear that you had a positive experience during your stay at Howard Johnson. We look forward to the opportunity of having you as our guest again on your next visit to Niagara Falls.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel By The Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel By The Falls

Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Niagara Falls
Niagara Falls Howard Johnson
Address: 5905 Victoria Avenue | 1 Block to Clifton Hill and Attractions, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3L8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Niagara Falls
#13 Best Value Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Hotel By The Falls 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Niagara Falls Howard Johnson Hotel By The Falls is a 3 Key-Green Certified family-oriented, pet-friendly, full-service hotel that offers you wonderful Niagara Falls Hotel Accommodations consisting of 198 newly renovated spacious guest rooms including Family Suites, Whirlpool Guest Rooms and Traditional 2-Queen Bedded Guest Rooms, as well as our Balcony Rooms overlooking all the action below along the Clifton Hill District. The hotel also offers plenty of on-site above ground and under ground self-parking for your convenience as well as an on-site WEGO Stop to let you get around town without having to move your car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel By The Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Hotel By The Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Howard Johnson Hotel By The Falls to your Saves list