We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elevator issues” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Niagara Falls Gateway on the Falls Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Niagara Falls Gateway on the Falls Hotel to your Saves list
Marriott Niagara Falls Gateway on the Falls Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6755 Fallsview Boulevard, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3W7, Canada (Formerly Sheraton Fallsview Hotel and Conference Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #26 of 137 Hotels in Niagara Falls
GreenLeadersSilver level
suffern
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Elevator issues”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Apparantly the elevator issue leading to the upper floors is nothing new
Only one elevator was servicing all of the upper floors
If you did not get in going up to go down to lobby the elevator was too full to get into and had to wait again
Then it stopped on every floor on the way down not being able to accommodate the waiting guests
The room had a great view and breakfast buffet very good since it was included in the expensive price paid for two nights
Fix the elevators!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4410, General Manager at Marriott Niagara Falls Gateway on the Falls Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear rxrx46,

Thank you for staying with us. I apologize for the wait times with our current elevator system. We are working to upgrade this service for our guests and hope to have this completed soon.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again.

Gord Chow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,752 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    594
    650
    285
    140
    83
See reviews for
476
736
26
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (491)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

The best view in US!! Two beautiful days in Niagara Falls!! Super view and close to all the attractions!!! The room?! Sweeeeet!!! August is the best time to visit fantastic weather!! Just run away from the city and enjoy Nature!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4410, General Manager at Marriott Niagara Falls Gateway on the Falls Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear GB479,

Thank you so much for your great comments! I am very happy that you loved your stay with us.

See you soon!

Gord Chow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This is not a bad hotel. It is just not a 4 star hotel. Problems with elevators. Poor customer service. We had a beautiful view of falls but if you wanted to see the illumination you are too far back behind the falls. The mist obscures your view. Hotel seems so close to falls but with the transportation you are almost at the end of the line. Much better values to be found at the Marriot right across the street!

Room Tip: Definitely stay on a higher floor for the best view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4410, General Manager at Marriott Niagara Falls Gateway on the Falls Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Good Day kredsmom,

I am sorry that we did not provide you with a perfect stay. I appreciate your comments so that we may improve the experiences that we are providing to our guests. I hope that you will consider staying with us again.

Gord Chow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Choose a high floor for breath-taking view!
We stayed on the 29th floor. It was a far walk to the maid of the mist. But hotel area was nearby to a lot of eateries and small convenient stalls
Staff was friendly.
lost and found department is very efficient. Left my phone in the room and they did a very good follow up on that.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4410, General Manager at Marriott Niagara Falls Gateway on the Falls Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Good Day Mingyan A,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor. I am so happy that you had a great stay with us. We hope to see you soon!

Gord Chow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stouffville
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

The hotel was nicely located, and had amazing views of the Falls from the elevator areas. Our room was clean and spacious, so not sure where these complaints of mold and outdated rooms are coming from.

We had 2 kids under 3 yrs old with us, and a set of grandparents in the other room. We all thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Yes, the Starbucks onsite is quite expensive. But it is privately owned, and every hotel has a Starbucks on this street. I'm sure they are all priced the same.

Swimming pool was wicked, and the kids loved it!

Milestones onsite was great (as we received $25 vouchers for each room upon checkin), as we ate their for lunch.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4410, General Manager at Marriott Niagara Falls Gateway on the Falls Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Crazy_Canuck_Tdot,

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. I am very pleased to hear that you had a great stay with us. I appreciate your comments and look forward to having you back again.

Gord Chow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Worth, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

