We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Time we had” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Susan's Villa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Susan's Villa to your Saves list
Susan's Villa
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   5481 Ontario Avenue, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2E 3S4, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 66 Niagara Falls B&B and Inns
Wil, Switzerland
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The best Time we had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We are from Germany and have been at Susan’s before. And we will surely come again!

If you like a CLEAN, comfortable, and safe place to stay close to the falls than this is it. Edwin & Susan are impeccable hosts...informative, friendly, accommodating...- all you want and like is here!

I've been home for a week now & miss them! Susan makes the best breakfasts. Great German Pancakes! Better be HUNGRY in the morning as she always has way too much good food on the table.

We all love the place. It is less than a 10 minute walk to the Falls and Clifton Hill.

The Italian suite is such a nice place to stay. There were 2 bedrooms; 1 with a queen bed & the other with a twin bed & fold out couch.

The bedrooms and the bathroom were all VERY clean which is really important to us.

The deck is a great place for relaxing.It is nice & shady. Also a nice place to have the breakfast outdoors.

I am very excited to return and will definitely reserve a room with the two of them again.

Simone & Thorsten

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan-R-Edwin, Manager at Susan's Villa, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you very much for this great review.
It was very nice to take the time to write this.
Susan and I hope to see you soon again.
Edwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    6
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
18
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Solon, Ohio
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Do not book this Bed and Breakfast. My husband and I planned a romantic getaway and decided to try this place. It appeared to be in a good location, have a good price, and seem to be reasonably decorated. We arrived at about 10:30 on Saturday… night and to our great surprise there was noone to check us in..although the first clue should have been a note hanging by the shoe rack at the front door to leave our shoes there. The couple that was staying at the Bed and Breakfast let us into the doorway and told us that the owners are not there and that we should contact them. Considering that we had international roaming at that point that was already a turn off for us. We contacted the owner who informed us that he will be there in a few minutes. Low and behold 20 minutes later he arrived, with questions such as "Why are you so late" and "Why did we not call". After being interrogated at 11 pm he informed us that supposedly he was overbooked and had no room for us. He then proceeded to inform us that he will take us to his "buddy" down the road who also had a bed and breakfast of same kind. At that point we had our doubts about anything that this person said and did not want to take our chances as we also feared for our safety. I had, at that point asked for a refund being as there is no room for us and he angrily replied that the reservation is non refundable. He also stated that because it was booked through an on-line booking, it was not his problem. With all this said please do not book this place. Unless you are looking for an adventure this is not what it is described to be at all. Please do not be fooled by 4 1/2 rating...this place does not deserve even 1...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan-R-Edwin, Manager at Susan's Villa, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
I did not want to write a response to this so called review for it is NOT a review but a bunch of lies and rubbish. Someone in his right mind would not even show up at a B & B at this time of the night without notify the owners! This is crudeness, ignorance, poor upbringing, and poor education.
I complained to Trip advisor because this traveller was not even a guest at Susan’s Villa. Trip advisor makes lots of money for listings from others and us. To print something like this is killing the goose who lays golden eggs. These people do not deserve the part name *advisor*. I certainly do NOT do any advertising at Trip advisor anymore.
In General: Why do some former guests write a bad review? Because they have not the courage talking to the management to have something rectified! Every manager would respond positively to a valid complaint! This is much easier than writing a response to some incompetent hogwash.
This is all I will say to an outrages nonsense like this and the people at Trip advisor probably do not even it although I was advised by them to write this. They said that I have the right to the *last word*. Will see.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Susan and Edwin's bed and breakfast is located in a quiet neighborhood convenient to the falls.Their bed and breakfast reminds me of Old World charm with over sized and overstuffed furniture. Spotlessly clean.The house is set up with two units on the first floor and two units on the second floor. During our entire stay we did not hear any noise coming from the other units. I did comment on day one that our room was hot and Edwin stated he would turn down the air. I think he turned it down from 82 degrees to 80. He stated that if he turned it down lower, it would be too cold for the guest on the lower floor. It was tolerable as long as the air was working. Note - it was hotter outside and so could not open the windows. When the air cycled off there was no circulation in the rooms and they became intolerably hot. Did not sleep well and felt we were in a sauna the first night. When I asked him to leave the blower fan on to keep the air circulating he stated that it was too noisy. He did supply us a fan and because the weather co-operated, we were able to open the windows for the balance of our stay. Our room had a queen size bed and a pull out couch. The other room had a pull out couch and a fold down bed. The suite is rated for 7 people but if you need to sleep more that four in the unit, there is no room to walk around. In my opinion, four maximum. In addition the queen bed was very uncomfortable and sagged in the middle with two people in the bed. The pull out couch offer no support and the foot of the bed was 4 inches higher than the head. It should have been replaced 10 years ago with a standard bed. Lighting was adequate but not for reading. I counted six ceiling light fixtures with one working bulb and one burned out bulb. Susan and Edwin are two very charming and interesting people.Susan and Edwin are German but i believe that Edwin has a touch of Scottish blood.

