We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel By The Falls

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Hotel By The Falls to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Hotel By The Falls
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5905 Victoria Avenue | 1 Block to Clifton Hill and Attractions, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3L8, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #34 of 137 Hotels in Niagara Falls
GreenLeadersBronze level
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

Good hotel in a very good location. Clean and good sezed rooms. Staff very helpful.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJ Manager, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel By The Falls, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Thank you for the compliments, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. We'll await the opportunity to provide you with another enjoyable stay on your next visit to the Falls.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    463
    265
    72
    111
See reviews for
484
529
18
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

We booked our room with a balcony and when we arrived got a room without a balcony and the front desk clerk was rude and ignorant when we brought this to his attention and refused to fix the mistake made by there reservation department!!!! after that we went to the room we found blood stains and other stains on the sheets of the bed that evening which was confirmed by the maintenance man Randy who was very helpful... we took pictures of the stains with Randy in the photo's and put a complaint in with the general manager Kevin Little who intern told me we send out our sheets to be cleaned so its not our problem if the cleaning company made a mistake and sent back dirty sheets and compensation would be $50 and that's it because he calls the shots and if i don't like it that's my problem!!also the rest of the room was dirty and my daughter and wife both woke up with rashes and bites on them! i have now put a complaint in with the Howard Johnson's corporate head office and they told me that they would deal with this situation and said sorry to me for the treatment we got from the staff at that location.....I am waiting to see what kind of compensation head office will give me and what kind of discipline the staff will recieve.......

Room Tip: Do your homework before you think of using this location because the manager Kevin Little and some o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJ Manager, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel By The Falls, responded to this review, March 17, 2012
When you approached management you noted that you had an issue with one of the linens having a small faded lipstick stain. We immediately sent a housekeeping attendant up to your room to change out the bedding and did apologize intensely for the inconvenience as it was in fact very embarrassing for us to have an incident like this occur. We do believe in customer service and when there is any issue we believe in fair compensation based upon the severity of the issue and our ability to remedy the problem to everyone’s satisfaction. You had demanded that your entire two night stay be refunded as well as a free night stay at another Howard Johnson location which unfortunately was not a suitable or reasonable compensation for your particular issue. It was only after you were advised of the intended compensation that you chose to then bring forth these other fabricated issues. We did advise you that all commentary for customer service issues is received by the ownership for reference, as we do in fact answer to the ownership. We take these types of allegations very seriously such as stating our property has a pest problem. In response to your allegation we took the precaution and called in a certified licensed pest control company to inspect the room thoroughly and provide us with dated documents reporting that no pests were found to be present at any time prior to or after your stay and that there was absolutely no evidence of any bug issue whatsoever in the room as you alleged. The fact that you continue to try and slander the hotel even after speaking with the ownership as well as head office leads us to question your motives and morals. We try very hard to meet and or exceed our guests’ expectations; however we do realize that there are particular individuals that will not accept a reasonable solution. With that being said me and all the staff would like to wish you the very best of luck with your future lodging needs when visiting Niagara Falls.

Yours truly,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

My wife and I stayed for 4D3N in Feb 2012. The hot water tap of the room allocated to us was not working properly. The personnel on duty tried to fix it but could not. We were pleasantly surprised when the front desk personnel on duty gave us a free upgrade to a room with 2-person jacuzzi. Overall, the stay there was very enjoyable. The room was clean and well-kept. Free wifi was available all the time. Staff were friendly and helpful. We took advantage of the shuttle service to get around most of the time. Food was easily available right next to the hotel and all along the street. The hotel was within walking distance from Clifton Hill and other tourist attractions. If we return to this area, we will stay here again and will definitely recommend friends to stay here too!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJ Manager, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel By The Falls, responded to this review, March 7, 2012
Thank you for your praise and how the issue was handled. We are interested in ensuring a comfortable and enjoyable stay and at times a change may be necessary to accommodate the guest when an issue arises. We appreciate your patronage and look forward to having you as our return guest in the future. Thank you for choosing Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