With this stay, Marriott has managed to take former Platinum level Rewards members and insure that we will be staying at other properties in the future. We reserved our room one month in advance. At check-in (which took quite a while) we were informed that we would need to switch rooms after one night but that they would give us a higher floor (we had booked a falls view). We were told if we liked the original room we were in on the lower floor, we could remain there. Upon entering the room, we liked that it had a shared deck. I immediately called the front desk and told them we wanted to stay in this room (307). The young lady said, "okay." We then unpacked after an exhausting road trip from Florida only to get a call from Nathan, the Manager, who said we need to move. He agreed to move us to a fourth-floor room with a falls view and small patio.
We spoke to Nathan about our concerns and he agreed to give us free Internet access in our room (a rip-off at $10/day) and 3 days of free breakfast buffet. The Internet service was poor, frustrating and non-existent. We called the front desk, was given a phone number for technical support; they did not answer. Later, we called tech support again;they assued us the problem would be fixed. It was not! Talk about frustrating!
The breakfast buffet was fantastic. The restaurant is very good. Julie is an outstanding server. However, upon looking at our final bill online, it appears we were charged for the last day's breakfast which should have been part of the "comp" given us by the Manager.
The elevator service is slow, slow, slow. At one point only one elevator was working to service our bank of floors
Light bulbs in our original room were out in the bathroom and over the bed--just another nuisance. There was a label and a small amount of debris on the carpet left from the previous guest--indication to me that vacuuming was sloppy.
In our second room (415) there was a carpet stain.
We met a lovely couple and their daughter on the shared 3rd floor balcony who, after learning that we planned to again dine in the hotel restaurant, gave us their $25 coupon that they received at check-in. We were Platinum Rewards members (we used the points so now we are only Silver Elite) and Marriott Rewards Chase card member but did not get a discount coupon.
The falls view from the fourth floor patio is spectacular, but the patio is old, cracked and dilapidated. There is a constant leak from the a/c units above.
This hotel is the poor "step-sister" to the Marriott across the street, and as guests here who spent a substantial amount of money to stay here, we were treated as "less than."

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4410, General Manager at Marriott Niagara Falls Gateway on the Falls Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Good Day mntaormina,

Thank you for sharing this experience on Trip Advisor. We are aware of your concerns and you were contacted earlier by our office. I do apologize for the less than perfect experience you had at our hotel.

Gord Chow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
317 reviews 317 reviews
113 hotel reviews
Reviews in 120 cities Reviews in 120 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Via Booking.com we booked a suite overlooking the Canadian Horseshoe Falls and the view was spectacular: we cannot complain about that. The Marriot is actually the closed to the falls so it doesn't get better. The suite had a very nice bathroom with jacuzzi and through a glass wall full sight of the falls. So in that respect we got what we had expected and even more. I hate it, however, when services like parking and wifi are charged at outrageous rates. Parking in an unsecured parking garage costed 20 dollars a day; wifi 10 dollars a day which we felt was a ripp-off. But then again, the view was spectacular, so probably Marriot can get away with it. Service was friendly. There is no minibar just a fridge in the room. The bed was very comfortable. For a suite, the room was somewhat small but then again, the view... All in all no regrets but Marriot could do more to 'wow' their guests with more than just the view.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4410, General Manager at Marriott Niagara Falls Gateway on the Falls Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear DeKokkies,

I am very happy to read that you loved the view that we offer here at the Marriott Gateway. I thank you for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor and I hope that we will see you again.

Gord Chow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Niagara Falls Gateway on the Falls Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Niagara Falls Gateway on the Falls Hotel

Address: 6755 Fallsview Boulevard, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3W7, Canada (Formerly Sheraton Fallsview Hotel and Conference Center)
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Niagara Falls
#7 Luxury Hotel in Niagara Falls
#18 Family Hotel in Niagara Falls
#24 Romantic Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Niagara Falls Gateway on the Falls Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marriott Niagara Falls Hotel Gateway on the Falls is the ideal place to stay for your next leisure getaway. Aptly named, the hotel serves as a "gateway" to all of Niagara, and its recent $15-million renovation and upgrade offers our Niagara Falls hotel guests a modern and trendy travel experience. For guests looking to experience the best that a Niagara Falls hotel has to offer, the Marriott Gateway Niagara Falls hotel is situated in the heart of the Fallsview Boulevard district, minutes away from area attractions, world-class wineries, golf and casinos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Groupon and Hotels.com so you can book your Marriott Niagara Falls Gateway on the Falls Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Gateway On The Falls Hotel Niagara Falls
Sheraton Niagara Falls
Niagara Falls Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Niagara Falls Gateway on the Falls Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.