We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view - clean hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Niagara Falls Gateway on the Falls Hotel

Save Saved
You added Marriott Niagara Falls Gateway on the Falls Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marriott Niagara Falls Gateway on the Falls Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6755 Fallsview Boulevard, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3W7, Canada (Formerly Sheraton Fallsview Hotel and Conference Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #25 of 139 hotels in Niagara Falls
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great view - clean hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

This review is for my third stay at the marriott gateway on the falls and all three trips were excellent. My first two trips were on rooms which faced the back lot, this time I splurged for the falls view side and got an amazing view. It was totally worth it.

All visits, the rooms were super clean and the staff was very friendly.

The hotel isn't close to any decently priced restaurants. If you want to grab a quick lunch, prepare to hop in your car or go for a long walk.

It's also only a 5 minute walk to fallsview casino if you're in the mood for some gambling.

Other than that, I will defiantly choose this hotel again for another stay.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4410, General Manager at Marriott Niagara Falls Gateway on the Falls Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Good Day Andrew C,

Thank you for sharing your review on Trip Advisor and for your continued patronage at our hotel. I am very happy to hear that you have enjoyed all of your stays with us. We look forward to your next visit.

Gord Chow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,465 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    496
    551
    235
    114
    69
See reviews for
395
612
23
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Best, The Netherlands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

The view on the Falls - Horseshoe, American and Bridalveil - is spectacular from one of the rooms on the upper floors, but it costs you extra. We paid CAD 677.94 for 2 nights (Friday and Saturday) for one room on the 29th floor for 2 persons at the end of September. The room was very basic, the promised living-/sitting area was a small spot next to the beds with one armchair and one dining chair, there was not even a little (coffee) table. We had to pay CAD 20.00 (ex tax) extra per night for the car park without security next to the hotel and CAD 9.95 (ex tax) per 24 hours internet. But the room was clean, the bed was nice, the swimming pool / hot tub agreeable and the view was magnificent - although it was raining most of the time.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money for a room on one of the upper floors for the magnificent view on the Falls! A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4410, General Manager at Marriott Niagara Falls Gateway on the Falls Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Edith-Zaicsek,

Thank you for your feedback. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed the view that we offer. I hope that you will stay with us again when you are visiting the area.

Gord Chow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Based on the recommendation of a friend who recently stayed at the Gateway, we booked a deluxe falls view room, and are very glad we did. Upon arrival we were pleasantly surprised to be upgraded to a bi-level suite on the 22nd floor. The view from our room was truly amazing. We had a clear view of Horseshoe Falls and the American Falls, as well as the headwaters flowing to the falls. The hotel staff, from the reception desk to the clerk in the store, were all friendly and helpful. The room was immaculate and comfortable. We did not eat at the hotel and are unable to review that portion. We did make use of the WEGO transportation and loved the easy access across the street from the hotel. We chose the self-park rate for parking and had no problems with it at all. Had we paid full price in season, we would have been a bit disappointed in the thin walls and noise from the hall and adjacent room, but to be fair, it did not keep us awake at night. Based on the amount we paid and the room we received, we were more than happy with our stay. We most definitely recommend the hotel as a good value for the location.

Room Tip: The loft rooms provide double story windows with incredible views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4410, General Manager at Marriott Niagara Falls Gateway on the Falls Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Lakinhouse,

Thank you for your wonderful comments. I hope that we will see you again soon.

Gord Chow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Seriously?? 2 connected rooms is a suite? In who's world.
We booked a 'suite' for a girls get away weekend. $450. At the very least we expected a living room area but were shocked to find only 2 connected bedrooms.
Yes, the view was great but that's about it.
When we arrived there was a workman in our room fixing a cabinet. At 8 pm at night. Really, you couldn't fix that before we arrived. Add to that the large wet area of the carpet right in front of the door to the connecting room.
We complained and were given coupons to Milestones. That might of been ok if the dinner had been good. But's that another review.
Very disappointing.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4410, General Manager at Marriott Niagara Falls Gateway on the Falls Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear MimicoGal,

I apologize for your less than perfect stay with us. I am very sorry to hear of your disappointment. We appreciate your feedback so that we may continue to improve the service that we provide to our guests.

