We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Rex Motel

Save Saved
You added The Rex Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Rex Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   6247 Mcleod Road, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G3E9, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 138 hotels in Niagara Falls
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at rex motel for three days and from the first day we arrived the owner made it feel like home.. She advised us of the attractions in the area and of the places we could park for the cheapest rate. She allowed us to pick the room we would like to stay in from three different rooms. The bed was so comortable we had trouble getting out of bed in the morning. The rooms are kept very very clean. Even compared to some of the five star hotels we have stayed at in the past this room exceeded their quality. Will be staying here again in the future if we travel again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    294
    91
    15
    6
    2
See reviews for
81
227
14
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Patchogue, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

My wife and I spent a few days in Niagara Falls and Toronto the week after Christmas. I booked this place because I saw all the great reviews. We were not disappointed. It's nothing fancy but exactly what we needed. Park the car right in front of your door. Rooms were a little small but clean and comfortable. The family that owns and runs this place is terrific. Just great people. Very friendly and helpful. You can tell they take great pride in their business. Simeone and his wife Emi are sweethearts. The Falls are about a 5-10 minute car ride. We took a taxi there because we new we'd be drinking at the casino. A cab ride is under $10
We would definitely stay here again. Big thumbs up.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Stayed here because of the reviews. Gave the big Trip Advisor number one spiel to my wife on the way. The Rex is an old time motel that the owners put their heart and soul into. The room, with a king bed, was cute but very small. They have free WiFI but there was no place to put my laptop. There was a tiny round table with decorations on it but no room for anything else. The room was very clean; the bed linens perfect and crisp. One of the cleanest places we have stayed. The bath was small and the toilet not for large people. No charge for parking and you drive right up to your door. Don't count on walking to the falls; its too long a trek. You are so far out you can't see any of the glitzy lights from the falls area. Honestly, if we visit town again, we will stay at another place within walking distance of the falls.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

As this motel is ranked as the #1 choice there isn't much that we can add to all the raving reviews from all the other visitors. We will give you an overview of the reasons why we loved staying here:

1. Price/Quality: the rates compared to what you will receive is above expected. The rooms are of a fair size, the bathroom is complete and very clean, you will have lot's of channels to choose from if you plan to stay in your room and you will have free wifi.
2. Location: even though you will not be staying next to the falls we found the location excellent. A shopping mall and a grocery store are just down the street.
3. Visiting the Falls: you can buy a pass at the front desk which will give you access to the major attractions, yes maid of the mist is included and no you don't want to miss out on the maid of the mist even though it's a short trip with maybe a bit to many people and the guarantee that you will get soaked.
4. Parking: parking at the motel is free. To visit the falls we found cheap parking at the casino for $5 a day...and lost some money at the casino on our way back to the car ;-)
5. Hotel management: the motel is privately owned and we liked the personal approach very much. They will always help you with whatever you need and will give you advise on your trips if you want to of course.

One final comment: when you are still trying to make a decision on visiting the Niagara Falls from the US or from CA. We found that the Falls were easier accessible from the CA side. You can just drive by the falls and, with your window down, you will even be able to feel the mist. There is a lot to do in the environment everything is within walking distance and otherwise there is a shuttle service which will bring you to all the highlights. As we were returning to the US we decided to have a look at the falls from there as well. After finding a parking place we took a stroll through the park and then arrived at the falls. We did enjoy seeing it from the US side as well but found the CA side much more to be "into" the Falls.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is a family owned business, and the owner was very friendly. Check-in is not open 24-hours, but she called us when we were en route to tell us our room number and to let us know that the key was in the room.

The room was impeccably clean and very nicely decorated. We had a beach-themed room.

The motel is very-well priced, and only a short drive away from the Falls. Hotels closer to the Falls will definitely cost you more.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

We were met by the owner and shown through a range of recently refurbished rooms. The bed was comfy and the room (which admittedly was basic in a homely kind of way) was clean and well serviced during our stay. The owner was very attentive and left fresh home-made pastries in our room each day, couldn't do enough to help us enjoy our stay at the motel and our time in Niagara Falls. Only downside is that the motel isn't walking distance to the falls, then again its suburban location made it very quiet at night. We're glad we followed the reviews on this website and made the trek over the border to stay at the Rex Motel during our visit to Niagara Falls and surrounds.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muskoka
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We enjoyed choosing the theme room of choice - we chose the "Provence" a little bit of France in Niagara Falls. Very practically laid out, the shower is a European tiled stall, roomy and clean - the envy of many a higher end hotel/motel. The bed was very comfortable, and the owners friendly and informative, wanting to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. For the price and the service this is unbeatable - we will be back again, and recommend it to anyone traveling in the Niagara area. It is within easy distance to the Falls, St. Catherines, the QEW and the U.S. border.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Rex Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rex Motel

Address: 6247 Mcleod Road, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G3E9, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Niagara Falls
#2 Family Hotel in Niagara Falls
#9 Best Value Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Rex Motel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rex Motel in Ontario, Canada is only within a 5-minute drive of the breath taking Niagara Falls, MarineLand and the Niagara Convention and Civic Center. Also it is in a very close distance to most of the city attractions, theatres, restaurants and attractive shops.The Rex Motel is a family managed and operated business and it is open for its guests all year round. Our selection of 15 boutique rooms with individual unique character, fantastic budget rates, convenient location and peaceful surroundings will definitely make your stay a memorable one.The motel is providing its guests with a free Wi-Fi and free on-site parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your The Rex Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rex Hotel Niagara Falls

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rex Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.