We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easily the Best Value in Niagara Falls!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Rex Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Rex Motel to your Saves list
The Rex Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   6247 Mcleod Road, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G3E9, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 137 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Kingston, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Easily the Best Value in Niagara Falls!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

My wife and I stayed at The Rex for 3 nights while we celebrated our 10th anniversary. Overall we were very satisfied with our stay.

Pros:
The room was clean, beautifully decorated, and it was easy to tell that the owners really want you to have a great stay. The bed (king size) was comfortable and the sheets clean. The shower was excellent (no tub) and there was a small area between the bedroom and bathroom that doubled as the closet and kitchenette (fridge and microwave). The television worked in our room although we really didn't watch it much since we were out most of the time. We were able to park in front of our room all but one night. Check-in/out was easy and the owner really took pride in sharing any information she had about the area's restaurants, attractions, and parking. Easily the best value around ($ 75 - $ 100 /night less expensive than hotels near the falls on a long weekend.)

Cons:
Really not that close to the falls tourist area. My wife and I are relatively fit but by Sunday afternoon I was spent! The WeGo buses are great but, unfortunately, there aren't any stops near the motel which meant walking (3 km to the falls) or driving and parking. Also, remember that while it's a beautiful motel it is still a motel which has been beautified by the current owners. The walls are thin so you can hear your neighbors if they speak loudly or use the plumbing.

Overall:
A great place to stay. I'd return to say hi or if I was in Niagara on business but when my wife and I return with the kids we'll stay closer to the falls and Clifton Hill.

Room Tip: African room is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    113
    18
    9
    2
See reviews for
93
267
16
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Bellmore, New York
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Our family of four stayed in the family suite.
Pros: great shower, my kids each had a bed, away from the downtown area, and the personal attention from the owner was great. She gave wonderful restaurant suggestions. It is clean and we slept well.

Cons: very tight quarters, no closet space or dresser drawers, tv still doesn't work (see review below), can't control temperature and I woke up freezing the first night.

My husband did not understand the high ratings and would not return here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockton, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We stayed in a Venitian themed room which was very cute and super clean. The staff at the hotel was very friendly and helpful. The location of the hotel is really close to the falls and the main streets. Also, it was very reasonably priced. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

The staff is incredibly kind and efficient, the rooms are small, but charming and immaculate, and there are sweet touches of holiness that make this place a real bang for your buck. Add to that easy access to a local grocery store with mini fridges and microwaves in every room, and being only 2.6 miles from the Falls, and you couldn't do any better for the money. I'd go back any time I visited again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Stayed at The Rex for 2 nights in July with my wife and toddler. Emilia is extremely accommodating. The room has a fridge and coffee machine, while fresh savoury pastries were provided upon arrival. Location is perfect, so close to the falls, while also very close to a supermarket and liquor store. There are also comfortable chairs and table outside each room, while the free wireless internet is great. All in all, a wonderful motel, really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Excellent clean rooms. Our Italian themed room was very festive. The owners were very kind and very helpful. We would stay there again. Nice location to the falls. Also close to family fun attractions.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laval, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We booked a one night stay at the very last minute because we were only passing by Niagara during our road trip. We were skeptical at first when we saw the pictures and the location on the website, but we decided to give it a try because of all the good reviews. We were pleasantly surprised! The owners were very welcoming and helpful, the room was super clean, the bed was comfortable and we had everything we needed in the room (fridge, microwave, hairdrier, etc.). The falls and all the other attractions were just a few minutes away. As for the previous clients who complained about the noise, I really can't say we were bothered by it. Yes, the motel is on a main street, but we hardly heard a few cars passing during the night. We slept like babies! We will definitely recommend this place to our friends and come back if we are ever in the region again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Rex Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rex Motel

Address: 6247 Mcleod Road, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G3E9, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Niagara Falls
#6 Family Hotel in Niagara Falls
#9 Best Value Hotel in Niagara Falls
#13 Business Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Rex Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rex Motel in Ontario, Canada is only within a 5-minute drive of the breath taking Niagara Falls, MarineLand and the Niagara Convention and Civic Center. Also it is in a very close distance to most of the city attractions, theatres, restaurants and attractive shops.The Rex Motel is a family managed and operated business and it is open for its guests all year round. Our selection of 15 boutique rooms with individual unique character, fantastic budget rates, convenient location and peaceful surroundings will definitely make your stay a memorable one.The motel is providing its guests with a free Wi-Fi and free on-site parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your The Rex Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rex Hotel Niagara Falls

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rex Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.