We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden fees!!!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Plaza Niagara Falls

Save Saved
You added Ramada Plaza Niagara Falls to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Niagara Falls
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7389 Lundys Lane, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2H 2W9, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #49 of 139 hotels in Niagara Falls
Wisconsin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Hidden fees!!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stayed July 26, 2012. We were in the tall building on the 5th floor and had very nice clean room that had French doors seperating the sitting area from the bedroom. We also had 2 flat screen TVs. However when we checked out our bill for one night ended up being $102.79 with one car. We knew about the $10 a night parking fee for our car but when we got the bill it had a "Facility Fee" of $3.99 for our room and another $3.99 "Facility Fee" for our parking space on top of the $10 a night parking fee. Two "Facility Fees". What a racket! We expected the taxes but not the extra "Facility Fees".

Like others have said the main floor indoor pool was closed. All 3 pools are on the smaller side. The basement pool was not being used at all when we were there. It was not appealing and the hot tub that use to be there was covered over.

Also the rooms had too small of energy saving bulbs in all the lamps. That made it difficult to read at night. We played a card game at the table and had to use all the lamps and even brought one in from the sitting room and took the lamp shade off to get enough light. How much energy is that saving if you need all the lights on?

I would not stay here again as I don't like surprise fees. I would rather know upfront all fees and taxes. Give me the bottom line right away so I know what to expect.

Room Tip: If you stay here ask to be in the tower or tall building unless you want to be by a pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,169 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    151
    372
    344
    180
    122
See reviews for
381
545
23
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brantford, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We had an excellent experience at this hotel. Front desk staff were efficient and friendly. Rooms were spacious, clean and beautiful. Lots of parking.
We had a king suite with a leather couch in sitting area/living room with french doors separating it from the bedroom area. Bathroom was very nice and with a contemporary decor.
We had absolutely no problem with parking...average sized parking spaces and lots of availability.

Room Tip: We wonder if only part of the hotel has been renovated because of the terrible reviews versus our ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

This is actually a very nice, clean and reasonably priced hotel but I just had to share a disturbing experience we recently had at the Ramada Plaza. We booked a 2 night stay for Sunday and Monday. Upon arrival, the place was very busy. They gave us our key but when we got to the room, there's already another family in it. So we, and the other family went back to the front desk for an explanation. Of course, it's just an oversight. So we got another room and to be safe, I knocked on the door first before opening. But, when I entered, I noticed there were suitcases, a cooler and back packs in the room. Obviously, this room is also already booked as well but the occupants weren't there at the time.

For compensation, the first family received free breakfast and so did we. For the second mix up, we requested a free stay for the weekend (at the very least). It took awhile to get a reply from the manager and she understandably didn't really want to deal with us in person so we had to email the request. Eventually, she agreed to give us a free night stay for a later date.

Like I said, this place is actually nice. We've stayed here before and never had problems. So, this is not a comment on the hotel itself but rather the personnel. If I was working the desk and the first mix up was brought to my attention, the obvious thing to do is to make sure it doesn't happen again. I'd personally go into the next room I assigned and make sure no one's in it. More training is obviously required.

Room Tip: Insist on getting a room in the main building. The other building may require having to carry lugga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slatington
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

The pictures of the hotel don't show a lot! They don't tell you that there are two check in desks. the main one looks as though it is the entrance for the restaurant. The other desk is not manned nor is is cleaned. The lobbies and elevators were not cleaned our entire 5 night stay. We booked two rooms and were given two rooms down the hall from each other rather than next to or across from each other. The very tight bathrooms had mildew on the tile grout and shower curtains. There was rusty plaster peeling off the ceiling in front of the elevator. You have to lift your suitcase into the elevator because it's wheels get caught on the torn carpet. After inquiring about access to the 'gym' for three days we finally got to see it. The manager(?) kept directing us to a 'gym' in the basement with only one cycle in the middle of the room and telling us that was the only gym. They have a second gym next to the outside pool. No treadmill, free weights or universal set. The few pieces of equipment were in very poor condition. The inside pool in the pictures is out of commission. There is another indoor pool that we found while being directed to the gym in the basement however the water was not completely clear and the bathrooms were not at all clean! There was a surprise $10/day per car fee. Each day we found new dings and scratches in our cars due to the very tight and limited parking. Any questions at the front desk were not adequately answered and not accurately corrected by the manager (?) yelling from the office, never leaving the office.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Islip, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