Room Tip: I read most of the reviews and agree with them. My review is based on comfort. 10 day after trip my...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan-R-Edwin, Manager at Susan's Villa, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
When writing a response I have to be VERY careful. If I write what I would like Trip Advisor will not publish.
My first thought about this one: Ignore. But then: Why should I let someone without much adding skill (see below) ruin my sleep. I try to be as polite as I can
Our first and very bad review in 2010 was from someone from Maryland. This is a bad review (# 20-some anniversary) from someone in Maryland. We have had many people from Maryland. All were very great people.
This wbadore was here with 2 grand children (1 room) and his 300 lbs daughter. The mattress of the queen bed did not like his and the daughters weight very much. Probably some 550 lbs. The mattress did not get hurt, is still in a great condition like all our 4 year old furniture!! Practically all almost new. Actually the five lines in the beginning are very true. Than it gets awkward. Why? Who knows.
The suite has 5 ceiling light fixtures. All were working, still do. He called me in his 1st night at 11:30 p.m. complaining about the TV remote control. Does not work, he said. Will check in the morning, I said. He figured out in the meantime how a remote control works.
The temperature was 70 degrees F, 21 C, naturally the air condition did not start. I still wonder why he did not open a window. (The other 10 people in the house liked everything, the temperature was just right.) Next morning he asked for a fan. We gave him 2 fans. We are generous.
I could go on like this but I said enough I think. I hope that Trip Advisor will publish this which is not as bad as this review.
To all nice people of Maryland: Please come and we will treat you very well! You may able to write a 5 star review!
Edwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Stayed in first floor suite two days. Very nice place all around.

Edwin was quite entertaining and helpful, ESPECIALLY about what to see in our limited time. (Don't miss Niagara-on-the-Lake!)

Easy walk to the Falls, fireworks and downtown.

Only regret was that we had to leave too early on our final day in order to catch the Muskegon MI ferryboat and missed breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan-R-Edwin, General Manager at Susan's Villa, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this great review.

We hope that you got the ferry boat and everything went well.

Susan and I wish you the BEST for the future.

Edwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We have just returned from a wonderful 2 night stay at Susan's Villas in Niagara Falls. We were 4 adults and 2 children aged 5 & 7, and stayed in the spacious 2 bedroom Domino Suite which suited us perfectly. We were welcomed by Edwin, who kept us entertained through our stay with his lovely cheeky nature and jovial banter. Thanks you also to Susan - there was not a spec of dirt to be found here and the breakfast was absolutely excellent! Perfect location, central to everything, free wi-fi, plenty of parking spaces. Thank you for a great stay and making our family feel so welcome.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan-R-Edwin, General Manager at Susan's Villa, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thank you Sonia for this great review.

It is easy to be friendly to nice and great people!
You are welcome here anytime.

Susan and I wish you the BEST for the future.

Edwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Blanc, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Our family of five stayed at Susan's Villa in Niagara Falls and we loved it! Edwin and Susan are wonderful hosts! We stayed in the Domino Room, which had 2 bedrooms, and it was very comfortable, plenty of room and we never felt crowded. The room was very clean, and the closets were very nicely sized. It really felt like I was staying at a family member's house, and we made a lot of use of the common room outside of our room, which was great for relaxing and hanging out. It was so good to go there after a long day of walking around.The location is just a short walk to the Falls and Clifton Hill. Susan made an excellent breakfast each morning, we couldn't stop talking about the bacon! Edwin and Susan were both so sweet and friendly, it was sad saying goodbye, and the big hugs we got from them made me feel like I was leaving my mom and dad's house :) It really made a big impression on me. We will definitely make this our home away from home when we return to Niagara Falls!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Susan's Villa, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Thank you very much for this great review.

