We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for a romantic get away.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Niagara Falls Gateway on the Falls Hotel

Save Saved
You added Marriott Niagara Falls Gateway on the Falls Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marriott Niagara Falls Gateway on the Falls Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6755 Fallsview Boulevard, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3W7, Canada (Formerly Sheraton Fallsview Hotel and Conference Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #24 of 139 hotels in Niagara Falls
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice place for a romantic get away.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

My vacation to Niagara was a 2 day romantic getaway .I decide to stay at this place as i am member of the Marriott chain. The concierges was nice and warm and helped me get an upgrade. But be cautious about the parking your car at the vicinity ,it's charged and costs almost $30 for a night.

The hotel is located at a good spot, but i would suggest that Sheraton is better located and gives a better view of the fall.And also is much closer to the attractions.

The room was quite comfortable and most importantly offered a good view of the falls.

For the ones who like to make a splash there is a swimming pool as well.

Restaurants in Marriott:
The Terrapin
Restaurants in the second floor offers a good view of the falls .
The breakfast is served up till 10:30 Am.The buffet was pretty much Marriott like with croissants and other assortments at one end and a live counter at the other.
Note:- Do keep the buffet coupon that you receive while checking in without which you would be charged for the breakfast.

What other restaurants you can try while staying at Marriott:
I choose to go to an Pakistani restaurant called Qila it offers pretty good dinner buffet.

Best time to travel: I would say between April-July

Issues Faced:
There was definitely something wrong with the speed of the lifts, do watch out for the same.

Room Tip: Try and book early to get a higher floor room facing the falls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4410, General Manager at Marriott Niagara Falls Gateway on the Falls Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Suhel_2112,

Thank you for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor from your recent stay. I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us.

Gord Chow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,447 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    490
    547
    228
    113
    69
See reviews for
390
603
23
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Webb loved the view and the StyleWriter om the hotel.... Very friendly staff and lovely restaurant. The Bathroom Witherspoon jacuzzi is fabulos withmview of the falls....
The bad thing about the hotel is that its situated farthest away up à steep hill... Luckily there are good bus services in the area....would go again!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4410, General Manager at Marriott Niagara Falls Gateway on the Falls Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Pensum,

Thank you for your comments. I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and I hope that we will see you again soon.

Gord Chow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russellville, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Marriott Gateway website would lead one to believe its view to be one of the best. Actually is has the least desirable view of the hotels on the ridge overlooking the falls. The view is still nice, but is almost from behind the Canadian falls. Ask for the highest room available and this will help a lot. Quiet, with little traffic. At the end of the strip, but still within walking distance of many attractions. WE-GO city bus stop in front of hotel. Starbucks in lobby. Milestones restaurant inside is decent but pricey. Reservation will get you a $25 discount at Milestones.

Room Tip: Choose the highest room available for a view of the falls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4410, General Manager at Marriott Niagara Falls Gateway on the Falls Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear David D,

Thank you for sharing your experience with Trip Advisor. I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sorry to hear that you felt you did not get the best view of Niagara Falls when staying with us compared to past stays. I hope that we will see you again.

Gord Chow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We enjoyed our stay very much. The room was very comfortable. No, the rooms are not huge and the hotel is not brand new. But, it is modern and pleasant.
Annoyances -- you pay $275 for a room plus $9 for WiFi and more for parking.
However, you are paying for the view. A small window opens so you can hear the falls. You can see the fireworks at night over the river. You can see the sunrise over the falls. It's a reasonable walk to restaurants but a bit of a trek to see the falls close up.
The staff were pleasant and very helpful. We had a major reservation snafu and they straightened it out promptly as well as giving us a great room
The bellhop was efficient and helpful.

Room Tip: I wouldn't pay these rates if I didn't get a room with a falls view. Be careful not to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4410, General Manager at Marriott Niagara Falls Gateway on the Falls Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Businessvoyager0,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your review on Trip Advisor. I am very happy to hear that you had a nice stay with us and that our associates were helpful when there was a booking error. I hope that we will see you again soon.

Gord Chow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wethersfield, Connecticut
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We had a 2 room suite on the 25th floor overlooking the falls with great views. The room was clean, the beds comfortable so we were happy. It was far less expensive taking the suite vs 2 separate rooms so if you need the space look into this option. We had a king bed, TV and bath (walk in shower/whirlpool tub) in one room with door that separated it from a another room with 2 queen beds, TV and another bath. The breakfast buffet was also excellent. Some may note the price of $20 as being a bit high but it was so easy to just go downstairs and still enjoy the great view while eating. The buffet included lots of fruit with whole bananas, apples etc that we took for a snack later in the day. The service was fine at this Marriott. I would return here if I had the chance.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the falls in a higher location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4410, General Manager at Marriott Niagara Falls Gateway on the Falls Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear capecodtraveler01,

Thank you for your wonderful comments. I do hope that you will stay with us again.

Gord Chow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagrange, Ohio
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed for two night for our anniversary. The view was spectacular, but have to pay for it. They charge a higher rate to stay on that side of the hotel. Room was very nice, clean. Bed was very comfortable, bedding was crisp and clean. Bathrooms are a bit small. Did not appreciate having to pay an extra $20 per night to park after the price of the rooms. The restaurant has very good food for dinner and a very nice buffet breakfast which was included in our package. Service was excellent.

Room Tip: If you want the beautiful view of the falls you will have to pay the higher price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4410, General Manager at Marriott Niagara Falls Gateway on the Falls Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Doreen L,

Thank you for sharing your comments. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope that we will see you again when you are visiting the area.

Gord Chow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Booked hotel for july 4th weekend in Superior Falls view room. Well view is great but half horseshoe and full american falls as it is on top of the falls.

Bellhop (old white haired) was no help during check in. did not help with our luggage. Would find us a trolley to carry our luggage. Had to complain at reception desk to get help.

No frre wifi in the room.Really...when we pay $200++? ridiculous.

The wait for elevators was crazy. Many times I caught lift up....to be able to go down.

Plus - Rooms were clean and with extra towels as requested. Rooms great size but toilet was small. Breakfast was good, tasty for additional $20. There was no option for BF inclusion on room booking.

There are no childrens activities around and area is more peaceful. If you want action, look at hotel at Cliffton hill

Room Tip: upper floors have better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4410, General Manager at Marriott Niagara Falls Gateway on the Falls Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear ravMumbai,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I do apologize for the waits with our elevators and for the lack of service when you arrived. I hope that you will consider staying with us again when you are visiting the area.

Gord Chow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marriott Niagara Falls Gateway on the Falls Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Niagara Falls Gateway on the Falls Hotel

Address: 6755 Fallsview Boulevard, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3W7, Canada (Formerly Sheraton Fallsview Hotel and Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Niagara Falls
#11 Business Hotel in Niagara Falls
#23 Romantic Hotel in Niagara Falls
#24 Casino Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Niagara Falls Gateway on the Falls Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marriott Niagara Falls Hotel Gateway on the Falls is the ideal place to stay for your next leisure getaway. Aptly named, the hotel serves as a "gateway" to all of Niagara, and its recent $15-million renovation and upgrade offers our Niagara Falls hotel guests a modern and trendy travel experience. For guests looking to experience the best that a Niagara Falls hotel has to offer, the Marriott Gateway Niagara Falls hotel is situated in the heart of the Fallsview Boulevard district, minutes away from area attractions, world-class wineries, golf and casinos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Marriott Niagara Falls Gateway on the Falls Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Gateway On The Falls Hotel Niagara Falls
Sheraton Niagara Falls
Niagara Falls Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Niagara Falls Gateway on the Falls Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.