After searching for days I finally decided to go to this hotel because the great price and it's located so close to everything. Great staff they were extremely friendly and helpful. The place is very clean you can't find anything wrong with it... Can't wait to come back again.!!.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJ Manager, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel By The Falls, responded to this review, March 14, 2012
We are happy to hear that we could fit the bill for your accomodation needs. We appreciate hearing the positve comments from our satisfied guests and look forward to the opportunity of having you stay with us again. Thank you for choosing Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls as your destination choice while in the Falls.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodman, New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

We stayed here during February break. The room was large enough and fairly clean. Nothing fantastic but a nice room for the price. One of my main reasons for choosing this room over others in the area was the indoor pool with the slide and the hot tub. The website didn't mention that the pool had a weight restiction of less than 90 lbs. so my kids 12 and 15 were out of luck. The pool area was a little dirty but the kids didn't notice. The hot tub was ok but there were spots where tiles were coming off. The staff were great very helpful and knowledgeable about the area. My husband even forgot his razor and they provided him with a few disposable ones and some shaving cream.

Room Tip: Don't go to the Denny's next door. Very overpriced and bad service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJ Manager, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel By The Falls, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Thank you for your kind compliments of our property and staff. We are always happy to hear that our guests have enjoyed their stay overall. Your concerns have been noted and brought to the department managers attention. We appreciate our guests letting us know where we may improve our service. Thank you for choosing Howard Johnson as your choice of destination, we hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

My 11 year old son and I decided to get away for a night. We stayed in this hotel a few years ago, and decided to again.
Location was good. Close to Clifton Hill, and many Restaurants, (Denny, Montanas, TGiF, The Keg, Wild Wings and MANY MORE)
Check in was good, and not long of a wait. 5 to 10 mins tops.
We arrived in the room, and it was ok. We were in the King/Jacuzzi/Fireplace room. The room was clean. Overall cleanliness of room was a 9/10. It wasnt overly fancy, but was ok.
We would stay at this hotel again.
The price was right too. Good deal.

The only negative, was the WIFI. It didnt work all night. I asked about it at the front desk, and I was told they were maybe having trouble. They werent to helpful with this.
I called the fron desk later in the night, and the person that answered wasnt the nicest. I told him that we liked the room but we needed WiFi and picked this hotel cause they had free WiFi. He told me, ALL hotels have WiFi, in a rude way. NOT COOL.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJ Manager, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel By The Falls, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
We appreciate the information and your point of view. We are always happy to hear that our guests are lookig to return. I am sorry that you had an issue with the complimentary WIFI and that the response from the staff was not positive, this will be addressed with the department manager. We value our guests perspective and hope that you will continue your patronage of Howard Johnson. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, New York, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

My wife and I were given a weekend away for Christmas for Jan 13 and 14. Due to weather concerns we didn't get to go on the 13th but did make it early on the 14th. From the moment we got there we had a great time albeit a very cold one.
The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable. The Denny's in both convenient and the food good and the staff friendly. As people have stated previously, you can pretty much walk to anything but we opted for the shuttle bus.
All in all a very nice weekend. We are planning to do a family trip this Summer and we will be staying at this hotel for sure.
Thank you for a great time.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJ Manager, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel By The Falls, responded to this review, February 8, 2012
We are happy to hear that your experience at our Hotel was so positive. Thank you for the comments and the praise. I will gladly pass on your praise to the staff, we do try to make the guest stay a memorable experience. We look forward to having you stay with us when the warmer weather is here in the summer. Thank you for your patronage of Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel By The Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel By The Falls

Address: 5905 Victoria Avenue | 1 Block to Clifton Hill and Attractions, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3L8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Niagara Falls
#11 Best Value Hotel in Niagara Falls
#15 Business Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Hotel By The Falls 2*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Niagara Falls Howard Johnson Hotel By The Falls is a 3 Key-Green Certified family-oriented, pet-friendly, full-service hotel that offers you wonderful Niagara Falls Hotel Accommodations consisting of 198 newly renovated spacious guest rooms including Family Suites, Whirlpool Guest Rooms and Traditional 2-Queen Bedded Guest Rooms, as well as our Balcony Rooms overlooking all the action below along the Clifton Hill District. The hotel also offers plenty of on-site above ground and under ground self-parking for your convenience as well as an on-site WEGO Stop to let you get around town without having to move your car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wyndham, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel By The Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Niagara Falls
Niagara Falls Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Hotel By The Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.