I went on Tripadvisor before I stayed at this hotel and reviewed the hotel with a opened mind, Parking is very tight. Silverfish in my room.Room was not cleaned one day.Back card swipe did not work.I had to walk around to the front of the buildingPool had leaves and garbage in it. There is a fee for everything: Parking 10.00$ per day,3.99$ charge to use the facility pp per day.Extra charges with Canadian tax at 16% came to an extra 100.00$ It was also too far away from the falls. We took a bus line that cost us 10.00$ a person to get around the falls area because every Tom Dick and Harry charges 5- 20$ to park near the falls area.
So all of you that heed the warnings from us that have been there and back. By the time you try to save money by booking this hotel,think again. Get a hotel close to the falls in walking distance save the trouble and time of spending it on buses and parking. This area is going to take it from you one way or another. Parking Total with hotel and area four day stay 70.00$ and bus one day five people 50.00$ Trying to save a little can cost more in the long run.
On a good note the beds were confortable.......

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I recently stayed at the Ramada Plaza NIagara falls for my mothers 55th birthday. We found a voucher online for a deal for 2 nights. We booked two rooms for two nights at a good rate and were looking forward to our trip. The hotel itself is nice. Upon check in 07/18/12 we were told they could not find our reservation and as the hotel was over booked we could not stay. They had a room for us the following day but we could only use one night instead of the two we paid for. We ended up having to get a last minute room at the Sheraton which was expensive but wonderful. After checking in to the Ramada the following day my mother was disgusted to find dirty socks and finger nails in her bed. We went to the front dest and they assured us they'd have the room re-cleaned asap. We went for a family dinner and returned to the hotel 2 hours later to the room in the same condition. We again went to the front desk and was told a chambermaid would be up momentarily. After waiting 45 minutes we decided enough was enough and returned to the Sheraton. I've emailed Ramada's corporate office with the pictures of the socks and finger nails but have yet to receive a response. Needless to say I will not be returning to a Ramada in the near future.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renfrew, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We booked 2 Queens and when we arrived end of July they upgraded us to a King Suite as the Queens were late being cleaned due to late check outs.
Our suite was clean and the bed was extremely comfortable.We love Outlet shopping and having it across the street was amazing.
There is a card that comes with the room and if you want your sheets cleaned then you put the card on the bed.If the card is left off then you are agreeing to not have it changed. The hotel boasts that they do this for the environment. We have stayed here before and love that it is away from the madness of the Falls District. Parking is $10. I don't know too many hotels where I have not had to pay for parking.Alot more that that I might add.
If you don't like these things then get a tent and find a park. We love it at the Ramada and will be back for our 3rd Year next year. Good Job.

Room Tip: All the rooms are a good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ramada Plaza Niagara Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Niagara Falls

Address: 7389 Lundys Lane, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2H 2W9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 139 hotels in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Niagara Falls 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ramada Plaza Niagara Falls Hotel offers spacious, comfortable accommodations in Niagara Falls. Located directly across from Outlet Mall. This newly renovated hotel in Niagara Falls features contemporary styling, pillow-top beds and modern amenities. Our comfortable deluxe rooms with two queen and two room king suites are the perfect place to relax after a long day of sightseeing, shopping or meetings in Niagara Falls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Wyndham, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Despegar.com, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Ramada Plaza Niagara Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Niagara Falls Hotel Niagara Falls

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Plaza Niagara Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.