We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great motel for a one-night stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Rex Motel

Save Saved
You added The Rex Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Rex Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   6247 Mcleod Road, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G3E9, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 139 hotels in Niagara Falls
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great motel for a one-night stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is a family owned business, and the owner was very friendly. Check-in is not open 24-hours, but she called us when we were en route to tell us our room number and to let us know that the key was in the room.

The room was impeccably clean and very nicely decorated. We had a beach-themed room.

The motel is very-well priced, and only a short drive away from the Falls. Hotels closer to the Falls will definitely cost you more.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    273
    81
    14
    5
    2
See reviews for
75
210
12
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

We were met by the owner and shown through a range of recently refurbished rooms. The bed was comfy and the room (which admittedly was basic in a homely kind of way) was clean and well serviced during our stay. The owner was very attentive and left fresh home-made pastries in our room each day, couldn't do enough to help us enjoy our stay at the motel and our time in Niagara Falls. Only downside is that the motel isn't walking distance to the falls, then again its suburban location made it very quiet at night. We're glad we followed the reviews on this website and made the trek over the border to stay at the Rex Motel during our visit to Niagara Falls and surrounds.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muskoka
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We enjoyed choosing the theme room of choice - we chose the "Provence" a little bit of France in Niagara Falls. Very practically laid out, the shower is a European tiled stall, roomy and clean - the envy of many a higher end hotel/motel. The bed was very comfortable, and the owners friendly and informative, wanting to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. For the price and the service this is unbeatable - we will be back again, and recommend it to anyone traveling in the Niagara area. It is within easy distance to the Falls, St. Catherines, the QEW and the U.S. border.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southborough, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

How can a little motel off the beaten path get better reviews than the big 5-star hotels with views overlooking the Falls? Probably with attention to detail and a sense of pride in ownership that is almost impossible to find these days. Yes, there is street noise, yes the rooms are small, but there are real teacups on the little bistro table and home-cooked fresh pastries delivered to your room! Everything looks so clean I swear they must repaint once a month - without spattering a drop. If you are budget-conscious and looking at motels in this price range, this is the only one you should consider. Even if you are looking at expensive hotels, you should still think about staying one night at the Rex. I must admit, I would never have considered a motel when planning our trip to NF, but the reviews here were so compelling that I decided to stay here our last night. We were going to spend the day in Niagara-on-the-Lake anyway and basically just sleep here before our morning departure. This freed up my hotel budget so I was able to justify upgrading to one of the Fallsview hotels the other nights, but then again I don't mind hotel-hopping. Plus, we had a car so NOT having to worry about what we did with the car (and how much it would cost) for one night was very nice. We got up in the morning, our car was right outside our door so we were off in less than 5 minutes. It was a 30-minute production to check out and get our car when we stayed downtown.
The owner is so gracious and nice and eager to please that it is difficult to find fault with this place. Her restaurant recs were spot on. My husband is hard to impress, but even he commented on the careful workmanship and unbelievable cleanliness. A truly memorable stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lyon, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Observations about the Rex:
1. Each room has a theme. Among others there is a Paris themed room and Caribbean themed room.
2. The rooms were renovated within the last few years.
3. It is a 5 minute drive to the Falls. It is probably a 30-40 minute walk to get downtown.

Positives:
1. Our room was very clean and well-maintained.
2. The owner was friendly and took great pride in her establishment.
3. The price was by far the best value we found.
4. Hot shower with great water pressure.
5. The room had a refrigerator.

Negatives:
1. The room and bathroom are small.
2. The TV is very small.
3. The bed was not very comfortable.

Room Tip: If you get there early, the owner will give you a tour of a couple rooms and you can pick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levack, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This is not your average motel, the owners are great and are very helpful with planning your stay and getting around. We got married while here and returned to our rooms that evening to a beautiful towel sculpture on our bed, a lovely card and wine glasses to go with the bottle of wine we brought with us.
Every evening they leave pastries in your room which make a great breakfast..we would definitely stay here again, it was great!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green, Ohio
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This little motel was great! We stayed here for 2 nights, Oct 10th and 11th 2012. The owner was exceptionally nice and when we arrived she took us to 4 different rooms and let us choose the one we wanted. We stayed in the Parisan room. We were also greeted by her with cream cheese puff pastries, which was a nice surprise. The rooms are a little small, but that should be expected from a motel, and at $63/night I really can't complain.

The room was beyond clean, it truly was spotless. The room had some nice features, like a mini fridge, microwave and coffee pot (things the Hampton does not have for much more a night), and a tv with cable (we really didn't care that its not an HD tv).

I would definitely stay here again even though I have no plans on returning to Niagara Falls. The only small complaints I would have are that the bed in a little hard and uncomfortable and that there is no thermostat or temperature control in the room, lucky for us the temperature was perfect so we wouldnt have needed to adjust it anyway - if you are staying in the summer or winter that could be different, but I can't speak for that.

With how overpriced and unclean many other places in the Falls area are, I say choose this one!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Rex Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rex Motel

Address: 6247 Mcleod Road, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G3E9, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Niagara Falls
#1 Romantic Hotel in Niagara Falls
#9 Best Value Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Rex Motel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rex Motel in Ontario, Canada is only within a 5-minute drive of the breath taking Niagara Falls, MarineLand and the Niagara Convention and Civic Center. Also it is in a very close distance to most of the city attractions, theatres, restaurants and attractive shops.The Rex Motel is a family managed and operated business and it is open for its guests all year round. Our selection of 15 boutique rooms with individual unique character, fantastic budget rates, convenient location and peaceful surroundings will definitely make your stay a memorable one.The motel is providing its guests with a free Wi-Fi and free on-site parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your The Rex Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rex Hotel Niagara Falls

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rex Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.