Susan and I liked you very much too!
Hope to see you again.

All the best for the future to all of you.
Edwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The location of Susan's villa is really great. You can walk to the falls and the centre of Niagara from there very easily. There is parking next to the house too. We had two rooms, one of which slept 4 and had a fold out bed in the wardrobe too. There was a bathroom in between the two rooms, and the other room had a double bed too. The place was really comfortable. We got there quite late at night though and I was led to believe that arriving after 11 would mean that nobody would answer the door. There was free Wifi and breakfast was served at 9 sharp. There was a problem with the hot water there, so I had a freezing cold shower with the force of Niagara Falls behind it! I am sure that was a temporary problem though and overall I have to say that it was a great place to stay!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Susan's Villa, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Thank you for this nice review.
I hope to see you again.
Edwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Susan's Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Susan's Villa

Address: 5481 Ontario Avenue, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2E 3S4, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Susan's Villa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AMAZINGLY DIFFERENT - the A one B&B and HOTEL GARNI + GUEST HOUSE = SUSAN'S VILLA SUSAN'S VILLA is IDEALLY LOCATED. Walk in a few minutes to the Niagara FALLS, Casino Niagara, Maid of the Mist, Clifton Hill and other Attractions. ALL in WALKING DISTANCE! SUSAN'S VILLA: surprisingly DIFFERENT not just an ordinary B&B! We use also the term hotel garni, as they call a B&B in Europe. SUSAN'S VILLA: the largest house of this kind in Niagara Falls. You get NOT just a room BUT a 2 room suite. You do not have to share the living room or facilities with the owners. SUSAN'S VILLA: You'll have this wonderful feeling to be at home. YOU will be welcomed with open arms. YOUR patronage is very much appreciated. SUSAN'S VILLA: highly RECOMMENDED by many major travel sites. Some call it exceptional, some brilliant. BREAKFAST: hot, very good and always praised - you will love it too! Nearly everything is FREE at SUSAN'S: Breakfast, private parking, cable TV, Wi-Fi, phone- free local calls, some bikes, use of deck-balcony-gazebo, and....and.... friendly, humorous hosts. Also free: Help, Advice, Smiles! WHEN will you and your family come? ESCAPE to SUSAN'S VILLA! Book NOW! The VILLA has: SUPERIOR SUITES and EXCELLENT SUITES. Each suite has TWO rooms and a full bath room. Executive style! A SUITE in this terrific house would be just right for you and will surpass all your expectations. For YOUR enjoyment we have a large deck, a gazebo, a nice garden, and yard, almost like a Garden of Eden with gray and black squirrels plus many kinds of birds to watch and enjoy! BOOK NOW for a WEEKEND, VACATION, HONEYMOON, REUNION, or other events! What are you waiting for? Book all 4 suites for your function: 22 guests can sleep! You will soon find out that this is the best idea you've had for a long time! The VILLA is a gorgeous house, air conditioned, with modern, tasteful furnishings and carpeted floors. Bright and open. Just like your hosts! This B&B is health inspected and licensed by the City of Niagara Falls AND Province of Ontario. A great PLAYGROUND is close by. A real Eldorado for your kids! You just have to love it! Nothing else is possible! You will see! =================================================== The SUITES: The two SUPERIOR suites (Domino und Pine) on the upper floor have an En suite bath room and a walk-in-closet. 6 people will have a enjoyable sleep in either suite. Every room has a TV and each suite has a hair dryer, clock radio, and a fridge. The 2 EXCELLENT suites (ITALIAN and No Name) are on the main floor. Both have a queen bed in 1 room. The 2nd room has a sofa bed for 2 and a twin. 5 people will have a pleasant sleep in either suite. Every room has a TV and each suite has a hair dryer, clock radio, and a fridge. ============================================ We will welcome you with charm and openness which makes you feel right at home. You can relax in the cosy and casual environment of this gorgeous house which hopefully will be your home away from home for some time. You will forget the everyday pressures and feel good at once. Go sightseeing and visit the many tourist attractions. Than rest at your new home away from home where most things are FREE as you have seen. The modern suits provide complete privacy and a great deal more than the needed amenities which make even a longer stay comfortable. OUR motto: COME AS A GUEST - LEAVE AS A FRIEND ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Venere, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Susan's Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Susan's Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.