We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I can't believe this place has any good reviews...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Clifton Hill - Niagara Falls Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Clifton Hill - Niagara Falls Hotel to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Clifton Hill - Niagara Falls Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4960 Clifton Hill, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3N4, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 137 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Kitchener, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“I can't believe this place has any good reviews...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The only good thing about my recent experience at this hotel was the location. The kids enjoyed the pool, but I didn't go in and the pool room was dirty. The cleaning staff was very friendly, but the rest of the staff I encountered were miserable. The girl that checked us in was incredibly rude and tried to charge us for parking, even though we told her twice that we didn't have a car. The room was clean, but smelled like wet dog, and since we couldn't open the windows we were stuck with the odour the whole time we were there. The heater was out of date and the room was either freezing cold or boiling hot; we stayed for two nights, and both nights I woke up at least 2 times either drenched with sweat or shivering. One of the room keys didn't work, and on the day we left I got 2 separate calls from the front desk saying that if we didn't leave they would have to charge us for an extra night, even though we had confirmed that we would have a later check-out time.
Also, the room didn't have a mini fridge. I don't know if this is standard with Comfort Inn rooms, but I can say that even in the sketchiest, low-budget, independently owned motels that I have stayed at I have never had a room without a fridge.
I wasn't expecting a five-star experience, I know the Comfort Inn is far from the Ritz, but even by budget family hotel standards it was terrible. It's the little things that make a difference, and these are the things they miss. If a hotel can't even be bothered to give me a tiny bottle of cheap conditioner then I can't be bothered to return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Comfort Inn Clifton Hill - Niagara Falls Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to relate your experience during your recent stay.
To say the least, your visit did not measure up to our standard level of service.
We enjoy a high degree of repeat guests and it is of great concern to us when a guest is displeased with their stay. Please feel free to call me on our direct “800” number so that I may look further into the issues that you have addressed about your stay.
Regards,
Pat
1-800-263-2557
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    334
    125
    43
    20
See reviews for
395
176
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guelph
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We recently stayed here for a 2nd time, but for a family room this time. I'm not sure how many family rooms they have in the motel, but well worth the extra $30 per night. Along with the regular queen room there is another attached room that has a queen bed and TV. Perfect for a family of more than 4. The pool area is great too and it's always busy enough for the kids to find friends to swim with. The free breakfast is the best arround - there's a waffle station, there sausage and eggs, along with the regular continential breakfast items.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Comfort Inn Clifton Hill - Niagara Falls Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Hello Claire,
Thanks for taking the time to comment on your stay at the Comfort Inn Clifton Hill.
Our Family rooms are very popular and offer a significant savings over requiring two rooms. Pleased to hear you enjoyed our new “Morning Breakfast “ Hope you are able to return soon.
Best Regards,
Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

My friend and I stayed here so we could go see the falls. The room was large enough to be comfortable for 2 people. It was clean but was in bad need of a refurbishment. Saying that, the value for money was excellent. The breakfast was included - it was alright for a complimentary continental style breakfast. This would suit a family with children up to their teens as it is right by an amusement park. The hotel faces the falls but you need to step out of the hotel to gain a view as it is all on ground level. This hotel would not suit those whose mobility is compromised or whom use a wheelchair.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

our room was traditional-clean, 2 beds. close to everything we wanted-the falls, the stores. the staff at the front desk are beyond kind and super happy! Even after we checked out we could still keep our car parked there as we wandered around the hill one more time. If you are a family with teens this is the affordable and perfect location for a hotel to stay! We go once a year for ten years now. LOVE IT! The breakfast the next morning is amazing!

