We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get the Medley” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Frijoles Fresh Mex Burritos

Frijoles Fresh Mex Burritos
3465 Portage Road/corner of O'Neil | Open 11:30a to 9:00p Sun noon til 6p, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2J 2K5, Canada
289 296 3999
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 442 Restaurants in Niagara Falls
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Description: Really fresh and tasty California-Mexican style burritos and tacos. Newer restaurant outside of the tourist zone, well worth finding!Everything homemade - awesome street eats. Not a chain... there's only one. Open 11:30am to 7:30pm closed Sundays
Welland, Canada
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Get the Medley”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

If you say "I want everything" it can be a reality at Frijoles. Pinto, refried, and black beans together. Beef, pork, and chicken together. Lettuce, cabbage, pico de gallo together. Everything just comes together there.

This is my second review - the original being a friends review and this one being a solo review. While it is true that first-timers at Frijoles can fall behind it is because they take the time to personalize each burrito to your specifications.

There is one staffer that I call the Burrito Champion because he has no hesitation to add a golf-ball sized portion of the Tyn sauce to a burrito. The tyn sauce at that portion size is enough to change the rest of your week. Most of the time though it is either Burrito Bruiser, Burrito Princess, or Burrito Lady. Each staffer has their own style - loose pack, more veg, extra sauce, extra grill time. Again - these are unique people making unique food.

*If the staffers are reading this the only real nickname in use is Burrito Champion. He builds championship burritos.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    38
    10
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, On
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“OMG SO GOOD!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

If my husband and I are hungry and theres a Mexican style eatery around we'll find it. This is a casual eatery but the food was DELICIOUS. The inhouse hot sauces were tasty. We'll definitely be back!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NF
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“I honestly love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

It's 9$ after tax for a beef burrito here but well worth it; the thing is basically an entire meal it's so big. If I don't come here once a week I start to get the shakes.
Having been here, I can never go to Taco Bell again; fast food doesn't even compare to the quality of meat and food they have. Seriously amazing burritos, check this place out!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Delicious, healthy, cheap and great sauces!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Everything is a custom order, so you can put what ever you want in your burrito. There is a huge selection of toppings, and a huge selection of sauces. My favourite sauce was the white lightning, and even though it's made with ghost peppers, it wasn't, burn your face off, spicy. I had a chicken burrito which was excellent, but when I had a couple tastes of my husbands fish burrito, I was sold on that one! We went back the next day and both got fish burritos. I also highly recommend the refried beans in your burrito, I enjoyed it far more then the other bean options. They're probably the best beans I've ever tasted. Lastly, this place is really cost effective. You spend 8 bucks or so on a giant burrito, which you won't finish, and then you can bring half of it back to your hotel room for dinner. This leftover was more delicious then dinners I've had in Niagara Falls that cost upwards of $50. Check this place out!!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

The beef burrito lacked flavor, ive had better burritos in chipotle and in newark airport. The servers DONT use gloves to roll out the burrito, and its the same server who takes your payment. The only thing I liked was they grill the burrito giving it a crunch, and lotsa hot sauce options.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frijoles Fresh Mex Burritos also viewed

Niagara Falls, Ontario
Niagara Falls, Ontario
 
Niagara Falls, Ontario
Niagara Falls, Ontario
 

Been to Frijoles Fresh Mex Burritos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frijoles Fresh Mex Burritos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.