We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was ok if your kids play hockey and sleep doesn't matter.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Clifton Victoria Inn at the Falls

Save Saved
You added Clifton Victoria Inn at the Falls to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Clifton Victoria Inn at the Falls
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5591 Victoria Avenue, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2E 3L4, Canada (Formerly Hampton Inn by Hilton at the Falls)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$75 Room & Breakfast Deal
Ranked #13 of 138 hotels in Niagara Falls
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“It was ok if your kids play hockey and sleep doesn't matter.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We booked a package that included the Waterpark.
We paid for a family suite as our 4 year old likes his rest early.

This is the noisiest hotel I have ever stayed.

We knew that the noise in the atrium would continue until 10pm., however, people decided to keep partying in the hallways and the balconies until all hours.

The noise in the atrium carries to all rooms leading onto it. With the kids running in the hallways, the noise scared our son. The front desk is there, and does nothing to curb this. We tried talking with people around 1am to no avail. They just sat on their balconies partying, saying they did not want to disturb their children sleeping inside their rooms.

I booked this type of room so that my husband and I could stay up beyond our sons bedtime, but thought we could have a comfortable sleep at a reasonable hour.

The breakfast was great for sure, as was the distance to the waterpark.

For the price of the upgraded 2 bedroom suite, it wasn't worth it, given the noise. For close to $400 for an overnight with the waterpark, we would have been better served booking things a la carte with another hotel.

I am not a prude and like fun, however, people who don't control their kids at all hours, those who don't control themselvles, and a hotel staff that looks the other way, is not our ideal vacation.

This was a lot of money for lack of sleep.

I know the hotel gets a lot of money from hockey families, but at least represent that on your website.

We are regular Hilton hotel stayers, however will be rethinking.

Room Tip: don't stay in a family suite leading into the atrium!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

959 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    482
    284
    114
    52
    27
See reviews for
489
274
21
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

The most friendliest and helpful hotel staff I have ever encountered. Great value for money and close to all amenities. Good breakfast, relaxed environment. Easy check-in, and a room was provided even though we arrived early. Will certainly return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Came up for a funeral and recalled staying here a few years ago but wanted to get closer to the Falls. All other places raised their rates due to the Red Bull Crashed Ice event. Hampton Inn offered the best rates and it included parking which all other hotels were charging extra. Hampton also provided a complimentary hot breakfast buffet. The breakfast offered a wide variety and all food was fresh and well prepared with plenty of seating in the atrium. Rooms were clean all linens including comforters are washed daily. We arrived late and Kris at the desk checked us in quickly and provided excellent guidance to the rear parking lot along with directions to other various locations. All staff were very friendly and helpful. The location was closer than we realized and about a 5 to 10 minute walk to the Falls. Will definitely return on our next trip. Much better than staying with relatives.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I have stayed here before but encountered a few small issues this time around.

The Hi-Speed Internet is very slow - could not access emails during my stay. When I called the Front Desk to report it - they said when there is a lot of users - the Internet is slow. First time I heard this at any hotel.

Service overall was great except for one time when I asked at night for the Agent to get me some hot chocolate powder - which was not available in the breakfast area. She said the hot chocolate was just for breakfast and would not get me one. It's a small thing but I'm a paying guest and she could have made me a happy guest by going to the breakfast area and getting me a hot chocolate.

Other than that - overall - great hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Rowan, Ontario
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

we had booked online another hotel which ended up being terrible..we refused to stay because it was dirty and awful..the staff here were so accomodating, and sent us up a complimentary bottle of wine..we had a wonderful stay here and will be back..thankyou..

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

This is a rare incident where the Customer Service experienced is what stands out above the hotel itself. The establishment is older, but well renovated (exterior-wise). It almost mimics an Embassy Suite design (layout). It's one of the better looking Hampton Inns if you have stayed in plenty, you will know exactly.

The location is perfect! It is right across the street from the casino, river (walkways) and a nice stroll (yes, walking distance) to the Falls. You will pass many shops & eateries along the way. It's a touristy area, but not likely happening if you travel outside of the peak season. Many places are closed during the off season. The Upside Down House and Ripley's Believe It Or Not are on the way to the Falls. There is a complimentary parking lot on the premises.

Check for any type of bed bugs! Although it probably wasn't the hotel's fault, it's safer to check before you place your belongings down. The staff was so understanding and accommodating, that they did everything possible to remedy the situation. They even had an exterminator come the next day. Their generosity and ability to go beyond to satisfy and make their guests happy, was unexpected & unnecessary. As a result, extreme gratefulness is returned. Much applause to this establishment's well trained & professional staff. Others can take a lesson or two from you!

The rooms were fine, but as mentioned before, it's older. There were stains on the bedding and holes in the sheets. The furniture needed an update, but a plus is there was an exhaust fan in the bathroom. You don't find those often at all.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed just 1 night with my wife and 2 kids 7 and 4. We have been to this hotel a few times, but not in a few years. We bought a Waterpark package including 2 day passes to the Waterpark across the street which is amazing! The hotel is nice with a great atrium that is themed like the French Quarter with the pool and hot tub basically in the lobby; might sound wierd but its really cool. Courtney at check in/out and Justin who worked overnight were incredibley professional and courteous. They took care of us at check-in and got a late check-out. Justin happened to be the lucky one to work Dec 1st overnight which was in turn the last night of Red Bull Crushed Ice (google it) which basically brought in 70,000 drunk hockey fans hopped up on Red Bull. There was a brawl in the hallway in front of our room between about 1 people who were fightin and slamming into our doors. Needless to say, not the best experience for 2 kids to have to listen too. But Justin dealt with it with professionalism and class and we appreciate that. The Police in Canada are a joke however! When we called the fight into the font desk, after the police arrived they contacted our room back to ask us if they have any weapons!!! We were watching from a peeep hole, didnt see any weapons, but dont think it was our job to figure that out. This is a knock on the OPP, not the hotel! In the States, the cops LOVE a reason to use a night stick, apparently they dont feel the same way in Canada! Thanks to the staff for making the most of our night away, and if any Canadian cops read this....I am not a Cop, but have family that is. I think you may need more training if you are relying on a family of 4 to stake out their issues!

Room Tip: Ask for an Atrium balcony, can watch the kids swimming from the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Clifton Victoria Inn at the Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifton Victoria Inn at the Falls

Also Known As:
Hampton Inn By Hilton At The Falls Hotel Niagara Falls
Hampton Inn By Hilton At The Falls Hotel
Hampton Inn Niagara Falls
Hampton Inn At The Falls
Niagara Falls Hampton Inn
Address: 5591 Victoria Avenue, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2E 3L4, Canada (Formerly Hampton Inn by Hilton at the Falls)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Niagara Falls
#13 Family Hotel in Niagara Falls
#17 Romantic Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clifton Victoria Inn at the Falls 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clifton Victoria Inn At The Falls located on the Falls Avenue Resort, is within a block of Niagara Falls and Clifton Hill. The Clifton Victoria Inn has long been a family favorite thanks to exceptional complimentary services and amenities, such as complimentary hot/cold breakfast buffet, 100% smoke free facilities, free wireless internet access and free on-site parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Clifton Victoria Inn at the Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clifton Victoria Inn at the Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.