We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would never stay here again.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Rex Motel

Save Saved
You added The Rex Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Rex Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   6247 Mcleod Road, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G3E9, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 139 hotels in Niagara Falls
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Would never stay here again.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

We had read the reviews and decided to book at this hotel. When we arrived the room was definitely now what we expected. The bed was so low to the ground I don't know how we could have gotten up the next morning. We spoke with the manager and they showed us another room. Not much better but at least the bed was higher. We were exhausted and didn't want to drive all over to find another place.

We soon realized we should have driven on. There was no deadbolt on the door and the lock was totally insufficient. There was no air conditioning so you had to leave your unsecured window open. Everything was old and run down. I have stayed at older establishments before and there is a difference between vintage and run down. This is run down.

The neighborhood did not appear all that secure and we could not wait to get out of there the next morning. The breakfast consisted of a roll and there was nothing about this hotel that I could recommend (and I'm not a fussy traveler). I have no idea how this hotel has the positive reviews it does I kept thinking that I had to be at the wrong hotel but the address and the name confirmed that was not the case.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    277
    81
    14
    5
    2
See reviews for
75
212
12
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Ontario Canada
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

I selected this motel because of the great reviews, and I was curious to find why a 50 year old motel ranks #1 in a city full of hotels. The reason is obvious....the owner, Emily welcomes her guests more like the owner of a great B&B than one of an older motel.

I seldom stay in small local motel, because the vast majority are operated by people who appear not to like the business they are in. The Rex is completely the opposite situation, with Emily providing a warm welcome, insisting that I check available rooms for the one best suiting us, and even wishing guests a warm goodbye and a safe journey in the parking lot the next morning.

The Rex is not the "Ritz", but rather offers basic accommodation with very clean and tasteful and interestingly decorated rooms. It seems to attract a well mannered family/young couples clientele and was very quiet the night we stayed. Car in the lot were from Ontario and several US states.

A couple of minutes south of the busy Lundy's Lane strip, there is a family restaurant across the street and a 7 Eleven and a bar and grill on the other corners.

The place was full to capacity on a Sunday night in late May and a bit off the beaten track. Clearly, they are doing something right.

The experience was unlikely to get me to frequent local motels more often, but I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2011

We wanted to visit Niagara Falls on our way to birdwatch at Lake Erie. The motel room was basic but very clean, comfortable and had all facilities we needed. The owner was lovely, extremely welcoming even baking some delightful pastries for our breakfast.
I would highly recommend this place for a short stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

I booked this place after reading the great reviews on tripadvisor and I am pleased to say it lived up to the hype. My stay far exceeded my expectations for a motel. The owner is extremely friendly and delivered freshly baked pastries as a welcome present (when have you ever been to a motel that does that?!). She is also a great source of knowledge about the local area. All the rooms are creatively decorated, each having a unique theme.

At the end of the day, this is still a motel so it might not be for everyone. But if you are looking for a budget stay near Niagara Falls, I recommend this place without any hesitation. Be sure to make a reservation, as it books up!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

Hi, we are a young family from Montreal, we were in Niagara for the Easter holidays. I can say about Rex Motel , clean rooms, great location and absolutely reasonable prices. I hope when we want to stay again in the same motel to have a chance to have free rooms because I think that very soon the family that owns this motel will have 100% occupancy throughout the year .

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011

I stayed here because I had a layover one night before moving on somewhere else and my original criterion was simply finding a cheap hotel. When I arrived the owner was there to personally greet me and take of whatever I needed (complimentary water, pastries and any advice I needed). As for the rooms they are very unique and bright and well decorated, unlike many hotels that just have a sterile and generic fitting. The rooms were also very clean. I felt this was a very different experience than anywhere else I have stayed, very homely and the owners obviously take a lot of pride in their business.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

Lovely place, very clean, owners are very nice and polite. the motel is in a relatively quiet neighborhood and just (with the car) a few minutes away from the falls. tankstation and 7 eleven on the other side of the road, very conveniant. Wifi in the room was free!

Stayed April 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Rex Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rex Motel

Address: 6247 Mcleod Road, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G3E9, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Niagara Falls
#1 Family Hotel in Niagara Falls
#10 Best Value Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Rex Motel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rex Motel in Ontario, Canada is only within a 5-minute drive of the breath taking Niagara Falls, MarineLand and the Niagara Convention and Civic Center. Also it is in a very close distance to most of the city attractions, theatres, restaurants and attractive shops.The Rex Motel is a family managed and operated business and it is open for its guests all year round. Our selection of 15 boutique rooms with individual unique character, fantastic budget rates, convenient location and peaceful surroundings will definitely make your stay a memorable one.The motel is providing its guests with a free Wi-Fi and free on-site parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your The Rex Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rex Hotel Niagara Falls

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rex Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.