We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Most Pleasant Surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Rex Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Rex Motel to your Saves list
The Rex Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   6247 Mcleod Road, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G3E9, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 137 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A Most Pleasant Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2010

We found The Rex to be a very clean motel with comfortable beds and pillows. The owner/manager was very accomodating to make our stay pleasant. Our room was equiped with a refrigerator, coffee maker, and a microwave. There is free parking at the motel and a continental breakfast is provided. The rooms, while small, reminded me of hotels in Europe. There is a small and very clean private bath with tub/shower. We were provided a very efficient electric heater which we did use at night - we were never cold. We were provided an extra lamp which was helpful for reading. The directions to inexpensive downtown parking, a nice resort area North of Niagara Falls, the Christmas Lights, and a wonderful restaurant were helpful and appreciated. I would not hesitate to return to this hotel as long as it is owned and managed by the same family.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    116
    18
    10
    2
See reviews for
93
273
17
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canandaigua, New York
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2010

The previous reviews were correct about the staff being friendly, almost overly friendly. The room was also relatively clean, for the vintage of this motel. However, I can't believe that all of the previous reviewers failed to notice some of the following. There was not any thermostat to control the room temperature in this room. There was some heat coming out of two centrally located registers, but my wife wanted it warmer, so she slept with her clothes on. A large window faced a well lit parking lot, and the curtains had to be held closed using extra pillows, which was set up that way when we entered the room. The curtains were unlined, so the room could not be made dark. My wife needs total darkness to fall asleep. The bathroom was very small, with a wall mounted sink, toilet, and 32" square corner shower, all very close together. The only place to set anything down in the bathroom was on top of the toilet tank. The adjacent rooms were not occupied, but we could easily hear other guests. In the morning the water running through the pipes was very loud, and you can hear every car or truck that travels down McLeod Road. Don't expect to walk to do sightseeing, since most destinations are at least a mile away. We checked in late, and all we asked was where we might park for free near the falls or casino area, but the information I was given did not turn out to be that useful in locating free parking, so we ended up paying for parking. The next day I found several free parking places on my own. We usually do bidding to name our own price for hotels, and we are accustomed to paying less than we paid at this motel for very nice 3 star hotels, so for us this was not a good value, being more like a 1 star hotel. We definitely will not be returning.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2010

Rex Motel is the cleanest motel and they provide the best service! The rooms are really clean and nice, they have private bathrooms, each room has a unique style. Amazing!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

We live in Toronto and have been in Niagara Falls numerous times, staying in both big hotels and smaller motels (many of them are run down, cleanliness is not a top priority, etc). Since we discovered Rex Motel, there is no need to search any more - we know where to go and when we take guests overnight to Niagara, we always stay at the Rex. You can't get any better for your buck, and the rooms are so clean that they shine! You also get your own kitchen nook with a fridge and microwave, and also a complimentary breakfast is included!
We were most impressed by the dedication and imagination of the owners who designed every room of the motel in a different style and theme: Middle Ages, Egyptian, Province, etc. So every room offers a different atmosphere and if you are staying there, you might want to go online and check out which room would correspond best to your mood and ask for it. The owners are a wonderful young couple who are ever so nice, would meet you with a smile and make you feel welcome as if you were an old friend!
So, if you are looking for a budget stay at Niagara Falls close to it all but still in a quiet area and want to get a good experience, go for the Rex Motel - we highly recommend!
D.Nedkova & family

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

the warm, friendly service is tops...
we decided to save money on accommodation so we could spend it elsewhere, this was the right choice.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

Cozy atmosphere and wonderful service. The rooms are very clean and nice.
We liked The Rex motel very much!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

We spend wonderful week at the Rex motel. All the services are really close less than 20 minutes. If you want a quality service with incredible hospitality you have to visit them. The staff will give you all the information that you need so you will not miss anything. Every room is decorated with different style with taste. i recommend them to all who want escape from the ordinary but still fell themselves as a friend not just the next client. We had a unforgettable week.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Rex Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rex Motel

Address: 6247 Mcleod Road, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G3E9, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Niagara Falls
#7 Family Hotel in Niagara Falls
#13 Best Value Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Rex Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rex Motel in Ontario, Canada is only within a 5-minute drive of the breath taking Niagara Falls, MarineLand and the Niagara Convention and Civic Center. Also it is in a very close distance to most of the city attractions, theatres, restaurants and attractive shops.The Rex Motel is a family managed and operated business and it is open for its guests all year round. Our selection of 15 boutique rooms with individual unique character, fantastic budget rates, convenient location and peaceful surroundings will definitely make your stay a memorable one.The motel is providing its guests with a free Wi-Fi and free on-site parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Rex Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rex Hotel Niagara Falls

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rex Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.