We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious, healthy, cheap and great sauces!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Frijoles Fresh Mex Burritos

Frijoles Fresh Mex Burritos
3465 Portage Road/corner of O'Neil | Open 11:30a to 9:00p Sun noon til 6p, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2J 2K5, Canada
289 296 3999
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #59 of 440 Restaurants in Niagara Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Description: Really fresh and tasty California-Mexican style burritos and tacos. Newer restaurant outside of the tourist zone, well worth finding!Everything homemade - awesome street eats. Not a chain... there's only one. Open 11:30am to 7:30pm closed Sundays
Toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Delicious, healthy, cheap and great sauces!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Everything is a custom order, so you can put what ever you want in your burrito. There is a huge selection of toppings, and a huge selection of sauces. My favourite sauce was the white lightning, and even though it's made with ghost peppers, it wasn't, burn your face off, spicy. I had a chicken burrito which was excellent, but when I had a couple tastes of my husbands fish burrito, I was sold on that one! We went back the next day and both got fish burritos. I also highly recommend the refried beans in your burrito, I enjoyed it far more then the other bean options. They're probably the best beans I've ever tasted. Lastly, this place is really cost effective. You spend 8 bucks or so on a giant burrito, which you won't finish, and then you can bring half of it back to your hotel room for dinner. This leftover was more delicious then dinners I've had in Niagara Falls that cost upwards of $50. Check this place out!!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    40
    10
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

The beef burrito lacked flavor, ive had better burritos in chipotle and in newark airport. The servers DONT use gloves to roll out the burrito, and its the same server who takes your payment. The only thing I liked was they grill the burrito giving it a crunch, and lotsa hot sauce options.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great service and choices. Very tasty.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

The service was great. The two guys working there helped my girlfriend and I personalize our burritos. Many different and better quality choices than Chipotle or Qdoba. Although it's closer to a fast food place than a restaurant, I would have gladly eaten here all four days we visited. The owner appeared very interested in making us happy and I appreciated that. Only recommendation would be fountain drinks so they're easier to get. Their bottled drink selection was good though. I'd definitely go again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Sooooo good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Relative of ours recommended Frijoles because they're from Niagara. We were in town visiting and ate there for lunch and it was delicious! I couldn't even finish my burrito.
It's really filling but definitely one of the best mexican places I've ate at in Canada. I would highly recommend it, especially if you're hungry. It's a little removed from the tourist area but still easy to get to.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Delish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

People who are writing reviews condemning this restaurant because its not 'real Mexican' food are ridiculous. 1-If you look at the decor and signage, its obviously a Californian/Bajan take on Mexican food. 2- It doesn't say 'authentic Mexican cuisine', its a burrito joint. Reviewers who are writing that they have been spoiled by meals from food carts in Mexico should really get real, its a burrito joint. The restaurant is awesome, compared to a lot of stuff in Niagara Falls. If you've eaten at Burrito Boyz or the like, its similar. But the flavour is different and options are different (like you can put cabbage in your burrito, and they heat them up on a grill). Its a great meal on the cheap, lots of veggies and sauces. For 7 bucks you can get a ginormous burrito with the stuff you want in it. Or if you want 'authentic Mexican Food' or want to be spoilt eating at tacos carts in Akron, go there and eat authentic Mexican Food....or get real and enjoy your 7 dollar burrito.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frijoles Fresh Mex Burritos also viewed

Niagara Falls, Ontario
Niagara Falls, Ontario
 
Niagara Falls, Ontario
Niagara Falls, Ontario
 

Been to Frijoles Fresh Mex Burritos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frijoles Fresh Mex Burritos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.