We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rave Reviews” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lion's Head Bed & Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Lion's Head Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lion's Head Bed & Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   5239 River Road, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2E3G9, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 66 Niagara Falls B&B and Inns
A TripAdvisor Member
“Rave Reviews”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2006

Wow......Many thanks to Helena for a wonderful stay. My husband and I could not have been more impressed. The home is lovely and like many others have stated the rooms are gorgeous. Everything is of the finest quality!!! Helena is a wonderful hostess and her breakfasts are superb. The walk to the falls is so lovely that it doesn't even seem like 10 minutes. Helena was so helpful in planning our activities and gave the best driving directions. We were so lucky to stay at Lions Head and would stay there again in a heartbeat. Thanks again. Stephanie & Erich

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    281
    20
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
28
173
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2006

My wife and I and a couple friend stayed together at Lionshead for two days over the weekend. What a pleasant surprise! Not only was the facility first rate, but the host was very personable and expressed interest in what her guests' needs were. Oh, did I forget to mention the first rate breakfasts? Superb cooking and presentation. I could have eaten breakfast all day long here.

Another plus for Lionshead is the host's effort to see that her guests are made aware of the many "insider" goodies that a casual visitor would not know about. For example: we wanted to visit a winery in nearby Niagra-On-The-Lake. It just so happens the host has a special membership that entitles her (and any guests) to some great wine tasting tours at the elite Peller winery. We spent four hours there - tasting, eating, and touring. Normally, what we did would have cost over $50 per person. Our host got this for us for zero dollars.

Normally, Niagra Falls has fireworks on Friday and Sunday nights during the warm months. And the crowds are usually large. Ask Helena for the best spot to view. You will have an unobstructed view and no crowds. Also, she knows what restaurants provide free transportation for dinner. Sure beats driving.

In sum, a first rate B&B that will not disappoint.

BILL & LYNDA HUDSON

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, PA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2006

I have traveled the world and have never felt so comfortable and pampered as I did at the Lion's Head B&B. My husband made last minute vacation plans for Niagara Falls and were told we had to stay on the Canadian side. Although I am a B&B person, I checked out all the options...from hotels, to timeshares. The hotels were priced over $300. After much research, we decided upon the Lion's Head (which by the way was priced at less than half the price of the standard hotel options). We made our choice based on the fact that the B&B was only a 10 minute walk to the falls...and away from the chaos of the casinos. And, WOW, what a weekend we had!

Helena runs the show herself...from the perfectly blended custom paint colors and elegant fabrics and appointments, luxurious down comforters and high thread count sheets, to the gourmet three course breakfasts to her wealth of knowledge of the entire Niagara area.....you'll never want to leave.

What a joy it was to share stories with other guests at the breakfast table and know that when we parted for the day we had been given suggestions pointing us to the best activities and restaurants in the area. And look forward to doing it all again the next day.

Helena is a rare treasure in today's world of hospitality! Let her treat you to an experience you'll never forget.

Kristen and Slade

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2006

Excellent food and excellent atmosphere. You really can't ask for anything else here. Helena is a wonderful cook and an even more wonderful person. I assure you, you won't be let down. Seriously, I challenge anyone who can speak ill of this place, and I am quite the critic. A must!

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
220 helpful votes 220 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2006

We booked this B&B on the strength of the reviews on this site &, I have to say, they represented the place perfectly. It is a wonderful establishment.

We booked via email & from this first contact, the host (Helena) was helpful & couldn't do enough. Her directions from the airport were spot on & recommendations for food & sightseeing were invaluable.

The room was out of this world with a huge comfortable bed, large shower room & with an individual, eclectic style. We stayed in the Guaguin room with a gorge view.

The breakfasts were amazing with fresh fruit to start with followed by a cooked course such as eggs benedict or french toast with maple smoked bacon & fruit of the forest compote. The tea was brewed perfectly - very important for us Brits!

We could walk to the falls within 20 minutes & all of Helena's recommendations were ideal. We managed to see all the area had to offer within our short timeframe of a day & a half.

If anyone I know is going to Niagara I would point them in the direction of this B&B. Sure, there are cheaper places to stay in the area but we saved so much money by avoiding the attractions not worth seeing. Also, you get what you pay for.

If we return to the area - highly likely - I wouldn't even think about booking anywhere else to stay other than the Lion's Head. Helena obviously takes great pride in her decor & the house's history.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2006

It was simply amazing, the food was excellent differnt food each day. The bed was awsome slept like a king!!! Helena was very helpful, an amazing host to us, Told us about Niagara on the lake, would have never went there if it wasnt for her, she know niagara, def would recommend this place again and again. Nothing like a great host to make a stay even more awsome. Would def, stay there again if we were in the area!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2006

This is my fourth time staying in a bed and breakfast, and this was by far the most rewarding experience I have had thus far. Helena, the hostess is great!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lion's Head Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lion's Head Bed & Breakfast

Address: 5239 River Road, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2E3G9, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lion's Head Bed & Breakfast 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award-winning luxurious bed and breakfast with a fabulous location overlooking the spectacular Niagara Gorge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lion's Head Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lion's Head Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.