We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Rex Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Rex Motel to your Saves list
The Rex Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   6247 Mcleod Road, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G3E9, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 136 Hotels in Niagara Falls
London
Level Contributor
74 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Stayed at The Rex for 2 nights in July with my wife and toddler. Emilia is extremely accommodating. The room has a fridge and coffee machine, while fresh savoury pastries were provided upon arrival. Location is perfect, so close to the falls, while also very close to a supermarket and liquor store. There are also comfortable chairs and table outside each room, while the free wireless internet is great. All in all, a wonderful motel, really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    128
    19
    10
    2
See reviews for
99
300
18
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lansing, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Excellent clean rooms. Our Italian themed room was very festive. The owners were very kind and very helpful. We would stay there again. Nice location to the falls. Also close to family fun attractions.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laval, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We booked a one night stay at the very last minute because we were only passing by Niagara during our road trip. We were skeptical at first when we saw the pictures and the location on the website, but we decided to give it a try because of all the good reviews. We were pleasantly surprised! The owners were very welcoming and helpful, the room was super clean, the bed was comfortable and we had everything we needed in the room (fridge, microwave, hairdrier, etc.). The falls and all the other attractions were just a few minutes away. As for the previous clients who complained about the noise, I really can't say we were bothered by it. Yes, the motel is on a main street, but we hardly heard a few cars passing during the night. We slept like babies! We will definitely recommend this place to our friends and come back if we are ever in the region again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terryville, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

My husband and I had a wonderful two night stay at the Rex Motel! It had convenient free parking, which a lot of hotels in Niagara don't offer. Our Caribbean themed room was adorable. The owners were extremely helpful and friendly. They gave is tips on where to go and where to park in the city. Our room was very clean and comfy. I would definitely recommend this motel.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

make sure you read all the lower reviews, as they are accurate with regards to street noise and no room temperature control. The temperature is centrally located. No iron in the rooms, no where to store luggage. Good value if it was $75/night but at $159 there are better options. Check in was friendly and easy. Answered all questions.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

This place is a gem. It is a family run motel with excellent service. Our stay couldn't have been better. You will need to drive to the falls however parking was easy for us to find in June and the owners had all the answers for affordable parking. Thier suggestions for restaurants were excellent they didn't stead us wrong. The rooms are clean for the value you just can't beat it. We loved not being anywhere near the tourist trap!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We booked the family suite for two nights. The owners gave us great advice and pastries upon arrival. The beds were comfortable. However, the TV remote in one of bedrooms did not work. The owners knew about it, but didn't want to replace the TV to make it work. The bed also rolled quickly away from the wall when we sat up with pillows against the wall. I chocked one of the wheels and stopped that. You will have to drive to get to the Niagara attractions, as it isn't on the city's tourist bus route. All that being said, I would recommend staying here if you're traveling with a family on a budget and are ok with a couple things being less than perfect.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
1.0 mi away
Marriott Niagara Falls Fallsview Hotel & Spa
2.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Niagara Falls, ON
1.3 mi away
DoubleTree Fallsview Resort & Spa by Hilton - Niagara Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Fallsview
1.0 mi away
The Tower Hotel
The Tower Hotel
#14 of 136 in Niagara Falls
4.0 of 5 stars 675 reviews
1.2 mi away
Wyndham Garden Fallsview Niagara Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rex Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rex Motel

Address: 6247 Mcleod Road, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G3E9, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Niagara Falls
#1 Romantic Hotel in Niagara Falls
#7 Best Value Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Rex Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rex Motel in Ontario, Canada is only within a 5-minute drive of the breath taking Niagara Falls, MarineLand and the Niagara Convention and Civic Center. Also it is in a very close distance to most of the city attractions, theatres, restaurants and attractive shops.The Rex Motel is a family managed and operated business and it is open for its guests all year round. Our selection of 15 boutique rooms with individual unique character, fantastic budget rates, convenient location and peaceful surroundings will definitely make your stay a memorable one.The motel is providing its guests with a free Wi-Fi and free on-site parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Rex Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rex Hotel Niagara Falls

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rex Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.