Room Tip: we like the rooms near a side entrance-faster to get to the clifton hill
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Comfort Inn Clifton Hill - Niagara Falls Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for your continued loyalty to our Comfort Inn on Clifton Hill.
We know that you always have other options and we will continue to work hard to maintain your patronage.
Happy New Year!
Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirabel, Quebec, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We want to be right near the Clifton Hill attractions: We were just in the middle of it! Wow! The mini golf volcano eruption entertained the whole family at night :) Family vacation, monday to thursday, everything was just fine... They event pointed us to a medical clinic (child with fever...) and the overall experience last for... 20 minutes! Room was OK, breakfast too, swimming pool at night so the kids doze off fast and mom and dad enjoy the late evening relaxation...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Comfort Inn Clifton Hill - Niagara Falls Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Hello Paul,
It was great to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Comfort Inn Clifton Hill.
Niagara Falls is very much a Family Fun destination and we hope that you are able to visit us again in the not too distant future.
Regards,
Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

the property is located 2 minute walk to the falls and has many many restaurants surrounding it. the grounds are maintained quite well and security is always on site. rooms are decent but for the price your paying...good enough. they just added a hot station to the breakfast which is included in your stay. good value overall for your money. i try to ask if there is hockey teams booked when i go as ive stayed a few times and the kids tend to be out in the hallways running loose with no supervision. so just beware of that. i wouldnt stay at any other hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Comfort Inn Clifton Hill - Niagara Falls Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Hello Donna,
Thanks for taking the time to comment about your recent stay.
The addition of "Your Morning Breakfast" has been well received and does give added guest value. We look forward to having with us once again, check out our "Build -A-Package" options for more great values.
...
Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed there for 5 nights mid-October. A good time of the year, I must say, with summer crowds gone and the fall foliage in all its glory! The lobby is large and inviting, the staff was cordial and efficient. Our room was quite cold when we arrived and the heater didn't seem to warm the room up enough to our liking (us being from Phoenix, AZ). I called the front desk and an attendant brought us a space heater that worked quite nicely. They offered to move us to another room but since we had unpacked most of our stuff we decided to not move. We climatically adjusted and only used the heater 1 or 2 more times in the bathroom. The room was adequate and the Wi-Fi was fast and easy to connect to. As the hotel advertises, its only a block from the falls. We didn't rent a car but were able to walk to all the attractions along the falls and the river. .The breakfast room was the largest one I've ever seen but the food wasn't anything spectacular - the usual offerings: waffles, eggs - scrambled and hard boiled, cereals, muffins, yogurt, fruit, potatoes and sausage. Had never seen sausage patties look or taste like that before. The indoor pool area was quite large and had a Jacuzzi. The breakfast room overlooked this area. All in all it was a very nice place to stay and I would stay there again if I ever go back to Niagara Falls. I was totally surprised at the commercialization of the downtown area. It was a cross between Las Vegas, Fisherman's Wharf and Disneyland. But at least those factors added additional interest to our off-season visit.

Room Tip: During the summer months you might want to stay in a room toward the rear of the hotel as there is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Comfort Inn Clifton Hill - Niagara Falls Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Hello BobbiNRon,

Thanks for taking the time to comment on your stay at our Comfort Inn in Niagara Falls.
I am pleased that you found our staff cordial and efficient. Sorry that your room was a bit cold at first, glad the heater made things just right. The fact that you are from Phoenix reminded me of my first visit there. It was in June, I thought I would look around the area near the hotel. When I got outside I wondered why the streets were so deserted, didn’t take long before I knew why. It was 110 degrees outside and you could fry an egg on the sidewalk. Should you have the occasion to visit Niagara Falls again please say hello, I’ll give you a few tips on some of the off the beaten path things to see & do.

Cheers,
Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Clifton Hill - Niagara Falls Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Clifton Hill - Niagara Falls Hotel

Address: 4960 Clifton Hill, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3N4, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Niagara Falls
#23 Romantic Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Clifton Hill - Niagara Falls Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 185
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Choice Canada, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn Clifton Hill - Niagara Falls Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Niagara Falls
Niagara Falls Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Clifton Hill

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Clifton Hill - Niagara Falls Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.