We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Rex Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Rex Motel to your Saves list
The Rex Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   6247 Mcleod Road, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G3E9, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 137 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Spent 2 nights here, very clean, neat and comfortable, and the owners are very gratious and helpful, situated just over a mile from the Falls. park in the IMAX car park for 2 dollars all day, a bargain. Keep in mind this is a budget motel, although No 1 on Trip advisor, excellent value but do not expect big, expensive hotel facilities. Weather was minus four and getting back to our warm, comfortable room was wonderful. One negative is the heating/air conditioning is noisy and I did not get good nights sleep, take ear plugs. A very enjoyable stay, thank you

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    116
    18
    10
    2
See reviews for
93
273
17
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wasaga Beach, Ontario
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We spent one night at the Rex and found our hostess to be so welcoming, informed, helpful and made us feel right at home from the moment we arrived. There is great value here. The rooms in this motel are very clean are 'theme' based and decorated as such. We stayed in Provence!! The beds were comfy, linens Excellent, lots of hot water and towels. We found this accommodation a short drive to everything and exceeded our expectations in all ways, We would definitely recommend others to enjoy a stay at the Rex.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We have traveled to Niagara Falls over 20 times over the years. Usually we have stayed in one of the hotels on Fallsview with a room facing the falls. It's beautiful, but very expensive. Is it really worth paying $300+ for a room in which you spend most of the time with your eyes closed!
We decided to change direction and look for a place less expensive. We are very glad we picked The Rex Motel. It was the cheapest room but also the most pleasurable.
The best feature of the Rex by far were the owners. This is a family run motel. We felt as if we were guests in their home. Even their teenage son was helpful. There were even home-made pastries left in our room every day. The rooms were VERY clean. Each room is themed to a different country. We stayed in "France". Nice little touches. The room had a coffee maker, refrigerator and microwave.
The rooms are not large nor luxurious, but more than adequate for a place to sleep.
The motel is 5 minutes from the falls. Parking at the motel is free. FYI--drive to Murray Ave and pay $5 to park at the casino garage to visit the falls. Much cheaper than parking at the NPC lots for $15-20.
In summary, save your money and stay at the Rex Motel. The owners are motivated to provide a nice place to stay with personal service. My future visits to the falls area will include staying at the Rex Motel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Just returned from the Rex MOTEL. I normally don't stay at motels but, with the great reviews I couldn't pas up the $63.00 a night rate I found on booking.com. I actually cancelled a previous reservation at a chain hotel that would of cost me $189.00 a night. My wife and I were amazed at how clean our room was, absolutely spotless! The owners were exttreamly friendly, kind and helpful.
Please keep in mind, this is a budget MOTEL. Not a HOTEL. Our king room was adequate, with a comfortable king bed. There was a small fridge, microwave and coffee maker in the room. The rooms are small but has everything one needs, if your looking for a large suite with fancy amenities, go pay 3 times this price. If your looking for a C L E A N comfortable bed to lay your head for the evening, this is a great place to stay.
I read the reviews before we went and took heed. The motel is close to a busy road, and there is a central heating system with ducts that go from room to room, so we brought ear plugs and weren't bothered by noise at all. Since the heating is central, you have no control of the tempature, but we found it very comfortable, and it went down into the 30's at night.
Upon check in, the owner explained that there were no clocks in the rooms, but if we wanted one, she would provided one, as well as an iron and board, if needed.
We returned to our room every evening to find home made pastries, what a nice surprise!
If you don't have your own transportation, this is probably not a good choice, if your going to the falls, the motel is approximately 1.3 miles away.
If you're budget minded and want a spotless place to stay, please consider all of the pluses, and consider some of the negatives and stay at the Rex MOTEL. Again, this is not a fancy spacious chain hotel and doesn't try to pretend to be. Take it for what it is, an affordable, ultra clean, budget motel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I know that the prices at this hotel may lead one to believe that the quality levels may not be to standard-- this is simply false!! We read reviews and booked with Emilia- she and her family own and operate a top quality, clean and comfortable establishment about ten minutes from the falls. Emi pointed us in the direction of 5 dollar parking and some amazing restaurants that we may have missed- being as we didn't know the place. If you are considering staying anywhere near the falls- I give this place the biggest thumbs up! Rooms have wi-fi, fridge, micro, coffee maker, walk-in showers and the most comfy beds I have ever experienced at a hotel. Definitely check this out!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Great Value, friendly staff, good location and clean rooms. I did stay two nights and at best could only get warm water for my shower but it didn't spoil my stay and the room was clean and well decorated. We were recommended to go to Mandarin restaurant along the road and I can highly recommend it. If you are travelling from overseas it is unlikely you have seen anything like it, there is also a cinema there too complete with IMAX. The falls are amazing and Niagara on the lake is an absolute must.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I was looking for where to stay for cheap while on vacation but not sacrifice cleanliness. This place was amazing! It is super clean and the rooms are so nice. To top it off the manager is the nicest lady I have ever met and she was super helpful. If you are in niagra falls you should definitely stay here!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Rex Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rex Motel

Address: 6247 Mcleod Road, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G3E9, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Niagara Falls
#7 Family Hotel in Niagara Falls
#13 Best Value Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Rex Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rex Motel in Ontario, Canada is only within a 5-minute drive of the breath taking Niagara Falls, MarineLand and the Niagara Convention and Civic Center. Also it is in a very close distance to most of the city attractions, theatres, restaurants and attractive shops.The Rex Motel is a family managed and operated business and it is open for its guests all year round. Our selection of 15 boutique rooms with individual unique character, fantastic budget rates, convenient location and peaceful surroundings will definitely make your stay a memorable one.The motel is providing its guests with a free Wi-Fi and free on-site parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Rex Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rex Hotel Niagara Falls

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rex Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.