Gord Chow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vassar, Michigan
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Clean, beautiful hotel in a great location. But if you are going to stay, make sure you splurge on a falls view! There is nothing more spectacular than that view day or night. The only things that kept us from giving it a five star was that everything was so expensive. 25.00 a day for wifi 20.00 a day for parking and 20.00 a person for breakfast. Also our room wasn't ready until late, but it was worth it when we got in it!

Room Tip: Go for fall view!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4410, General Manager at Marriott Niagara Falls Gateway on the Falls Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear bhguile,

Thank you for your comments. I apologize that your room was not ready when you arrived at the hotel but am happy to hear that the view was worth waiting for. I hope that we will see you again soon.

Gord Chow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imperail Beach
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Enjoyed our 3 day stay. Service excellent, food excellent! Great view from the dining room of the falls. Buy a bus pass which picks up in front of the hotel and takes you down to the falls. Steep walkway up otherwise. Only disappointed part was mailing postcards from the Hotel. They accepted them to mail them for us, but not telling us the postage was incorrect until the last day when I tried to mail one and the clerk told me they could not do it. I asked what happened to my other mail from previous days, the clerk went back and looked and they were there? What were they going to do with them? They need to check the postage before accepting mail. We had a broken lamp in the room which was replaced right away.

Room Tip: Higher floors with great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4410, General Manager at Marriott Niagara Falls Gateway on the Falls Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Good Day bchrefuge,

I am happy to hear that you had an overall good stay with us. I apologize for the confusion regarding postage. I understand how disappointing that would have been for you. I hope that we will see you again soon.

Gord Chow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Stayed here for one night with husband and children. The greatest thing is the view so if you want to stay in your room, this is the place for you. It is a long walk down to the falls or anywhere. A bit dated for Marriott standards. Beds are very comfortable. Refrigerator was a bonus. Elevator was very slow, waiting 10 minutes. Parking lot was full and had to park in the over flow for the same price. Starbucks in the lobby. The area is over-priced. We opted for a sweet new Italian restaurant outside the main hub beside a delicious frozen yogurt spot called CC Swirls (don't miss this!). Our kids loved walking the Clifton Avenue strip at night. First time to Niagara Falls, glad I went but once you see it, you have seen it, in my opinion.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4410, General Manager at Marriott Niagara Falls Gateway on the Falls Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Sunny010133,

Thank you for your feedback. I am happy to read that you had an enjoyable time in Niagara Falls. I apologize for the waits incurred from our elevator system. I hope that we will see you again soon.

Gord Chow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
Quiet, Pool, Ro...
Show More
0.1 mi away
Marriott Niagara Falls Fallsview Hotel & Spa
Quiet, Quaint...
Show More
0.4 mi away
Hilton Hotel and Suites Niagara Falls / Fallsview
Romantic, Free...
Show More
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Niagara Falls Fallsview Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free internet...
Show More
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree Fallsview Resort & Spa by Hilton - Niagara Falls
Pool, Romantic...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Fallsview
Radisson Hotel & Suites Fallsvie...
#11 of 139 in Niagara Falls
4.0 of 5 stars 939 reviews
Restaurant, Rom...
Show More
0.1 mi away
The Tower Hotel
The Tower Hotel
#16 of 139 in Niagara Falls
4.0 of 5 stars 538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Niagara Falls Gateway on the Falls Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Niagara Falls Gateway on the Falls Hotel

Address: 6755 Fallsview Boulevard, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3W7, Canada (Formerly Sheraton Fallsview Hotel and Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Niagara Falls
#23 Romantic Hotel in Niagara Falls
#25 Casino Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Niagara Falls Gateway on the Falls Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marriott Niagara Falls Hotel Gateway on the Falls is the ideal place to stay for your next leisure getaway. Aptly named, the hotel serves as a "gateway" to all of Niagara, and its recent $15-million renovation and upgrade offers our Niagara Falls hotel guests a modern and trendy travel experience. For guests looking to experience the best that a Niagara Falls hotel has to offer, the Marriott Gateway Niagara Falls hotel is situated in the heart of the Fallsview Boulevard district, minutes away from area attractions, world-class wineries, golf and casinos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Marriott Niagara Falls Gateway on the Falls Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Gateway On The Falls Hotel Niagara Falls
Sheraton Niagara Falls
Niagara Falls Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Niagara Falls Gateway on the Falls Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.